Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Oi! Album in the World, Ever!
Like many I have missed out on Cock Sparrer over the years. A couple of singles on Oi! compilations, maybe but that is about it.
Cock Sparrer formed in 1972 at the start of the Glam Rock period, but despite being courted by Malcolm McClaren, did bot release an album until 1978, which was only released in Spain! This became available in the UK in 1987 entitled 'True...
Published 7 months ago by krbvet

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant punk to listen
This bunch plays pleasant punk music for the ears, not to aggressive/ violent a la Four Skins/ Combat 84, more on the funny side. Yet they lack the edge of the Buzzcocks, or Pistols. I would recommend it anyway, you will feel better afterwards
Published on 13 Sept. 2011 by F. Panin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Oi! Album in the World, Ever!, 4 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shock Troops (Audio CD)
Like many I have missed out on Cock Sparrer over the years. A couple of singles on Oi! compilations, maybe but that is about it.
Cock Sparrer formed in 1972 at the start of the Glam Rock period, but despite being courted by Malcolm McClaren, did bot release an album until 1978, which was only released in Spain! This became available in the UK in 1987 entitled 'True Grit' and is currently available as 'The Decca Years' with 5 extra tracks.
Shock Troops is their second album but first UK release, originally in 1983. Their long apprenticeship and Glam Rock roots make them different from many of their Oi! contemporaries in that the music is slower-paced, less aggressive and more 'musical', with great hooks and singalong choruses.As such, it has aged better than much other Oi! music.
The first 3 songs are bona fide classics - Where are they now? name checks many of they early punk protagonists and laments the fizzling out of punk ('Was it ever worth it, causing all the fuss?'); Riot Squad is about a school mate who joined the 'other side' i.e. the police; Woking is a great song about working 'cash-in-hand' on a building site while signing on the dole ('For a score in me hand, I've been breaking my back').
The quality dips slightly after this but there is no filler. There are a number of re releases with different bonus tracks so make sure you know what you are getting. The most common has:
England Belongs to me - an earlier single and Cock Sparrer's best song!
Argy Bargy - another favourite
Colonel Bogey - I suspect a few lagers had been consumed when this was recorded

The follow-up album, Running Riot,is also very good but harder to get hold of on CD. There are various compilations. with most of the good songs on, available. Even the later comeback albums such as 'Here we stand' and pretty good, too.

Cock Sparrer are often said to be a band who had their careers the wrong way round; never that popular at the start of their careers but now more popular than ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What you get here is exceptionally well played and melodic music underpinned by a great sense of fun and humor, 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shock Troops (MP3 Download)
Apart from the last song, which you will never listen to more than once, this is an absolute gem. If you are expecting some thrash type oi punk then you are going to be surprised. What you get here is exceptionally well played and melodic music underpinned by a great sense of fun and humor. Cock Sparrer, we do believe in you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Oi albums ever, 11 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Shock Troops (Audio CD)
One of the best Oi albums ever , cock sparrer our one of the best bands ever , I brought this on vinyl in 1982 and I now have it on cd and I'm still playing in my car . Buy it you'll regret it if you don't .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars old school at its best, 12 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shock Troops (Audio CD)
possibly the best album by the band classic tracks on it buy & enjoy some classic old school cock sparrer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and he listens to it quite a lot and says it's great., 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shock Troops (Audio CD)
Bought as a gift for my son,and he listens to it quite a lot and says it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant punk to listen, 13 Sept. 2011
By 
F. Panin "FabioStar" (Holland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shock Troops (Audio CD)
This bunch plays pleasant punk music for the ears, not to aggressive/ violent a la Four Skins/ Combat 84, more on the funny side. Yet they lack the edge of the Buzzcocks, or Pistols. I would recommend it anyway, you will feel better afterwards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shock Troops (Audio CD)
Oi oi oi!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shock Troops
Shock Troops by Cock Sparrer (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews