Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A landmark in rock history
This is the big one, the album that turned FNM into the pop stars that they never wanted to be, through hit singles such as 'Epic', 'Falling To Pieces' and 'Form Out Of Nowhere'. However, despite the enormous commercial success, this is still one absolute corker of an album, for me one of the best albums of the 1980s. As Mike Patton's first release with the band, it seems...
Published on 13 Jun 2002 by brasshande

versus
2 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE SKETCH BEFORE THE MASTERPIECE.
I recently bought this album again and i have to say that aside from SUPRISE YOUR DEAD, and EPIC this album has not stood the test of time. it is a album of its time the 80,s.
forget faith no mores first three albums as they have nothing much in common with the sonic masterpieces of the schitzophrenic angel dust or king for a day fool for a lifetime.
a great...
Published on 27 Jan 2005 by markloughton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A landmark in rock history, 13 Jun 2002
This review is from: The Real Thing (Audio CD)
This is the big one, the album that turned FNM into the pop stars that they never wanted to be, through hit singles such as 'Epic', 'Falling To Pieces' and 'Form Out Of Nowhere'. However, despite the enormous commercial success, this is still one absolute corker of an album, for me one of the best albums of the 1980s. As Mike Patton's first release with the band, it seems like he felt he had a point to prove coming into the band late, and he certainly proved it. Every song on here is first class, from the awesome eight-minute-plus title track, to the note-perfect cover version of Black Sabbath's classic 'War Pigs'. There's not much more to say about it really; everyone knows what FNM sound like. Basically, if you're into any sort of rock or metal, you need to have this album in your collection. Simple as that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most influential bands ever!, 5 Sep 2003
This review is from: The Real Thing (Audio CD)
The first Faith No More album to feature the vocal talents of Mike Patton is, quite simply, a corker.
Tracks like ‘From out of Nowhere’, ‘Falling to Pieces’ and ‘The Morning After’ are instant rock classics, the keyboards giving them a somewhat orchestrated feel. ‘Epic’ is distinctly funky, coming complete with a disco groove and hip-hop influenced vocals. ‘Surprise! You’re Dead’ is the heaviest song on the album, while ‘Zombie Eaters’ and the title track are carefully built up epics. ‘Underwater Love’ has a dreamy feel to it, ‘Woodpecker From Mars’ is a crazy instrumental, there’s an excellent cover of Sabbath’s ‘War Pigs’ and the album closes with the similarly brilliant mock ballad, ‘Edge of the World’.
Although all the musicianship is near perfect, it is Mike Patton’s vocals that stand out. Not quite as weird as on his later work, they are still very distinctive, whether he is singing, chanting or showing off his deranged croon.
Everyone should own this superb piece of music history. More influential than Nirvana? Possibly…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aural perfection, 9 Sep 2000
By A Customer
What can I say? This is the masterpiece that introduced me to Faith No More 11 years ago, and it's still one of my favourite albums ever. The band had just replaced singer Chuck Mosley with new frontman Mike Patton, who then wrote new lyrics to accompany the tunes the band already had, and the result was astounding. Pattons wide vocal range - from soft & mellow to piercing & diamond edged - simply electrifies this collection of near-perfect music.
Opening track 'From Out Of Nowhere' kicks in with thumping drums and cool riffs, and you know it's gonna be good.
'Epic' changes the tone with Patton varying between semi-rap verses & a powerful chorus, before 'Falling To Pieces' picks up where track 1 left off - you know where Faith No More are coming from.
But suddenly 'Suprise! You're dead' crashes out of your speakers, with hard metal guitars, and hoarse screeching vocals. The first listen is uncomfortable, but you soon realise this is as good as any track here.
A sweet melodic guitar riff (courtesy of Big Jim Martin) brings you into more new territory with 'Zombie Eaters', a great little homage to the trouble that babies cause...
Then comes the real stand out track - 'The Real Thing'. Perfect, complex drumming, & swelling keyboards, build into a punchy track about drug abuse, veering from beutiful melodies to kicking rock, with Patton really getting a chance to shine.
The bouncy, happy tempo of 'Underwater Love', padded out with a cool & funky bass, manage to mask the darker meanings of the lyrics, 'The Morning After' is simply great Faith No More, before Patton takes a breather for the keyboard-led instrumental 'Woodpecker From Mars'.
The last 2 pieces (both technically bonus tracks, as they are not included in the original vinyl release) assualt from opposite corners. 'War Pigs', a cover of the Black Sabbath classic, is true metal, performed with skill, style, and utmost respect for the original. Ozzy should be proud.
FNM finish off with 'Edge of The World', a beuatiful tune, with Pattons voice dreamily bouncing along to the jazzy piano accompaniment...
The Real Thing assaults the senses, emotions, and ears. At turns sweet, vicious, soft, jagged, pure, and raw - and when the smoke finally clears, you'll come straight back for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ladies and Gentlemen, this is the one and only, FAITH NO MORE, 19 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: The Real Thing (Audio CD)
There is great music and great music that changed the way that I felt about music, Faith No More are one of the bands that changed the way that I felt about music, they really were one of those unique bands that just had that something special about them that I just can't fully explain.

I first bought this in about 1992, so I was a fairly late fan, although I had heard the singles Epic and From Out Of Nowhere on their original release, it was this album that really got me into Faith No More, it was also great timing as not long after I bought this, the equally brilliant Angel Dust was released (talk about musical heaven in such a short space of time). Like I said I can't explain exactly what that special something is about them but you know that you really really like a band when you have to have every official album that they have ever released.

This album is as good as perfect, there is not one track on it that I don't like and I can also say this about Angel Dust and the underrated King For A Day Fool For A Lifetime. Although I like the first Faith No More albums with Chuck Mosely on vocals, it is these with Mike Patton on vocals that is Faith No More at their very best. Although I miss Faith No More, I am glad that they quit when they did as it just makes them more special to me and I always got the feeling that they were making music that they wanted to make and not to be a mainstream success which is another bonus.

If like me you like all types of heavy metal and for some reason you have never heard of Faith No More, then I urge you to check this and the other Faith No More albums I have already mentioned, because like me it might just change (in a very good way) the way that you feel about music forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this!, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Thing (Audio CD)
Brought this album as my old copy had gone really scratchy so hadn't listened to it for ages. Really took me back! Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 25 April 2013
By 
Ms. K. J. neel "Ms loulou" (Ms loulou) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Thing (Audio CD)
I bought this as I hadn't heard it for nearly 20 years and felt like re-discovering FNM. So glad I did - this sounds as fresh as it did when it was first released and is just as fab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FAITH NO MORE The Real Thing, 1 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Thing (Audio CD)
The first to feature (the genius) Mike Patton on vocals, it is a consistently brilliant record. Crunching guitars, pounding drums, booming basslines, fantastic synth/keyboard harmonies, and the greatest vocalist of all time combine to superb effect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic of course, 12 Jun 2010
By 
The usual suspect (2nd aisle on the right, top shelf) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amidst all the arguing and internal politics of FNM they did manage to produce some of the finest tunes known to mankind. Quite a few of them are here on The Real Thing.

No matter what your taste in music you should find something on here that you can appreciate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most innovotive albums of 1989, 4 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Real Thing (Audio CD)
This is the first album that FNM recorded with their new singer Mike Patton and what a breathe of fresh air he was compared to Chuck Moseley. On this album Mike Patton injects all the songs with his nervous, strangulated vocal style that compliments the music. My favourite tracks are "Underwater Love" "Falling To Pieces" "The Morning After" " The Real Thing" and there's a blistering cover of Black Sabbath's "War Pigs". I have to admit that I hated FNM when I first heard them on the radio, but I remember listening to the track "Epic" and that haunting piano solo at the end of the track stuck in my mind. This was a band that had the power and excitement of hard rock but the attitude of the music prevented them from being lumped into the HEAVY METAL category. There is just one instrumental on The Real Thing, "Woodpecker From Mars" and some will find it a bit manic but its only a FNM freak-out. Its funky, its heavy metal, its soulful, its all these things and much,much more...one of the most memorable and innovotive albums of the last decade. Its....The Real Thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, 24 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: The Real Thing (Audio CD)
I'll keep it short. This is a classic from start to finish.

Each track is excellent but it also flows and holds together superbly as a whole album.

As good as it's follow up Angel Dust is bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Real Thing
The Real Thing by Faith No More (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews