Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kathleen Ferrier
Kathleen Ferrier's beautiful contralto voice continues to enchant even after all these years.This C.D. has a variety of her songs,illustrating the wide range of her repertoire.
Published on 14 May 2012 by J.c.

versus
26 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars wonderful voice flawed recordings
A selection of songs from a fantastic and beautiful voice. The opera pieces are the best of the selection although the unaccompanied Blow the Wind Southerly illustrates a unique and brilliant voice. The recording are spoilt by the original background hiss but the voice shines through, don't let the purist tell you this is authentic, if she were recording today she...
Published on 24 Oct 2003 by Catherine Lantsbery


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kathleen Ferrier, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Kathleen Ferrier (Audio CD)
Kathleen Ferrier's beautiful contralto voice continues to enchant even after all these years.This C.D. has a variety of her songs,illustrating the wide range of her repertoire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellence, 10 Aug 2012
This review is from: World of Kathleen Ferrier (Audio CD)
I was nervous of buying such an old style recording but ended up delighted with the sound quality of this cd. It's not scratchy and you can hear every word. It's also a very good mixture of her folk songs, operatic gems and choice religious showpieces. Buy it with peace of mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REALLY LOVELY, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Kathleen Ferrier (Audio CD)
AS WITH OTHER REMASTERED C.D.s THIS ONE IS ALSO A GREAT DISC. IF YOU CLOSE YOUR EYES WHEN THE SONGS ARE PLAYING AND AS KATHLEEN SINGS WITH A HUGE ORCHESTRA, THE VOICE REALLY SELLS IT, SHE IS IN THE ROOM WITH YOU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kathleen Ferrier in music, 1 May 2013
By 
Drs S. Woltjer-vd Zande (Delft Zuid-Holland Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Kathleen Ferrier (Audio CD)
My mother was already a great fan of Kathleen Ferrier and I took that prefrence from her. In all her performances she has got a wonderful, so mucial, voice, full of expression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A WONDERFUL VOICE., 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Kathleen Ferrier (Audio CD)
GREAT TO HEAR HER VOICE AGAIN - TRULY A WONDERFUL SINGER. BORN NOT TOO FAR AWAY SHE WAS CERTAINLY A WONDERFUL LANCASHIRE LASS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A piece of history preserved, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Kathleen Ferrier (Audio CD)
I bought this for my elderly mother. I remember her playing some of the pieces on our wind-up gramophone when I was a child. The recordings seem well engineered onto modern media. My mother and I enjoyed listening to them, and they brought back vivid memories of that era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars grandma's favourite, 20 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Kathleen Ferrier (Audio CD)
I bought this for my grandma and she loves it. She had it on vinyl years ago but grandad made it into a plantpot!! as they used to do in years gone by. It is great that purchase is still possible all these years later
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 Aug 2012
By 
W. Tegner "Bill" (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Kathleen Ferrier (Audio CD)
I got this for 0-01 and it really is very good. I can remember listening to many of these songs on a gramophone record sixty years ago, and it brought back happy memories. To my relatively untutored ear the sound recording was most satisfactory and I really enjoyed listening to Kathleen Ferrier's beautiful voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars wonderful voice flawed recordings, 24 Oct 2003
This review is from: World of Kathleen Ferrier (Audio CD)
A selection of songs from a fantastic and beautiful voice. The opera pieces are the best of the selection although the unaccompanied Blow the Wind Southerly illustrates a unique and brilliant voice. The recording are spoilt by the original background hiss but the voice shines through, don't let the purist tell you this is authentic, if she were recording today she wouldn't want that noise - however just listen to one of the best voices of the recording era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

World of Kathleen Ferrier
World of Kathleen Ferrier by Kathleen Ferrier (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews