Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time waits for no Bunnyman
I've owned this CD twice already. Lent it to a good friend - never got it back. Time passed, missed it loads. Once you know Evergreen is out there you need it close by. Just in case. My fave tracks are easy 3, 6, 9 & 12 and of course No 4 Evergreen, the title track. People grow older, if they are lucky, and time changes you, mellows you, makes you more reflective,...
Published on 14 Sep 2000

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Give it time
After listening to the early Echo and the Bunnymen (again) I thought I would try this. I had actually *tried* to listen to it when it first came out but what I heard I had found dull and hadn't really bothered with it anymore. Anyway empowered by really enjoying their early albums again (the re-releases with extra tracks) I decided to give this another go and I have...
Published on 29 Jun 2004 by J. Mann


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time waits for no Bunnyman, 14 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Evergreen (Audio CD)
I've owned this CD twice already. Lent it to a good friend - never got it back. Time passed, missed it loads. Once you know Evergreen is out there you need it close by. Just in case. My fave tracks are easy 3, 6, 9 & 12 and of course No 4 Evergreen, the title track. People grow older, if they are lucky, and time changes you, mellows you, makes you more reflective, leaves unanswered questions and unsaid thoughts. That's all in this album for me in a style that is Echo & the Bunnymen, or the mellow side at least. There are flashes of energy in 'I Want To Be There (When You Come)'. But there is always the sombre undertone to the album. Most akin to 'Ocean Rain' in terms of sound. Orchestral backing helps to fill out the sound and mood and keeps it fresh and light (Evergreen almost). Quite a contradiction but it works. If anything is missing from the album it's strong percussion. It seems the whole point of the music, eventually they had to move on without the late Pete de Freitas. This album makes his absence felt without failing to be great music. I Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Majestic, 18 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: Evergreen (Audio CD)
This is simply music at is best. Melodies that enthrall and a maturity that can only come from those that wrote Porcupine. Devine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 23 Jun 2012
This review is from: Evergreen (Audio CD)
This is the greatest comeback of all time. Not a bad song on the album. Well worth buying have had it on constently not sure the kids love it quite the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great comeback record., 1 Oct 2009
This review is from: Evergreen (Audio CD)
Filled to the brim with gem songs, performed and recorded brilliantly. A great comeback record. The Songs capturing and displaying both sadness and happiness in one cohesively good piece of songwriting

Following a 10 year split after the accidental tragic death of their drummer, frontman Ian McCulloch, guitarist Will Sargeant and bass player Les Pattinson got together to rekindle a magic that was buried at it's peak.

Unfortunately after this album Les quit for the lure of boat love, and so Echo & The Bunnymen today is only Will and Ian, with guests.

Atleast then when the band was as complete as it could be, they didn't dissapoint. They picked up from where they left off, but still sounded good enough to compete with the likes of the then publicly loved The Verve, and others. Although because the lads are older men now, their sound has gotten more maturer, and hence slighltly mellow, but their songwriting is as strong as always.

Gems like opener 'Don't Let It Get You Down' instantly remind you of the Bunnymen signature, and feels like rediscovering why you fall in love. It was also a very positive sounding song in times when British-guitar-band-depression reached cheesy status. 'In My Time' features more sublimeness and tranquility accompanied by strings by the London Metropolitan Orchestra. Also the drummer for this album is the well-praised sticksman for the modern reformed Led Zepellin.

'I Want To Be There (When You Come)' reminds us of the familiar old-time swagger of the band, and is a brilliant and catchy song. After this is 'Evergreen' which is a kind of sombre moment, yet still a positive and grandieur moment which probably is quite a good track to choose possibly as the title to represent the album; and this is an evergreen album!

After this is the lush beauty of 'I'll Fly Tonight', followed by catchy 1st single 'Nothing Lasts Forever' with it's introspective lyrics, great music - and is a classic! It's one of those gem guitar ballads. Liam Gallagher of some band...makes an appearance on backing vocals, and er tambourine!

Following this is the upbeat, bordering comedy of 'Baseball Bill', then followed up with more uplifting spirit in 'Altamont' - Recyled electrafixion Songs

'Just A Touch Away' is another great song, another sombre moment though with it's bleak lyrics, brushy drums, foundation bass and brittle guitar work with interweaving sad strings. 'Empre State Halo' then takes us to some dark, misty and seedy blues. There is something indeed very mysterious, beautiful and magical about this track too, that's unexplainable.

But Hey I'm Biased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seriously underrrated, 6 Dec 2003
By 
Alexander G. Marshall "alexmarshall3" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evergreen (Audio CD)
This album is seriously underrrated.Listened to in retrospect it comes across as one of the best albums of the nineties.Its flawed perhaps by knowledge of what came threafter-the excellent but publically ignored What are you going to do.. and the cheap'n'cheerful Flowers which was a pale imitation of past glories with very poor lyrics on most songs. On Evergreen by contrast everything comes together very nicely-Will Sergeant and Les Pattinson,the latter then still a bass player with the band, contribute thoughtful, melodic lines (some of Will's best work is here) and Mac's lyrics are amongst his best. Its not a moody album in the main, which probably put off a lot of die-hard fans, but listen to the jangle guitar of 'In My Time' or the scuzzy freak-out of 'Altamont' and you can easily see why many at the time fell in love with the Bunnies all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Give it time, 29 Jun 2004
By 
J. Mann - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evergreen (Audio CD)
After listening to the early Echo and the Bunnymen (again) I thought I would try this. I had actually *tried* to listen to it when it first came out but what I heard I had found dull and hadn't really bothered with it anymore. Anyway empowered by really enjoying their early albums again (the re-releases with extra tracks) I decided to give this another go and I have actually found it pretty good. I think the difficulty with it is that it isn't the early sound, it had less edge and menace, so it can be difficult to listen to in that context, but if you are able to take it on its own terms it is a different sound, more layered perhaps, less immediate, but worth experiencing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Worthy Re Introduction, 12 Sep 2005
By 
sean radford (Sydney, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Evergreen (Audio CD)
Having only been a cursory fan in the eighties with the mighty release of Porcupine
I was very pleased to hear echos of past glory along with the maturing of Ian McCulloch's voice and lyrical outlook.
The initial standout track was the splendid Nothing Lasts Forever but on subsequent listens the rest of the album continues to grow. Songs like I'll Fly Tonight, Just A Touch Away, Empire State Halo and Forgiven are among some of the best releases from the band and indeed the nineties.
This album is an excellent way back into the band with such an great back catalogue and new works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Evergreen is tight..., 12 Oct 2003
This review is from: Evergreen (Audio CD)
There are two unfortunate reviews on this album, which propelled me to write a review. Honestly, yes the Bunnymen have lost a little steam since their return - they were impeccable on Crocodiles, Heaven Up Here Ocean Rain, Porcupines...and the Self-Titled is excellent too...from THIS point - the Echo stock was lowering. Using the corporate name, to have Echo without Ian...kinda like Robert without The Cure, the solo Ian records (good, but not timeless), and Electrafixion (good but when they played live, half their set were Echo tunes). SO...Evergreen to me, was a real breath of fresh air. They sound mature and graceful. In addition, they knew the formula to being Echo. I can't say I love Baseball Bill lyrically, but the rest of this record is a toetapper. The title track is one of my favorite to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic comeback, 1 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Evergreen (Audio CD)
years after big mac threw it all away from too much use of certain columbian substances the boys r back.......much more classic bunnymen sound than the very good but rock out belated attempt on grunge that was electrafixion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two for the music.., 9 July 2013
By 
Klausk (Perth, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Evergreen (Audio CD)
Echo and the Bunnymen's reformation was much heralded at the time. True enough their recorded legacy was a fairly rich one - despite McCulloch's pretentious lyrics. This time re-united "Evergreen" sports some sprightly tunes punctuated by Will Sergeant's Verlaine inspired one string guitar work. However the lyrics are totally awful. McCulloch's voice is great - it has aged very well indeed, but the clichés and platitudes he spouts for lyrics are laughable. Whenever you hear McCulloch [ if you really must ] he tells a good story and builds up his writing talents - a cock sure bluff, a bit like Lou Reed used to in the seventies about his own mostly rubbish lyrical output at the time. But its a case of "Methinks thou doth protest too much" After this album more followed getting more banal with every release. Buy for the music, if you must, but "Nothing Lasts Forever" gives you an example of the clichés and platitudes in store. Very average and basking in past glories in my view. Everyone was just frightened in saying this at the time I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evergreen
Evergreen by Echo & The Bunnymen (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews