Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sensous ethnicity
Deep Forest provide a stirring mix of ethnic sounds set to a synthesised backdrop. This is not your first stop for authentic world music (it is softened sufficiently to fall into a general commercial category) but it's the sort of music you want to lie back to on a warm summer evening. This album contains their most popular and, in my opinion, their best work. Other...
Published on 19 April 2000

versus
4 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Smurfs Discover Trance
The Smurfs Discover Trance - says it all, really. After a while, I found the gnomic mutterings annoying, and wished I could have the tracks remixed without them. On the plus side, we've had a good few laughs out of it, and some tracks are quite danceable (esp. if the dancers join in with their own 'garden gnomes on E' impressions).
Published on 21 Jun 2001 by bob@simplicity.freeserve.co.uk


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sensous ethnicity, 19 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Deep Forest (Audio CD)
Deep Forest provide a stirring mix of ethnic sounds set to a synthesised backdrop. This is not your first stop for authentic world music (it is softened sufficiently to fall into a general commercial category) but it's the sort of music you want to lie back to on a warm summer evening. This album contains their most popular and, in my opinion, their best work. Other work over uses the synthesised element too strongly and what you get is something like a combination of world music, Whitesnake and James Last and his Orchestra! Watch out for the stuff they did with Enigma though. A sensous mix of deeply satisfying music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, mellow album, 12 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Deep Forest (Audio CD)
Really great, relaxing, chilled out, ethnic (but GOOD ethnic) stuff. The other two Deep Forest albums are not worth bothering with (in my opinion), save your pennies. But this album is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like it, 15 Sep 2000
This review is from: Deep Forest (Audio CD)
Simply put, this is one of my three favourite CD's of all time. The other two are Nevermind and Siamese Dream. However, Deep Forest is a different sort of music. The words mellow and transient spring to mind. Be sure to add this one to your music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COOL VIBES, 30 May 2009
By 
Mrs. Jayne D. Redman (Manchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deep Forest (Audio CD)
Deep Forest's first album is magical. It was always in my top five, but my music collection was ripped off about 18months ago, trying to decide which tunes to start my re-vamped catalogue has been difficult to say the least - not to mention, expensive. Deep Forest had to be got and listening to it once again was brilliant. evocative and trippy. Ive turned quite a few pals onto this album and its always gone down a storm.
Top album, give it a listen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Forest - Deluxe Edition!, 9 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: Deep Forest (Audio CD)
No need to stress how important the Deep Forest album is to ambient music. But the key point here is to stress that this 11-track version, which adds the crucial 'Forest Hymn', is the best version - a French import. For what it's worth, it's the best cover design, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars uniquely satisfying, 7 Dec 1999
By 
Alice Chuang "alice chuang" (New York City) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deep Forest (Audio CD)
This is the original debut of Deep Forest. It is by far their most popular. They blend a beautiful mix of obscure ethnic sounds and modern synthesized sounds, somewhat paradoxical. Personally, I love the cd, however, it is easy to get used to Deep Forest as having a tribal, african beat (this one), but their 2 later CDs are as rich and melodic as they are different from their first each with distinctly different ethnic sounds. They are by far one of my favorite groups, ahead of their time and in a class by themselves. Have an open mind and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars turnips, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Forest (Audio CD)
turnips
a bleeding big feild of loverly luscious turnips good for me good for you and all the animals too TURNIPS !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Instrumental Music, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Forest (Audio CD)
This was great ambient music for the fact it was released so long ago..its still lovely to hear the nature sounds and melodies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Forest, superb, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Forest (Audio CD)
I originally heard this many years ago and was rather drawn to the unusual music. Excellent for background music for dinner parties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Forest, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Forest (Audio CD)
An Old Favourite Fantastic Album Great for Chilling out
my old one was scratched think i got this one second hand and its perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac6e59e4)

This product

Deep Forest
Deep Forest by Deep Forest (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews