Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Air Raid -Tastic
From the mighty opening number of Trumpets of Jehico though to the ball busting closer of Road to Hell this is Bruce at his best. The Bruce Dickinson songs showcased on this album go to show that he really should have not rejoined the Mighty Maiden machine as he really had no need to. This album owes as much to the Brazilian crowd for there simply awesome backing vocals...
Published on 20 Nov. 2000

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great sounding but ultimately disappointing.
Bruce Dickinson, like Ozzy Osbourne, is always better to listen to in a live setting. The guy is a born frontman, and this latest live album shows him doing what he does best - entertaining a crowd. Bruce is in fine voice and has a great backing band (including Maiden colleague Adrian Smith)but the album ultimately fails to hit the mark due to the songs on offer...
Published on 18 Nov. 1999 by theterminator@tinyonline.co.uk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Air Raid -Tastic, 20 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Scream for Me Brazil: Live 1999 (Audio CD)
From the mighty opening number of Trumpets of Jehico though to the ball busting closer of Road to Hell this is Bruce at his best. The Bruce Dickinson songs showcased on this album go to show that he really should have not rejoined the Mighty Maiden machine as he really had no need to. This album owes as much to the Brazilian crowd for there simply awesome backing vocals as it does to the band for there spandex tight performance (check out Smithy's and Roy Z's guitar work) and Bruce for his effortless soaring vocals. Tracks such as Killing Floor and Chemical Wedding sound as crushingly heavy as any nu-metal band while not loosing the melody that many in the nu-metal era just have not got. And if you like an epic number check out Tears of the Dragon with Bruce almost drowned out by the note for note, word for word audience participation. This album is simply awesome and all you Maiden fans who didn't follow the Bruce solo experiance really should get hold of this to see what you've been missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bruce is ALIVE, 1 Jun. 2004
This review is from: Scream for Me Brazil: Live 1999 (Audio CD)
The greatest Metal singer of all time's solo carrer was (is) nothing short of great, and this album shows his phenomenal live performances in all its glory. All the songs are brilliant and the guitar work by Adrian Smith and Roy Z are great. However more songs would be nice (only 13) but this album is brilliant and still deserves 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still screaming - and loving it, 10 Sept. 2003
By 
J. Mead - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scream for Me Brazil: Live 1999 (Audio CD)
The album of the tour of the album of the concept. This is a live album (funnily enough recorded in Rio de Janniro) of the 'Chemical Wedding' tour. The running order on the cd is exactly the same (minus the Maiden tracks that were played) as the concerts. A very good collection and a very good 'live' album. I always worry that 'live' albums are a bit of a cop out, an excuse to get you to buy tracks you already own, simply because the word 'live' is tagged on the end. In many cases this collection is enhanced by being live, and in truth Bruces' music always comes alive anyway in front of an audience. Examples are 'The Tower' (with crowd sing-a-long intro) and "Tears of the Dragon". A worthy addition to any collection, this is very good. Maybe not as good as Bruces' previous live album ('Alive in Studio A') but that is only personal preference as i loved the music Bruce was making then and adored the band that Bruce had at that time. Oh - and as another personal aside - this was my fave Bruce tour - becasue by the end of all the gigs i attended on this tour i ended up with a Dave Ingrahams drumstick, and a plectrum presented by Eddie Cassillas (for persistance after trying and failing to catch one for 5 nights on the bounce) :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great live album from the master of metal, 25 Oct. 2005
This review is from: Scream for Me Brazil: Live 1999 (Audio CD)
This is an awesome album! I got it really cheap and I've played it over and over! Bruce's voice sounds fantastic, and the rest of the band are on fire, especially Adrian and Roy's guitar work. This was the first album of Bruce's that I had heard outside of his Maiden work, and I was really, really impressed by songs like Accident of Birth, Trumpets of Jericho and Book Of Thel. It just goes to show that Bruce can write awesome songs - it's not just Steve Harris! This is possibly better than some of the Maiden live albums, although of course, for definitive live Bruce, get Rock In Rio, or Live After Death. Still, this is highly recommended for anyone who loves traditional, classic metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bruce on the loose in Brazil, 25 Jan. 2005
By 
Haydieweb (West Yorkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scream for Me Brazil (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic collection of some of Bruce Dickinson's finest moments as a solo artist, captured doing what he does best - performing live.
The chunk of the set is material from the critically acclaimed Chemical Wedding album, but don't miss a wonderful rendition of Tears of The Dragon in there too.
Adrian Smith & Roy Z also play blinders on this one - if you're a Maiden fan - what are you waiting for? But even if you're not, this is NOT Iron Maiden. This is a crunching piece of metal and in my humble opinion gives Maiden a real run for their money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dickinson is King, 5 Feb. 2004
By 
Mr. A. P. T. Day "apday101" (Epsom, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scream for Me Brazil: Live 1999 (Audio CD)
Live After Death maybe THE live album to listen to but this little effort from Mr. Dickinson's solo career is a real gem. It's like being at a Maiden concert but they are playing all new material that you haven't heard. I am a convert, I didn't think a solo project would be any good, was I wrong. Feel the power of Bruce's voice on the track "Book of Thel" or "Gates of Urizen". These could have (Or maybe should have) been classic Maiden tracks and prove that it's not only Harris who can write classics. Top live album. Recommended...Scream for me!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The chemical wedding live. with some others thrown in., 13 Sept. 2008
By 
James Hutton (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scream for Me Brazil (Audio CD)
This is a performence that can't be faulted. however the set list is 1.short and 2. a snippet from bruces career. The song's here are pretty much fine, except the dire gates of urizen. That could have been replaced by Tatooed millionare, back from the edge or something else from the two albums that don't even feature here. This is a selection of songs that bruce wrote with roy z or with him in the band. Good performance just the songs. Tears of the dragon and The road to hell are my fave's here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Iron who?, 14 Mar. 2013
By 
Phoenix Rising (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scream for Me Brazil: Live 1999 (Audio CD)
Excellent album. Bruce can obviously cut it live (unlike some people I have heard) and everyone had a good time. I thought that all the songs were great as were the inclusion of the William Blake quotes as a linking device between songs.

I did not have any obvious favourites overall amongst the playlist (unfortunately, I am writing this at the library from memory without the CD to hand so I cannot refresh my memory to add more).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great sounding but ultimately disappointing., 18 Nov. 1999
This review is from: Scream for Me Brazil: Live 1999 (Audio CD)
Bruce Dickinson, like Ozzy Osbourne, is always better to listen to in a live setting. The guy is a born frontman, and this latest live album shows him doing what he does best - entertaining a crowd. Bruce is in fine voice and has a great backing band (including Maiden colleague Adrian Smith)but the album ultimately fails to hit the mark due to the songs on offer. Opening a gig, and subsequently the album, with half a dozen songs from your latest album is not a wise move in anyone's book, even an album as strong as "The Chemical Wedding". The rest of the album is made up with tracks from "Balls To Picasso" and 1997's excellent "Accident of Birth" but unfortunatly there's no "Tattooed Millionaire", "Back From the Edge" or Maiden tracks so you're not really getting the full Brucie show. Still, it should whet the appetite for the new Maiden album. In the meantime, if it's definitive live Bruce Dickinson that you're after, you'd better dig out that old battered vinyl copy of "Live After Death".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scream for Me Brazil: Live 1999
Scream for Me Brazil: Live 1999 by Bruce Dickinson (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews