Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best songs from the greatest duo ever.
This album is a delight from start to finish with its fantastic display of the talents of Simon and Garfunkel, the folk-rooted legendary duo. Its order and selection have both been well thought out to suit anyone and the result is an album for all moods. Highlights include the fantastis Sounds of Silence, a sinister and awesome piece, the Boxer,a story in a song...
Published on 15 Mar 2002

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, but horrible sound
Not surprisingly, this set is marred by not having been remastered as many more recent releases have been. Seek out something more recent to hear this well.
Published 12 months ago by Scott Klapman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best songs from the greatest duo ever., 15 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Simon and Garfunkel Collection (Audio CD)
This album is a delight from start to finish with its fantastic display of the talents of Simon and Garfunkel, the folk-rooted legendary duo. Its order and selection have both been well thought out to suit anyone and the result is an album for all moods. Highlights include the fantastis Sounds of Silence, a sinister and awesome piece, the Boxer,a story in a song delightful yet meaningful. Wednesday Morning 3am's peace but sadness strikes the heart whilst the riffing of A Hazy Shade Of Winter and Mrs. Robinson's harmonic singins will grab even the most sceptic person's attention. It all comes to a climax at the epic, stunning Bridge Over Troubled Water where Garfunkel's singing finds Nirvana. If you need to taste the beauty of this legendary pair, look no further than this quite exhilirating album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 'art' of great songwriting, 25 Sep 2010
By 
F. Smith "Fin" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simon and Garfunkel Collection (Audio CD)
The sixties are looked at with misty eyed nostalgia by many who were there and many who wish they were. It was a time of great change, socially and culturally with the emergence of pop culture being taken as a serious contributor to the arts for the first time. With the rose tinted spectacles worn by many professional critics you could be forgiven for passing over the contribution of Simon & Garfunkel to this most schizophrenic of decades. If that is the case, you need to listen to this album.Quite simply, this is sublime.

Songwriting has rarely been better and a compilation of any artists work rarely been stronger. Paul Simon wrote 15 of the 17 songs on this album but its the combination of Simon's melody and lyrics with their harmonies that makes this body of work as strong as any of their contemporaries over the period.

Never fashionable, the duo nevertheless enjoyed a few years of being cool in bedsitland and with students as they became the darlings of the Greenwich Village folk scene and blending their acoustic style with a pop rock edge struck a chord with a scene alongside the likes of Dylan. Songs like Homeward Bound and America captured perfectly a balance between scope in their depiction of the protagonist in a strange land with a poignancy that was a recurring theme in their work through songs such as Bookends and The Boxer. Downsides? Well the mawkish Bridge over Toubled Water, their biggest hit, has been overplayed and lacks the charm of their best work but Garfunkel's voice soars and is almost adequate compensation. Otherwise this is a remarkable collection of the good and the great from the Simon and Garfunkel catalogue and should be in your collection.

If you think songs in the sixties began and ended with Dylan or the Beatles you really need to listen to this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars S&G at their very best, 24 Aug 2011
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Simon and Garfunkel Collection (Audio CD)
This is one of two or three `greatest hits' type albums featuring the best work of Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel from their seminal period of musical co-operation in the late 1960s to mid-70s.

This is what you get:

1. I am a rock

2. Homeward Bound

3. America

4. 59th Bridge Street Song (Feeling Groovy)

5. Wednesday Morning 3am

6. El Condor Pasa

7. At the Zoo

8. Scarborough Fair (Canticle)

9. The Boxer

10. Sound of Silence

11. Mrs. Robinson

12. Keep the Customer satisfied

13. Song for the asking

14. Hazy shade of Winter

15. Cecilia

16. Old Friends (Bookend theme)

17. Bridge over troubled Water

So - most of their best work, missing only perhaps `So long Frank Lloyd Wright' and a couple of other numbers. With the possible exception of `At the Zoo' and `Hazy Shade of Winter' most of these pieces were hit singles, and of course you will recognise `Sound of Silence' and `Mrs. Robinson' from the 1967 movie `The Graduate.'

The sound quality is excellent: rich, deep, with good tonal separation and clarity, similar to the original vinyl releases - without the crackles and pops as the stylus travelled over the scratches.

It's great value if you can get a good copy, contains more material than either the `Bridge over troubled Water' album or the later-released `Greatest Hits.' It offers you the essence of S&G at their best. If you don't know their music that well and want an album of these seminal, classic, timeless pieces on one disk, you couldn't do better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Treble up...noise reduction off !, 20 May 2013
By 
N. Clark - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simon and Garfunkel Collection (Audio CD)
There's no point giving you a review of this album on the basis of the songs. We all know them and whilst we may differ in our selection of what would go on an S&G hits package, the album is just one of several similar products released to target a new generation of fans. This is a tie in with the original Central Park gig in 1981 so you might think its dated but if you're a collector of the duo, you should know the mastering of this album is slightly different from the usual. In short,its been remastered with response in mind rather than noise reduction so its a little hissy for the CD world but very much clearer than conventional recordings.I don't know whether this is a big deal for you but its the only time I've ever heard these songs presented in this way. If you're a diehard fan that collects S&G, you might want to pay the small amount to get one of these and hear it for yourself. I liked it so much, I bought one even though I've got everything on it loads of times already !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic, 2 Aug 2010
By 
P. Adams (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Simon and Garfunkel Collection (Audio CD)
Ive had a copy of this album in one form or another for at least 20 years. My last one was mangled by a car cd player so it was great to find another on amazon.worth having in any cd copllection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Stuff, 6 April 2012
By 
E. A. Banks (Ipswich, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simon and Garfunkel Collection (Audio CD)
I grew up listening to Simon and Garfunkel, who had been around for some time prior to that. My old cassette tape of this album had long since worn out so I treated myself to it on CD. I had forgotten just how brilliant they sound. If you like something mellow with great melodies and beautiful harmonies, then check out Simon and Garfunkel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good cd, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simon and Garfunkel Collection (Audio CD)
i liked this cd most of the hits are on here, i would deffo recomend it to others its very good!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Swapped up, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simon and Garfunkel Collection (Audio CD)
Had this on vinyl and decided to buy the cd version for ease of listening (haven't got a record player in the car!!).
Fab cd with all the hits you'll instantly recognise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good CD, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved it, it was just what I hoped for. It arrived quickly and I play it a lot with enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, but horrible sound, 4 July 2013
By 
Scott Klapman "hatfulofelt" (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Simon and Garfunkel Collection (Audio CD)
Not surprisingly, this set is marred by not having been remastered as many more recent releases have been. Seek out something more recent to hear this well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Simon and Garfunkel Collection
The Simon and Garfunkel Collection by Simon & Garfunkel (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews