Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MEMORIES YOU DO NOT WANT TO FORGET
THIS IS PART TWO OF A REALLY LOVELY COLLECTION OF SONGS FROM DAYS GONE BY THAT TRANSPORTS YOU BACK IN TIME . PUT THE HEAD PHONES ON AND RELAX AND SING ALONG ( SHUT THE WINDOWS OR THE NEIGHBOURS MIGHT NOT APRECIATE IT )
Published on 18 Sep 2011 by J. Hemming

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ah, you're drunk, you're drunk you silly old fool
I'm not usually a fan of soppy romantic songs (unless you can count 'The Birdie Song' as being in any way romantic? No? Oh well, that must just be me then), but it is my birthday this week and I can predict already, based on last year's experiences, just how the day is going to end. There I'll be, drunk and sitting in a pile of my own cake crumbs... surrounded by cards,...
Published 10 months ago by Hermes Love


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ah, you're drunk, you're drunk you silly old fool, 16 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: All Time Greatest Love Songs of the 60's, 70's, 80's & 90's, Vol. II (Audio CD)
I'm not usually a fan of soppy romantic songs (unless you can count 'The Birdie Song' as being in any way romantic? No? Oh well, that must just be me then), but it is my birthday this week and I can predict already, based on last year's experiences, just how the day is going to end. There I'll be, drunk and sitting in a pile of my own cake crumbs... surrounded by cards, balloons and the derelict remains of party guests who are all even drunker than I am. And I'll begin to dwell on the fact that I have let yet another year effortlessly slip through my fingers without really achieving anything of any great value. And something about that lethal combination of regret, nostalgia, alcohol and nausea will invariably lead me towards thoughts of my ex-wife.

Before long, I'll have this double disc of soppy romantic songs playing softly in the background as I sit there sobbing into my plastic glass of Blue Nun. What is, when I've got all my wits about me, a fairly harmless (I might almost say largely nondescript) collection of music takes on a whole new life of its own under those conditions. Actually, there doesn't appear to be a track list written anywhere around here to prove that point; allow me...

CD1
1. Love Is All Around - Wet Wet Wet
2. Because You Loved Me - Celine Dion
3. 7 Seconds - Neneh Cherry / Youssou N'Dour
4. Say What You Want - Texas
5. Forever Love - Gary Barlow
6. All I Think About Is You - Harry Nilsson
7. I Only Have Eyes For You - Art Garfunkel
8. Anything - 3T
9. Everytime I Close My Eyes - Babyface
10. Don't Know Much - Aaron Neville / Linda Ronstadt
11. Words - Boyzone
12. Anything For You - Gloria Estefan
13. Lady In Red - Chris de Burgh
14. If You Ever - East 17 / Gabrielle
15. Quit Playing Games (With My Heart) - Backstreet Boys
16. Always And Forever - Luther Vandross
17. The Perfect Year - Dina Carroll
18. Endless Love - Lionel Richie / Diana Ross
19. I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For - Chimes

CD2
1. I Believe I Can Fly - R. Kelly
2. Will You Be There - Michael Jackson
3. The One - Elton John
4. All Cried Out - Alison Moyet
5. Remembering The First Time - Simply Red
6. Together We Are Beautiful - Fern Kinney
7. The Greatest Love Of All - George Benson
8. Forever Autumn - Justin Hayward
9. What Becomes Of The Broken Hearted - Robson & Jerome
10. You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin' - The Righteous Brothers
11. I'm Not In Love - 10CC
12. Beautiful Goodbye - Amanda Marshall
13. She's Always A Woman - Billy Joel
14. If Not For You - Bob Dylan
15. Don't Dream It's Over - Crowded House
16. If You Know What I Mean - Neil Diamond
17. Glory Of Love - Peter Cetera
18. Tonight - George Michael

There are some real tear-jerkers there, particularly when you're pie-eyed. I don't think I'll be able to listen to Chris de Burgh singing 'Lady In Red', because it is just too painful. Mind you, it's nothing whatsoever to do with my ex-wife, I just really can't stand that song. 'Glory Of Love' will be hard to listen to, for somewhat different reasons - if I even get that far. I didn't last year. I only got as far as Elton John's 'The One' last year.

Warbling that song rather morosely to yourself in a room full of drunks is one thing... but dialling your ex-wife's number, being egged on to do so by that half-bottle of Blue Nun you've just downed in one go, and then crooning Bernie Taupin's lyrics down the phone to her at two o'clock in the morning is a recipe for disaster if ever there was one. Although I still say 'When stars collide like you and I, no shadows block the sun' is a beautiful line; I don't know how she ever interpreted it to mean I was calling her fat. I didn't do myself any further favours by giving her a little bit of 'Always A Woman' either.

By the time she'd hung up on me I was sober, temporarily deaf in one ear and wondering what the hell had just happened to me. I can only conclude that this double disc has the power to tap into all sorts of powerful emotions - if you're halfway to being as drunk as a skunk, that is. As I'm sure I will be by the end of this Friday...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MEMORIES YOU DO NOT WANT TO FORGET, 18 Sep 2011
By 
J. Hemming "puppywalker" (birmingham uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Time Greatest Love Songs of the 60's, 70's, 80's & 90's, Vol. II (Audio CD)
THIS IS PART TWO OF A REALLY LOVELY COLLECTION OF SONGS FROM DAYS GONE BY THAT TRANSPORTS YOU BACK IN TIME . PUT THE HEAD PHONES ON AND RELAX AND SING ALONG ( SHUT THE WINDOWS OR THE NEIGHBOURS MIGHT NOT APRECIATE IT )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Time Greatest Love Songs of the 60's, 70's, 80's & 90's, Vol. II (Audio CD)
Gave much pleasure to me as background music, other friends have ordered it when listening to it when invited to the house
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All time Greatest Love Songs, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Time Greatest Love Songs of the 60's, 70's, 80's & 90's, Vol. II (Audio CD)
Excellent CD Great Love songs.Very very nostalgic taking you back in time some songs I'd forgotten until I heard them again. I'm very pleased Thank You.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love songs, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Time Greatest Love Songs of the 60's, 70's, 80's & 90's, Vol. II (Audio CD)
This is a nice CD ,however there are a few songs I'm not so keen on ,but for the price it's nice to listen too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Love Songs, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Time Greatest Love Songs of the 60's, 70's, 80's & 90's, Vol. II (Audio CD)
A lovely CD covering four decades of love songs music. I enjoyed listening to all of these tracks. Great delivery time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars lovesongs cd, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Time Greatest Love Songs of the 60's, 70's, 80's & 90's, Vol. II (Audio CD)
the cd kept sticking while playing it in the car, but didnt complain because it was only 26p and used
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews