Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best album since 1976
The space between 'Nine Lives' and 'Get a Grip'(their last studio album) seemed eternal but after listening to this album it all seemed worthwhile. As a fan who has collected every album in their career I was amazed that this album was so good! There are a few things that you can pick at on the album (e.g. The tedious 'Taste of India' or the bland 'Full Circle' &...
Published on 20 July 2001 by Mr. B. G. Fairgrieve

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting release
this one and 'just push play" are two of my least favorite aerosmith releases. but they are still good cds. This one has some good stuff on it. And the single 'pink' is a highlight. It's just not the monster release that their last few had been. It still sold millions though and that's because a weaker aerosmith cd is still a good rock cd. I may say it's a three star...
Published on 7 Aug. 2012 by Michael Dobey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best album since 1976, 20 July 2001
This review is from: Nine Lives (Audio CD)
The space between 'Nine Lives' and 'Get a Grip'(their last studio album) seemed eternal but after listening to this album it all seemed worthwhile. As a fan who has collected every album in their career I was amazed that this album was so good! There are a few things that you can pick at on the album (e.g. The tedious 'Taste of India' or the bland 'Full Circle' & the obvious 'Hole In My Soul') but what we have here are the Boston Boys best work since 'Rocks'. 'Nine Lives' & 'Falling In Love' are the perfect beginning of a simply brilliant album and the rest are varied enough to simply love to listen straight through again and again. Worthy of Note are 'The Farm' & 'Crash' which are quite simply head rockers, the silky smooth 'Ain't that a bitch' and the bluesy Joe Perry vocals on 'Falling Off'. If you have a fleeting interest in Aerosmith I'd advise you to get this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album I own so far, 24 Nov. 2001
This review is from: Nine Lives (Audio CD)
Despite what some people think about this album I think that it has a good mix of different styles, which means that it never gets boring. I listened to this album constantly when I was on Holiday, and it has never left my cd player since my return home, that's how good it is, you can't tire of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nine lives? these guys used up 4 or 5 just making this..., 2 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Nine Lives (Audio CD)
Along with the Rolling Stones, no-one has taken the core-roots of rock laid down by Led Zeppelin, Yardbirds etc, better than Aerosmith. Recorded at a time in their lives when normal people think about slowing down, this is a stunningly fresh and energetic album that rocks possibly harder than they ever have done. Despite it's very difficult writing and recording (the band swore they'd never make an album like this again) this, somehow, miraculously, hangs together very well indeed.

This album spawned two hit singles which now sit comfortably alongside the rest of their back catalogue in their live shows ("Hole In My Soul" and "Falling In Love"). Even better are the rest of the tracks, especially "Nine Lives", "Taste Of India", "Kiss Your Past Goodbye"and "Pink" with the lighter-waving anthemic "Fallen Angels" to close. What strikes most is that this album is not overshadowed by their more famously good albums ("Pump", "Toys In The Attic", "Grip" & "Rocks") - the sound is unmistakably Aerosmith, but somehow different, more experimental, and even heavier than earlier efforts.

A more convincing return to form than the Rolling Stones "Bridges To Babylon" (or indeed any album released by the Stones since the 1970's) this album shows the extent of the Toxic Twin's rock n roll committment and determination to continue creating. This is the heaviest album Aerosmith have ever (will ever..?) made, and shows truly awesome musicianship, especially from Joe Perry and Tom Hamilton (guitars and bass, respectively). Parts of this album are truly savage, raucous and chaotic, but there's an unmistakable Aeromsmith 'grind' to the riffs, and a wink in it's eye. Lyrically as perverted as ever, Steven Tyler puts down some truly incredible vocals - his inimitable screech on "Nine Lives" (combined with his cat-hissing [you'll have to hear it to know what I mean here] is probably the best introduction to what follows.

"Just Push Play" is arguably a better, more rounded album, but somehow Nine Lives is more interesting. Probably because it was born out of chaos, mayhem, legal wrangling, fights... Its more of a "second childhood crisis" than a "second childhood" -gloriously screwed up, but having great fun...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius!!, 21 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Nine Lives (Audio CD)
Forget the moanin old guys who say this is too 'radio friendly' for aerosmith, this album rocks beyond belief! Tyler wails as ever and Joe Perry has never sounded better,great opener with 'nine lives' rocks straight into 'fallin in love' like genius. 'Crash' is definitly the highlight absolutely suberb. Oh and ive got every album as well so i do love the old stuff but these guys turnin 50 just keep getting better! A must for anyone who likes Aerosmith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Total Fantastic- a Sound for every Mood- 99% song hit rate, 4 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Nine Lives (Audio CD)
This cd is a must to all aerosmith fans, but also to anyone that likes a wide range of music. The album contains a fantastic mixed bag of some of areosmith greatest work to-date.
If its not on you music christmas list then its time u added it!
If there is any thing bad about the album it would bethat there a few songs that aren't my style, but is there an album out that where you don't like at least one or two songs on it??
MC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent album, 22 April 2007
By 
K. A. Daffarn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nine Lives (Audio CD)
This is the album that got me into Aerosmith (I stole my parents copy then finally bought my own). While my prefences lean more towards their earlier material I still love every track on here with Full Circle, Crash and Hole In My Soul being personal favourites.

Wether your already a fan or new to the band you can't go wrong with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A life-affirming classic, 23 Jun. 2009
This review is from: Nine Lives (Audio CD)
I'm 17 right now, and since this came out in about '96 I would imagine, it's been one of my favourites; it's survived me numerous road trips, special occasions, and I know all the songs like the back of my hand. You know one of those treasured albums that despite you being able to pick flaws in a new album that is probably better, you can't pick flaws in that one special album? Get a Grip and this are examples of this for me!

Every song has it's own particular charm to it, from the ballsy opening of the title track to the epic 'Fallen Angels' it just drips with a band that exemplify music at it's rockin', groovin' core. I never even knew that Aerosmith were like 30 years old when I first heard this, or that there were even other bands out there, but if you ask me this album was about the best introduction a 5 year old could get to music, and I thank Aerosmith every time I listen to it!

Try it, I'm sure you will too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back boys we've missed you!, 10 Mar. 2000
This review is from: Nine Lives (Audio CD)
Absolutely great! After the dodgy Get a Grip and then the somewhat pointless Big Ones it was with deep suspicion that I bought Nine Lives. All I can say is it totally restored my faith in their musical ability. Absolutely cracking, rocking, tongue in cheeck with emotion CD. You will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Continuing the stamp of Aerosmith quality, 19 Aug. 2000
This review is from: Nine Lives (Audio CD)
What can you say about the band who have written so many classics that have stuck in the minds of so many people, except- they've done it again! Although not as rounded an album as 'Get a Grip', there are some extremely good stand out tracks that compare favourably to other classics such as 'Crying' and 'Love in an Elevator'. The true stars on this album are the tongue in cheek 'Pink', the almost comedic heaviness of 'The Farm'and the anthem like quality of 'Full Circle'. With other quality tunes such as 'Taste of India' which shows the ability of the band to experiment with styles even after so many years, it is almost easy to forgive a few of the songs on the album that do sound like Aerosmith on autopilot. All i can say is they've still got it, they're still the best band i've seen live, and i can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good group of rockin' songs mostly., 4 July 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nine Lives (Audio CD)
This one was their weakest of the 90's. The 90's saw Aerosmith release some great material and this cd has some of that on it. "nine lives', 'pink' and other tracks are prime aerosmith that are as good as what came before. "taste of india' is interesting too, but there's some songs on here that are more like 'done with mirrors' rather than 'pump'. It's not a bad cd at all though; and most of us aerosmith fans have rated this a five or four star on this site for good reason. It's a enjoyable work of songwriting mostly. There's a few misses on this one but it's far better than 'just push play'. which isn't all bad either. I have all of their cd's and some bootlegs even. So as a fan I would say that this was not a letdown for me back in 1997 , nor is it now. In fact , they need to stick out a new cd and get touring again in 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nine Lives
Nine Lives by Aerosmith (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews