Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blue collar hero
This single CD contains the best of Johnny Cash prior to his resurgence in the late 90s in collaboration with producer Rick Rubin and is difficult to fault with regards to content. All of the absolutely essential classics are included such a I Walk The Line, Ring Of Fire and a duet of Jackson with his enduring soulmate and second wife June Carter.

Cash was one...
Published on 21 April 2006 by Greg Farefield-Rose

versus
44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the real thing
Most, if not all, of the four reviews already on this page, and the Amazon review itself, are mislocated or confuse this album (Spectrum 554 383-2) with another similar one (notice how the reviewers refer to tracks that are not, in fact, in this listing!). This particular album is not the original recordings, but one of those studio remakes from decades later, probably...
Published on 21 Sep 2007 by Phoenix


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the real thing, 21 Sep 2007
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Most, if not all, of the four reviews already on this page, and the Amazon review itself, are mislocated or confuse this album (Spectrum 554 383-2) with another similar one (notice how the reviewers refer to tracks that are not, in fact, in this listing!). This particular album is not the original recordings, but one of those studio remakes from decades later, probably 1998 so far as can be told from the cover notes. Johnny sounds tired (how many times must he have sung 'Ring of Fire' before he came to make this?).

Of course, you get digital quality with a remake, but I'd much rather have the raw and passionate originals. Caveat emptor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blue collar hero, 21 April 2006
By 
Greg Farefield-Rose (Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best of Johnny Cash (Audio CD)
This single CD contains the best of Johnny Cash prior to his resurgence in the late 90s in collaboration with producer Rick Rubin and is difficult to fault with regards to content. All of the absolutely essential classics are included such a I Walk The Line, Ring Of Fire and a duet of Jackson with his enduring soulmate and second wife June Carter.

Cash was one of the few artists who was successfully considered a "man of the people" throughout his career. Tellingly for such a blue-collar hero, his two most famous and critically acclaimed albums were recorded live in American prisons and this compilation features Folsom Prison Blues from the At Folsom Prison LP and the funny A Boy Name Sue from At San Quentin.

The Cash sound stays similar throughout this Best Of with Johnny's deep vocals and fast country-ish acoustic supported by sparing rock'n'roll influenced lead guitar licks, simple root note bass and tight snare-heavy drumming. Female backing vocals and other instruments, such as the brass on Ring Of Fire, are used on occasions to embellish the arrangements with the superb train-like harmonica on Orange Blossom Special being particularly well played and effective.

Having said all this, I'm not a particularly massive fan of Johnny Cash's music though it shows something of the almost universal esteem with which he's held that I have gone firmly on the defensive here. Nevertheless, it's still good to have one JC LP with all the classics and for this purposes, The Best Of Johnny Cash does a very good job indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rerecorded hell!, 27 Oct 2008
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
This is a re-record from 1998-ish. I own it - I was on holiday and in desperate need of some Johnny when I bought it. Unfortunately this is rubbish. Spend your money elsewhere. There are much better albums out there with the original recordings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm a beginner!, 26 Jan 2006
By 
Mr. J. WARE "wolvieware" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Johnny Cash (Audio CD)
Having just seen the new Johnny Cash biopic, Walk The Line, and marvelled at Joaquin Phoenix's wonderful performances as the man in black, I just had to check out the real man's work.
And this was probably the best place for a beginner to start. It includes all his famous songs - Ring of Fire, Walk the Line - plus a couple I hadn't heard before - Sue - and also included my personal favourite, Jackson.
In fact, the only thing I wanted more of out of this best of collection, was more duets with June, as Jackson was the only one on this CD.
A live version of Fulsom prison blues is also very memorable. The Cd gives a very broad range of Cash's music, from early songs to the height of his career, and the only track that's sorely missed is Cry Cry Cry.
Still, essential listening, and a great foundation to start on Cash's other works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beginner to Cash? Then start here...!, 14 Sep 2004
By 
Paul Browne (England.....the hills.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Johnny Cash (Audio CD)
I'd say this is my fourth year as a serious fan of the big JC. This 'Best Of' here, being my first purchase.
You have to understand how important it is to begin with Johnny Cash's "Columbia" years. The purest and most quintessential of all Cash's work is the Columbia era. Forget the 'Sun' era, it's way to vintage when stood against his Columbia recordings [60's].
Every track on this Best Of is genius in it's own right. Right from Ring of Fire to the echos of Walk the Line...and the beautiful but cynical 'It Ain't Me Babe' - great song to help convince you being single is the way it should be!
These songs are the punk of their times, they are stripped of glitzy expensive recordings, they're raw, they powerful and they all a GREAT chapter in any person's life who knows the feeling of love, hard times, and escapism...
Miss it at your peril.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Definitive and (i think) genuine, 2 Dec 2009
By 
J. Jenkins (Dudley Port, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Johnny Cash (Audio CD)
I think of myself as a country music fan, but as someone who has come to the genre via expansive 'alt-country' bands like Wilco and Uncle Tupelo, albums of country standards like the other Cash compilations I own can seem a little one note.

Not so this one, which showcases a spectrum of sounds from the Man in Black. You have the traditionalist Cash of I Walk The Line; the menacing, almost psychedelic Ghost Riders in The Sky, the poppy One Piece at a time, and the heartbreaking protest song The Ballad of Ira Hayes, where Cash's voice alternately drips with venom then chokes with emotion.

Other reviews here contend these tracks are re-recordings, although matters aren't helped by the fact that the reviews attempting to make a distinction between this and another Cash Best Of appear on the page of both items! The Best Of I'm listerning to (beginning with Ring of FIre and ending with Ira Hayes, with blue writing on the cover) contains the version of Ring of Fire I've heard played on soundracks and adverts, in bars and clubs, so it would be weird if that were a re-recording. I don't pretend to be an expert though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'THE LEGENDARY 'MAN-IN-BLACK', 20 May 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best of Johnny Cash (Audio CD)
As with many of the 'Greats' down the years you'd probably need to buy several
albums to own all of 'Johnny Cash's' best known and loved tracks.
I Chose to review and play this release because for, me, this does have many of
the songs I best remember on-board.
'Johnny Cash' singer/songwriter 'American' country and western legend.
He started his career way back in 54' signing up with the 'Sun' record-label also
famous for, around the same time as 'Johnny' in fact, for launching the recording
career's for the likes of 'Elvis' and 'Roy Orbison' along with several other well-known
artists.
'Johnny Cash' has down the years sold many, many albums here in the U.K which
is why so much of his material is so familiar to many of us, world-wide he did have
a massive following, in 'America' a regular visitor to the 'Country' and indeed 'Billboard'
Charts, here in the U.K although selling millions of albums his singles entries were
few.
In 1965 he charted in the U.K. with 'Bob Dylan's' 'It Ain't Me Babe' (Chart 28) not on
board, in 1969 perhaps one of his best-loved numbers 'A Boy Named Sue' (Chart 4)
He achieved another number '4' success in 72' with 'A Thing Called Love' (not on-
board)
He did have a number 21 hit in 70' with 'What is The Truth' (again not included on this
track list) however his number '32' entry of 76' 'One Piece at a Time' is included.
Of course 'Johnny' did have several lower-order entries down the years, as I pointed
out earlier the measure of his success in the U.K was in album sales.
'Johnny Cash' married a few times, marrying the love of his life fellow country-singer
'June Carter' in 1968.
The two sang several duets, famously 'Jackson' which is on-board, among some of the
other favourites on-board 'Ring of Fire' 'I Walk The Line' (worth watching the 'Joaquin
Phoenix' movie about 'Johnny Cash' of the same name as the song (2005) great film)
among some of the other favourites on-board 'Folsom Prison Blues' ( of course 'Johnny'
famously performed concerts for the inmates at 'Folsom' and 'San Quentin' ) my all time
favourite also on-board 'The Ballad of Ira Hayes'
'Johnny Cash' died September 2003 aged 71 , the same year as his 'great -love' and wife
'June Carter' who passed away May 15th 2003 aged 73.
If you wanted just one 'Johnny Cash' album reflecting his best know songs, I'd say this is
a good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Does whats asked of it, 7 Jan 2009
By 
S. Clarke (Loughborough uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
If you're like myself and have specific musical genre to call your own and prefer to have a plethora of different styles and sounds this is a great album to purchase. It will fit nicely in to your CD collection and contains some truly magnificent songs that will provide hours of enjoyment.

If however you are a fan of Mr Cash you will do better buying some of his earlier albums. Yes you might have to buy more (but you are a fan?) but you will appreciate the passion in a younger cash singing.

All in all a good album for those wishing to expand their collections with some great songs, but there are better sounding Cash albums around.

Whatever you decide you should aim to get at least one of his albums into your CD collection and this one is as good as any as a starting point to either call it a day at or go forth and multiply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hits From The Man In Black., 9 Mar 2009
This review is from: The Best of Johnny Cash (Audio CD)
This is a good solid collection of hits from Johnny Cash. It's obviously not all of them but a nice selection anyway.

The stand-outs are of course 'Ring Of Fire', 'I Walk The Line', 'A Boy Named Sue' etc.. but it's great to hear the other classics like 'Ghost Riders In The Sky' & 'One Piece At A Time'. Generally speaking it's a nice cd to start out with and set you on the path of 'The Man In Black'. Adios.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Great cd and great song
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of Johnny Cash
The Best of Johnny Cash by Johnny Cash (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews