Customer Reviews


9 Reviews

4 star
0

3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AT LAST, THE DEFINITIVE MISS MARPLE COLLECTION, 6 Aug. 2004
By 
Mr. R. P. Richardson "adanaman" (Northolt, Middlesex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miss Marple / Lancelot / Force 10 (Audio CD)
When MGM contracted Ron Goodwin to write the score for Margaret Rutherford's four "Miss Marple" feature films in the 1960s they cannot have imagined how memorable the composer's catchy harpsichord themes would become. Indeed, MGM placed so little value on Goodwin's original scores that they were destroyed soon after the films were completed. This CD features a painstaking reconstruction of the film music tracks, assembled by Goodwin himself, who sat through each movie taking careful notes of his original compositions. The end result is a splendid reinterpretation of the originals, closely following the original scores. As an added bonus, Goodwin includes themes from "Lancelot & Guinevere" and "Force Ten From Navarone", but it is the "Miss Marple" suite which will stir memories of Miss Rutherford's magnificent collection of chins and her screen outings as Britain's most eccentric lady detective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, the real Miss Marplemusic on cd., 22 Jun. 2003
By 
s.w.vdzeijden (Utrecht, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Miss Marple / Lancelot / Force 10 (Audio CD)
The well known miss marple music in a great hifi sound on this cd is great to listen to.
The first number is a collection of the music of the four marplefilms together in a almost twenty minutes symphony.
The various tracks are each splendid orchestrated with a firm grip on the original sounds of the movies.
The fact that Ron Goodwin this all remembered from earlier days and brought it ones again into live orchestation is a great achievement.
It makes me everytime i listen to it very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Genius of Ron Goodwin, 29 Dec. 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Marple / Lancelot / Force 10 (Audio CD)
It's a bit of an understatement to say that I'm absolutely delighted to find this CD. I've been a great fan of Ron's music ever since I heard the theme to Miss Marple as a child and immediately fell in love with it. Here, it's been re-recorded with the man himself conducting the Odense Symphony Orchestra, heading a Miss Marple symphonic suite of music from all the wonderful Margaret Rutherford films, in addition to Lancelot & Guinevere and Force 10 From Navarone.
However, don't mistake this album as just another 'theme' CD. Ron's rearrangements of his music in symphonic form are a further stroke of his rare genius, lifting the music out of the 'theme' category and into the highest realms of symphonic composition and prove, if proof be needed, just what a great composer he is.
Produced in Germany by Ron Goodwin himself, the recording quality is excellent, though the meagre CD notes, in not very good English, don't appear to have been proof-read (typos), but that's a really minor quibble.
If I could, I'd give this ten stars. One of those rare CD's that remain at the top of the list for a lifetime. Gorgeous music by the maestro. What more could you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soundtrack heaven.., 19 Jun. 2011
By 
P Goodhead (Worcester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Marple / Lancelot / Force 10 (Audio CD)
I have always had a soft spot for the acting talents of the late great Margaret Rutherford. She was never better than in the series of four MGM "Miss Marple" films, which are also available on DVD. I have been a fan of the music as much as the films themselves so to finally find a CD with the Marple stuff on from the maestro Ron Goodwin was a dream come true. For fans of Goodwin, soundtracks and Rutherford, this is a rare find and a worthy addition to any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant, 12 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Marple / Lancelot / Force 10 (Audio CD)
Ron Goodwin`s master stroke theme music to the four Miss Marple films from the early 1960`s is timeless. To combined the Harpsichord with a full orchestra may not be so unusual but to then add kit drums and pull off such a great timbre of sounds with a catchy melody creates an ideal atmosphere to the nostalgic classic films. This is a just over 20 minute arrangement of the main theme tune with music fragments from the four films beautifully arranged to make a one movement suite. The recording is of very high quality, the string section sings out with clarity. The other 2 tracks are good but represent full score film score music of it`s day, it really is the originality of the "Marple Theme" that makes this CD worth the purchase even if you need to pay slightly over the odds or maybe purchase a used recording to get hold of this, you won`t be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Odense Symphony Orchestra, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I downloaded this primarily because it contained Goodwin's theme melodies from the Margaret Rutherford 'Miss Marple' series. The Lancelot and Force 10 From Navarone are extra Goodwin goodies and contributes to over an hour's comfortable listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 April 2006
By 
Michael O. Byrd (MEMPHIS, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miss Marple / Lancelot / Force 10 (Audio CD)
I have enjoyed these movies for years and they were just recently released in the states on DVD and I was reminded of how wonderful the music was. This was a wonderful find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miss Marple fan from the USA., 8 Feb. 2005
By 
J. Doss (Scottsboro, AL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miss Marple / Lancelot / Force 10 (Audio CD)
What fun! I discovered this CD while searching amazon.uk for things that amazon doesn't have here in the USA. Like the old Miss Marple films, the CD makes me smile. I bought two copies so I could surprise a friend of mine who is also a Miss Marple fan. The story behind the making of the CD is also very interesting. I think I'll have a "small beer" while I listen to it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Marple / Lancelot / Force 10 (Audio CD)
So happy with this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Miss Marple / Lancelot / Force 10
Miss Marple / Lancelot / Force 10 by Ron Goodwin (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews