Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best
The recordings on this CD have stood the test of time, having never been out of the catalogue since the late LP era. Artistic and musical merit abounds here and the recordings of the piano concertos could be a clear first choice even if they cost much more. A re-issue adds the Jazz Suite no.1 and a couple of excerpts from The Gadfly. It can be bought on this website for...
Published 10 months ago by Anything Musical

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good accounts?
These are good enough accounts of the Shostakovich piano concertos. These works are not Shostakovich at his most intense or serious. I thought this account of the first concerto attractive enough but a little lacking in spark and bite. The second concerto is better - I thought the slightly slow and chunky first movement worked well and the slow movement stays for the most...
Published on 19 Jun 2010 by enthusiast


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, 1 Dec 2013
By 
Anything Musical (Fareham, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shostakovich: Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2 (Audio CD)
The recordings on this CD have stood the test of time, having never been out of the catalogue since the late LP era. Artistic and musical merit abounds here and the recordings of the piano concertos could be a clear first choice even if they cost much more. A re-issue adds the Jazz Suite no.1 and a couple of excerpts from The Gadfly. It can be bought on this website for just £4.99, new! For further details, follow this link:

Shostakovich Piano Concertos Nos etc

I have owned a copy of the concertos and the Assault on Gorky since the LP first appeared and I want for nothing else. Wholeheartedly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain album still holds its own., 27 Mar 2006
By 
Ian Boswell (Ayr United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shostakovich: Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2 (Audio CD)
Since its initial release, this version of the two piano concertos has consistently been rated as one of the best. The recording is well balanced, with the piano in a pretty natural perspective relative to the orchestra. This contrasts with the likes of Leonard Bernstein as pianist and conductor, with the piano very forward. Alexeev's interpretation is exemplary, as is his playing. For those who do not know the second movement of No. 2, it was once described by an industrial chemist as "pure Rachmaninov, distilled down to a single line". Bliss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still the versions to own, 22 Feb 2014
This review is from: Shostakovich: Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2 (Audio CD)
This remains a highly recommendable pairing of these concertos and at bargain price. It is right to point out that the performances have been reissued by Classics for Pleasure with additional couplings but although they are serviceable I should not feel the need to buy a copy of that release as the Piano Concertos are the thing. The Assault on Beautiful Gorky is a piece of routine agitprop and soon outstays its welcome to my ears.

The First Concerto is played with just the right combination of acid wit and careering virtuosity. The Second Concerto with all its brittle charm intact ( although that slow movement always seems to me not to make enough of that one great tune .

If one was only looking for the First Concerto then I would definitely go for either of Argerich's coruscatingly brilliant accounts but this is an excellent coupling that wears its thirty years in the catalogue lightly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 6 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Shostakovich: Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2 (Audio CD)
Even if this CD wasn't available at budget price it would still be highly competitive. Alexeev is a wonderful soloist and the ECO plays, in turn, with both great depth and vivacity. Personally speaking, I think this CD is worth it's price if only for the gorgeous Andante of the 2nd concerto. It's beautifully played: elegiac and mournful. Simply beautiful for all its wistfulness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bear without a sore head, 9 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Shostakovich: Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2 (Audio CD)
The Second Concerto is what most people will be looking for and it would be difficult to find a better performance or recording. It is played with just the right balance of restraint and emotion from all concerned. The string playing at the beginning of the 2nd movement seems to encapsulate all the suffering of the Russian people both now and in the past. As for gruff, well...Shostakovich is a bit of a gruff old bear of a composer isnt he ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good accounts?, 19 Jun 2010
By 
enthusiast "enthusiast" (sussex, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shostakovich: Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2 (Audio CD)
These are good enough accounts of the Shostakovich piano concertos. These works are not Shostakovich at his most intense or serious. I thought this account of the first concerto attractive enough but a little lacking in spark and bite. The second concerto is better - I thought the slightly slow and chunky first movement worked well and the slow movement stays for the most part avoids sentimentality - which is more than can be said for the fill-up (a piece of Shostakovich's film music). A good enough record but not one I will return to often. But then I often find myself very fussy with Shostakovich.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEAUTIFUL!, 14 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Shostakovich: Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2 (Audio CD)
What can I say? The second movement in concerto 2 is "like heaven on earth" as a great, late friend of mine once said in older age. She couldn't be more right! Listen to it and I can guarantee you will be whisked away by the beautiful piano and string work. I have the pleasure of being able to listening to it several times per week and always find myself singng the whole concerto number 2 wherever I go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interpretation lacks energy and fun!, 24 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Shostakovich: Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2 (Audio CD)
This is a great work. This recording lacks the energy fun and excitement that it should have. Try listening to Marc Andre-Hamelin with the Scottish Symphony orchestra and Andrew Litton conducting, for an all round greater interpretation; his quicker tempo in the first movement brings out the fun in this work... it should be this happy and energetic. The interpretation should reflect Shostakovich's joy in the death of Stalin and the dictatorship which oppressed the creativity of so many great Russian artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shostakovich, 11 Oct 2002
This review is from: Shostakovich: Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2 (Audio CD)
The haunting and mesmeric nature of the Shostakovich piano concertos remains of great interest to this very day. The unique combination of rhythmic drive and flowing melodies creates the air of unease for which Shostakovich is so famous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shostakovich with bite, humour and lyricism, 21 Feb 2008
By 
Aquinas "summa" (celestial heights, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shostakovich: Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2 (Audio CD)
Piano concerto 1 is an odd piece with bite and humour (I remember cracking up laughing seeing it broadcast from the proms a few years ago!). But, also deeply moving. Piano concerto no 2 is more lyrical with less sardonic wit but deeply attractive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shostakovich: Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2
Shostakovich: Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2 by Dmitry Shostakovich (Audio CD - 1988)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews