Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
47
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 May 2016
I had considered Jerry Lee Lewis a somewhat "second tier" rock n' roller . Then, just recently, I came across this album! How wrong was I ? This album distills the very essence and excitement of rock n' roll - compared to ANY artist - onto one disc.

This album has Jerry Lee absolutely "on fire" in 1964 (backed by the Nashville Teens who do a great job of trying to keep up with him). By this time, the Beatles had reached their ascendancy and Jerry Lee is now past his height of fame - and yet he is at his absolute prime in terms of performance!

Sound quality is surprisingly good for a live recording of this period (I recommend the Bear Family Records release). Buy it, play it and I challenge you not to be left smiling!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
Jerry Lee is fabulous on this date. I was lucky enough to be there in Hamburg during that residency
and the record is almost as good as he sounded at the Star Club. My one negative after all these years
is that it could have done with a little more variety of tempi.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2016
Heard this on a download. It has become one of my favourite albums and had to have the vinyl copy to get the full sound. The whole album is just so full of energy. It really gives you a feel of what Jerry was like when he was younger. SI wish there video to go with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
Voted as the greatest rock ' n, roll 'live' album ever by many, and I agree. This album is the 'Killer', Jerry Lee, at his very best. I could write a million words about how good this album is, but I won't. Just listen to it, rock ' n' roll, by the KING of rock' n' roll.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
Picture the scene. Former global star Jerry Lee steps onto the stage of a small club in Hamburg's red light district. A club made world famous by 4 lads from Liverpool whilst JL had become a rock 'n' roll pariah after famously hooking up with his 13 yr old cousin. But Jerry Lee was having none of it. All the frustration of being overshadowed/forgotten/ignored was about to spill over. Less than an hour later one piano was completely junked and The Killer was back!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
Read some reviews sayiny this is the best live rock'n'roll album and from the ones i've heard i have to agree, Lewis plays with the passion, flair and energy he was known for, a great album by a great and sadly underated artist
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Fabulous live performance by a great rock and roller! Listening to this was part compensation for missing his performance in Southampton in 1958 when his appearance was cancelled the day before, due to the hysterical reaction to his marriage.
Barry Lowe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2016
Brilliant a must have for any seriouse! Collector. Backing band the Nashville teens superb should have been given more credit on the sleeve notes. Anyone know the names of the Nashville teens playing on this album.?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
This is well worth a place in anyone's collection.The sound quality is better than I had dared hope for in a live album of this age and really gives a flavour of this charismatic performer at his best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
If there is a more exciting, powerful, and more plain honest to goodness scary album than this I for one have yet to hear it. Its a kick-ass sound from the start to the finish! I love it! please buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)