Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent .............
I don't normally submit reviews, but I must take issue with the previous reviewer. This is a great album from start to finish - (ie: both Side 1 AND Side 2 on the old vinyl version) and ought to be in your collection. FYC were refreshingly original - contemporary British soul in the 1980s. Whilst not explicitly partisan, their lyrics often reflect the political mood...
Published on 15 Nov 2008 by Listener

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very good album but not remastered as it should be
I would gladly give this one a 5-star because it's an excellent album with satisfying bonus tracks and 12" versions. BUT, unfortunately once more, good sound quality is sacrificed for the sake of (unnecessary) LOUDNESS. Treble is too high, bass is too low and in some cases sound is a bit destorted (the familiar loudness problem). Nevertheless, this is the only way to...
Published 14 months ago by george e.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent ............., 15 Nov 2008
This review is from: Fine Young Cannibals (Audio CD)
I don't normally submit reviews, but I must take issue with the previous reviewer. This is a great album from start to finish - (ie: both Side 1 AND Side 2 on the old vinyl version) and ought to be in your collection. FYC were refreshingly original - contemporary British soul in the 1980s. Whilst not explicitly partisan, their lyrics often reflect the political mood of the time - such as, in songs like `Blue' and `Move to Work', the problems facing the working class in Britain's industrial heartlands as traditional industries floundered (and the aggressive acceleration of that process by the government of the day). That said, 20 years on they still sound fresh. Perhaps my only reservation is their cover version of 'Suspicious Minds' - to their credit they do a decent enough rendition, but the original Elvis version is so strong that any cover inevitably suffers in comparison.

The unusual band name apparently came from the title of a 1960s film. If you're investing in FYC CDs don't bother with the compilations - they only recorded 2 albums - this one "Raw & the Cooked"; they're both worth owning and cheap enough to get now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very good album but not remastered as it should be, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fine Young Cannibals (Audio CD)
I would gladly give this one a 5-star because it's an excellent album with satisfying bonus tracks and 12" versions. BUT, unfortunately once more, good sound quality is sacrificed for the sake of (unnecessary) LOUDNESS. Treble is too high, bass is too low and in some cases sound is a bit destorted (the familiar loudness problem). Nevertheless, this is the only way to get some rare tracks in CD format and if your ears are not too demanding, you won't have an other opportunity to get something more complete than this offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old friend revisited, 6 Sep 2010
By 
I owned and played to destruction the cassette version of this album a good number of years ago and when I was looking at albums that were lost over the years this was an easy choice of purchase. The music was good at it's time and fortunately most of it has stood the test and is still as sharp as ever. I defy anybody to listen to " Funny How Love Is " without thinking about times that they have been in that situation. I love every track as each one holds a memory from that time of my life. Despite opinions to the contrary I think the version of "Suspicious Minds" is a classic but not as good as the version by Waylon Jennings and Jesse Colter, a personal favourite of mine. On the whole an excellent album and to my mind better by far than "The Raw and The Cooked".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horrible remix of a classic 80s album, 22 Mar 2014
By 
Lendrick (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have this on vinyl but want ed a digital copy as well, however I didn't realise that this a remixed version with added electronically processed percussion and strings. These detract greatly from the original more organic sound. Great songs but the original mix was so much better. As example track down the original of the lovely 'Funny How Love is' on the web and compare it with the version on here.

Also worth noting that the download version doesn't include any bonus tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The FYC at their utmost best, 24 Jun 2013
This review is from: Fine Young Cannibals (Audio CD)
Having just rediscovered my vinyl treasures of the long neglected "nineteenhaties" I fell for the FYC's debut again. Enough is said on the songs featured, so my short review shall only refer to the song selection on this compilation. For me being a fan right from the start I'd been happy to discover more extras than the omnispresent variations of "Johnny..." and "Suspicious minds" (featuring Jimi Sommerville on backing vocals). At any price they should have included the single version of "Funny how love is" which is different from the album track as well as other b-side material(12 inch"Funny how ..." also features a fantastic live version of "Johnny come home" and there are lots of live videos on Youtube which suggests that there is more to explore beyond the repetitious and dull remixes of their single outtakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fine Feast - Fabulous but Long Overdue Reissue with Good Selection of Extra Mixes, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fine Young Cannibals (Audio CD)
Good album of edgy power pop from 1985 - with a great track in 'Johnny Come Home'. They hit their peak with their next album 'The Raw and the Cooked'.
I had been put off by the bad reviews of this reissue. However I took the plunge and bought it - so glad that I did. Here's a few reasons:

- Sensitively remastered which brings out the detail that was previously obscured.
- Interesting sleevenotes.
- Lots of `new' remixes - some very good - 6 on (no8-single) CD for first time.
- Both FYC albums have not been reissued since the 80s, long overdue.

CD 1 43 mins
Extra tracks - OK, but you can hear that they don't hit previous heights

CD 2 50 mins
A particular highlight is 'Johnny Come Home' (Mark Moore 12" Remix) - with added trippiness. It must have been one of Mr S-Express's first.
[I will add more annotation if there is interest]

Previously issued:
2 on previous FYC CD
1 from 'The Raw and the Remixed'

A good package which is well worth buying, after the reissue of 'The Raw and the Cooked'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Album of Two Sides., 7 May 2008
This review is from: Fine Young Cannibals (Audio CD)
When Dave Wakeling and Ranking Roger left The Beat to form General Public founding members Dave Steele and Andy Cox vowed to continue and after rescuing Roland Gift from the Birmingham pub rock scene formed Fine Young Cannibals. The band was accompanied in live performance by session musicians.

Side one opens with debut single `Johnny Come Home' which was pushed to chart success by The Tube who filmed video's for fledgling bands (another band to springboard to success this was Frankie Goes to Hollywood) and Cox and Steele's trademark dancing played no small part in the charm of the band. The songs story of London's homeless sets the political tone for the album and it continues through the anti-war `Couldn't Care More' and the right to work `Don't Ask Me to Choose'. The beautiful ballad `Funny How Love is' comes next before the band pull off the impossible by covering the Elvis standard `Suspicious Minds' and getting away with it.

Side two opens promisingly with left wing anthem `Blue' but afterwards the wheels come off the writing with the remainder of the album being very a bit of a let down which doesn't inspire you to play it over. This album is best in its original vinyl format, where side one can be played on rotation without the need to turn the thing over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars fyb, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fine Young Cannibals (Audio CD)
what a load of rubbish only one good song good mind to ask for my money back complete waste of money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fine Young Cannibals
Fine Young Cannibals by Fine Young Cannibals (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews