Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A children's classic not known enough in America
This CD of the Howard Blake music for the Raymond Briggs classic story "The Snowman" should be in every child's collection of favorite music. The main theme is hauntingly beautiful and could create a mood for any child's creative daydreaming. The double bonus of the music alone, or the narrated version that is offered on the CD will whet your appetite for the...
Published on 30 Nov 2001

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The snowman
very disappointed - this was my fault as I thougth this was the DVD i had ordered - music and story good
Published 23 months ago by Lorna


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A children's classic not known enough in America, 30 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Snowman (Audio CD)
This CD of the Howard Blake music for the Raymond Briggs classic story "The Snowman" should be in every child's collection of favorite music. The main theme is hauntingly beautiful and could create a mood for any child's creative daydreaming. The double bonus of the music alone, or the narrated version that is offered on the CD will whet your appetite for the animated video, which is a veritible feast for the eyes. "The Snowman" and the music by Blake is loved by any who have had the pleasure of knowing it, and this CD will allow many more children (and those who are still young at heart) to discover this treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 3 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first half of the CD is James Nesbitt reading the story of The Snowman. The original book was only pictures - this is the story based on the film (the visit to Father Christmas wasn't in the original book). Included in the digipak is the story in words along with pictures from the book. Perfect for reading along with a child. I'm not a great fan of James Nesbitt but he does do a great job here.

The second half is the soundtrack to the film including Walking In The Air.
I can't recommend this enough - it's delightful for young and old. And at less than £3 it's a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for everyone's inner child, 28 April 2004
This review is from: The Snowman (Audio CD)
The Snowman is an age-old classic and has been a feature of all the Christmas holidays I can remember, along with Mary Poppins and theNutcracker. The beautiful music appeals to everyone and the simplicity ofthe story means that children of all ages enjoy it.
This particularversion is excellent in that it not only has the music but is alsobasically an audio book and tells the story as it is in the film, with themusic in the background.
So for the next generation of children stuck inside for the Christmasbreak and for their parents and indeed anyone who feels like reminiscing alittle, this is an brilliant (and might I add affordable!) buy. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern Classic for children of all ages, 11 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Snowman, the (Audio CD)
This wonderful music is integral to the whole animated film, yet it reaches out to the listener and literally brings the magic to life. A superb composition played by the finest musicians create a breath-taking experience as you swoop and 'fly' over the landscape. The enchanting dance scene really sets your toes tapping as the whole warmth of this classic surrounds you. The ending is quite emotional as you realise the Snowman has melted and you feel like you have lost a dear friend, but the magic continues as the little boy finds the purple scarf, given to him by Father Christmas, in his pocket. You are left in a world of enchantment and wishing that there was a second Snowman story so you might never leave this land of childhood recaptured. Simply stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Corection of review, 23 Aug 2006
By 
L. C. Reed (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Snowman (Audio CD)
This is definitly the original soundtrack of the 1982 film "peter auty" is the original singer. Aled jones did not record the song until after the film was made. However a recent dvd of the film used aled's recording instead. It also changed the intro to one with "David bowie". But rest asured this cd is the soundtrack of the film as released in 1982. It is a highly recomended cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Snowman: A beautiful success in musical imagery, 7 Dec 2005
By 
This review is from: The Snowman (Audio CD)
The nostalgic melody from this album has been bittersweet with a lot of sweet for me since I was really young. I've always been enchanted by the perfectly whimsical, yet tragic sounds created in the score. It's amazing. I hope more people discover this gorgeous music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ticks all the boxes, 6 July 2010
The story is well narrated and you can listen to the music without any words in addition. My daughter loves listening to this in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 25 Feb 2010
By 
Ruth Bennett (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My daughter is enthralled by The Snowman, and the CD is the next best thing when we're in the car, etc. I remember listening to this when I was small too, so there's an added element of nostalgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ENCHANTING STORY AND WONDERFUL MUSIC FOR ALL AGES!, 19 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Snowman, the (Audio CD)
I can't recommend this CD enough. The story is warm and touching, and the music is beautiful! Both young and old alike will want to make it a winter or Christmas tradition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Snowman 25th Anniversary Special Edition, 14 Sep 2010
This is a lovely edition of the old classic The Snowman.

The cover of the CD is not a regular glass cover, but made in card so perhaps not as robust as regular audio CD covers, but this didn't really matter too much to me.

The item consists of the CD on the right hand side and on the left is a non removable book of the story.

The CD is a narration of the story by James Nesbitt, and is told from beginning to end with the songs included in their relevant places whilst the story is told.

The book contains words of the story, along with delightful pictures over 13 pages so you can read along whilst the story teller narrates. The last page of the book contains the words of the "Walking in the air" song.

I particularly like this edition as it contains the part of the story where the boy and the snowman fly to the North Pole and meet Father Christmas. Although this part of the story was apparently not in the original I still prefer this edition.

I think this edition is an absolute delight and exceptional value for money, I think it would make a wonderful Christmas gift for children and adults alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Snowman
The Snowman by Howard Blake (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews