Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars33
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 January 2010
Another original FNM album, people say it`s no Angel Dust, but there is only one Angel Dust! This is a stand-a-lone album and is awesome. If you think you like FNM and haven`t got it then shell out 8 squid and BUY IT!! Or you`ll regret it..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
I bought this to replace my previous copy which had worn out - particulary the track "Just a Man" as it had been played over and over - being a favourite of the kids. If you love FNM you will love this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2001
This was the first album I heard from Faith No More, and I instantly got into it since it doesn't go for insanely weirdness that Angel Dust has. Immedietly tracks like Ricochet, Cuckoo for Caca, What a day, Gentle Art, Get out and Digging the Grave were great, but other tracks took a while to sink in. This album is quite diverse, as all of a sudden after a hard hitting track comes a laid back track like Evidence, Take this Bottle and Just a Man. Everytrack is pretty much good for different reasons, much like Angel Dust, but Angel Dust is still better. None the less, this album is amazing.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
This is a great released, which for some reason got some bad reviews when it was originally released, no idea why. I love this album and if you like FNM and haven't got this what are you waiting for?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2006
Its time for some honesty,i let faith no more slip me by,i have been a metal fan for about 17 years now,and of course i knew of the band,i admired their song epic but wasnt enough to make me buy their album and when the crappy cover of easy was released that was the end of any potential friendship or so i thought,yes i will always hate the cover of easy but i wont hold that against them after hearing this super class album.

Now this is an album that i believe helped kickstart so many bands and indeed the mathcore genre,the jazz influenced,lounge ballroom flavours along with strangled screams and solid rock and moments of metal all make for something more than interesting,oh yeah there is also country and western thrown in but its all good and thats no lie.

The album is a mix mash of sounds,styles and themes and there doesnt appear to be any flaws with this,im giving it four out of five,just to see how it pans out after 6 months.The album opens with the rocktastic stomper 'get out','ricochet' is anthemic.'evidence' is very soul based, 'cuckoo for caca' is pure screamcore and its no wonder from hearing this why mike patton did an ep with dillinger escape plan who are clearly influenced by faith no more.'Digging the grave' is a punky snappy number that is extremely memorable,'Take this bottle' is pure country and sounds alot like johnny cash.

I have listened to this album flat out for the past two days and im in shock at how good it is and when reading reviews from old fans of the band,something appears to me,that if they say this is poor compared to angel dust and the real thing,then crikey those albums must be class, i must get them readers.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2011
When "Big" Jim Martin left Faith No More somewhat acrimoniously, there was a school of thought at the time that the band would die out. Ironically, it had that affect on their career but not until they'd released two brilliant alternative rock albums. The first is this one, underrated and maddeningly eclectic. The record company, typically, didn't have a clue what to do with a band as wilfully single-minded as this one and managed to completely mess it up, releasing the wrong singles. Of course, none of this was ever helped by the band's dismissive attitude to doing anything they didn't want to do (videos, TV appearances etc - I remember seeing them on the word doing Digging The Grave and thinking they'd lost it).

For an album of such variance, it's surprisingly consistent. Saying that, some tracks are more immediate than others - Ricochet, Digging The Grave, What A Day leap out, but even their off beat songs work really well here - Caralho Voador (Mexican lounge music), Take This Bottle (almost Animals era Floyd!), Last To Know (rock Jim but not as we know it) are all great as is the funk sound of Evidence and the indescribable horns or Star AD which really shouldn't work but really does.

Thoroughly recommended!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2016
Brilliant!! Bought this to replace an old cassette. Track 10 my favourite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 June 2015
Faith No More's descent into irrelevance hit it's nadir with this self indulgent w*nk. One for the obsessives only.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2000
I always preferred angel dust to this album but after taking it on holiday with me this became my faveourite, i have been a fan of faith no more for over 3 years and its a sheer tragedy that they are now no more. The great thing about this album is the quirky diversity from all out hardcore rage "Get Out," "Cuckoo For Caca," "Ugly In The Morning," to soulful r n b and jazzy flavours "Evidence," "Take This Bottle," there is not a weak moment on the album and this added more to the already impressive roster of fnm material after the spastic funk metal of "The Real Thing," and the haunting "Angel Dust," "King for a day," proved to be the final piece of a trio of classic albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)