Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

  • Suede
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
40
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 February 2005
It is the early 90s. Even your idiot brother likes Nirvana. Your check shirt feels like a hairshirt and you deserve it. You and your generation seem to have thrown your lot in with unseemly American slacker angst; a desperate abrogation of youth and desire. Then this...
It is impossible to overstate the beauty and inspiration that this record brought us. An extraordinary misfit singer, yelping and swooning over sordid tales of drugs, sex and ennui wrapped in a suburban concrete overcoat. A phenomenal guitarist, trilling and hammering a clutch of instantly world-class riffs. A band to match.
You will have heard all about Britpop oasis blah blah blur. This is the one that mattered. The elements that would later teeter to cliche - the 'beautiful loser' lyrics, the glamorama, the seediness - are embodied most memorably in three crunching singles - Animal Nitrate, The Drowners, Metal Mickey. Then there are the 'keepers' - Sleeping Pills, Pantomime Horse and the aching melody of the Next Life. Like a call to arms to the emotionally dispossessed this album not only put a stiletto heel into the notion that there were no great bands anymore, but also exuded the kind of self-conscious Britishness that pre-figured the vibrant Britpop era.
Of course there were choppier (and poppier) waters ahead, with the departure of guitarist Bernard Butler, the re-birth of Coming Up, the lapses into semi-parody. But set against the context of today's drab indie-rock, Suede seems like a glorious vindiction of brutal, confused youth and the redemptive power of brilliant music: despite all the stardust and glitterballs there can be nothing more humane and honest than that.
22 comments| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2005
12 years on and suede's fantastic debut album still sounds like the most exciting record i've ever heard.so young, animal nitrate, the drowners,metal mickey...those were the days.who have we got to get excited about now? coldplay and embrace, oh please.music is so bland nowadays, not to mention safe.when i first saw animal nitrate on mtv i was a fifteen year old brought up on a diet of bryan adams, madonna and cheesy dance tunes.seeing brett anderson mincing it up and bernard butler throwing those guitar shapes changed my musical taste overnight and nothing was ever the same.suede were THE greatest band not just of the nineties but in my opinion ALL time.their first three albums are classics and while they may have lost their way with head music and a new morning they have done enough to go down as the best band of their generation.forget oasis, forget radiohead, if you haven't bought a suede album buy all of them now it'll change your life!
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
Excellent debut by possibly the definitive British band of the 90's and remastered with great quality. My only gripe are the bonus tracks, because it takes away some what from the album's original closer, the ethereally beautiful 'Next Life' one of the most touching songs ever created. There are many such ballads all over this album, marking Suede's trademark theatrical beauty from the start, particularly with the double barrel of Sleeping Pills and Breakdown, although their beauty is best captured on the dark, mesmerizing Pantomime Horse, which is somewhat reminiscent in structure to 'That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore' by the Smiths.

There are several other little nods to the noted band also, particularly on the opening track, with it's opening drum solo and piano break recalling 'Reel Around the Fountain,' the opening song on The Smiths debut. But Suede use their influences subtlety and both the music and lyrics are entirely the bands own, with only little nods to their influences in their overall aesthetic.

Aside from ballads, there are some rockers like the excellent, 'Metal Mickey' and the classic single, 'Animal Nitrate.' Suede prove themselves capable of several different sounds both musically and vocally, with Anderson's voice leaping from deep baritone to falsetto with great ease and finesse. His voice is quite unique and perhaps rather grating or difficult to enjoy for some, but perseverance will put an end to that.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2004
The pairing of brett anderson and bernard butler produced suede's only truly great albums, this and dog man star are some of the most beautiful work to come out of the much maligned britpop period. For me the standout track here is "the next life" which still takes my breath away 11 years later. A gem and i can't believe no one else loved it enough to put up a review
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 August 2007
For a brief period of time in 1992 and 1993 it looked like Suede were going to conquer the world, a prospect brought about solely on the basis of this album. And what an album it is. It sounds like the record The Smiths would have made were they relocated to Essex, forced to listen to Bowie and T-Rex for a year and locked in a porn shop with access to nothing but skin mags and poppers. It's gloriously sleezy and it just romps along from the brash opening chords of 'So Young' to the haunting final echoes of 'Next Life'.

At the time, pretty much everyone ditched this album as soon as 'Dog Man Star' came out - I'm not sure whether that record has stood the test of time as well as this one. I certainly don't think they ever matched the sheer energy and glamour of their debut. It still stands up now and is definitely one for the collection. If you want to call yourself a muso, you HAVE to own 'Suede'.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
Alongside the Manic Street Preachers, Suede were one of the more underexposed and underrated bands from the Britpop movement of the 90s when lined up alongside Blur and Oasis. However, their sound has always had a dark quality to it that many of their contemporaries lacked, blending the glam androgyny of Bowie with the morose sound of The Smiths. Their self-titled debut remains my favourite album by them (though Dog Man Star comes close) and an impressive start to the band's career. Brett Anderson and Bernard Butler really deliver on this album and can really be considered the successors to Morrissey and Johnny Marr. Anderson's vocals have this eerie ethereal quality to them and also have that theatrical Bowie tone to them which works on slower songs like 'Pantomime Horse' and 'Sleeping Pills' whilst Butler produces some killer punkish riffs on 'Animal Nitrate', 'Metal Mickey' and 'Animal Lover'. This album is pure emotion and eclecticism and definitely one of the best albums of the genre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2006
When I listen to this album I can't believe its about 14 years old. Every song sounds fresh, unnique, and just fantastic. Turn it up. Put it on before a night out and wonder what all the fuss is over todays bands like Snow Patrol etc. Suede had glamour, style and coolness that makes a lot of todays bands look like supermarket music. Indie music is a lot more mainstream nowadays and there are some rock pools of great stuff out there but no one will sound like this again. Just like The Clash or The Smiths they had a niche. Get this, one of the best debut albums ever, turn it up and enjoy.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2000
suede's first album, (cunningly entitled suede) is a classic. i would recomend it thouroughly. i a massive suede fan, (especially of their earlier songs which were so much better than their newer stuff), before suede's music changed and bernard butler left. i have all the suede songs ever on CD and i think that this is their best album, though followed closely on it heels by 'dog man star'. this is a truly superb debut album. not only are all of the songs amazing but the lyrics are clever metaphors and flow well with suberb guitar parts and the fantastic rhythms. Bernard Butler's stunning guitar skills intermining with brett anderson's beautiful vocals and their clever, imaginative songwriting is a recipe for success. no wonder this record won the 1993 Mercury music prize. remember also to listen to their amazing B sides from that era too, such as 'my insatiable one' 'to the birds' 'he's dead' 'painted people' and the b sides from the dog man star singles too which i also recommend but you won't want to listen to dog man star as often as 'suede' you should also hear 'wonderful sometimes', 'be my god' and 'art' which are their first three never 'never released' songs. they can be found on the high hopes bootleg CD or on a bootleg CD i mixed myself entitled 'early birds' which contains all suede's early rare tracks, all B'sides up till and including the 'new generation' B sides and some of the covers suede did.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
Ok...

So, NOT ONLY do you get the classic 1st Suede album REMASTERED (much clearer, detailed sounding), but you get ALL the demos and rare, unreleased songs from this period.

PLUS, you get a bonus DVD with the very rare "Love & Poison" (personally, one of my favorite performances EVER) in perfect DVD quality + a gig in Sheffield from 1993 + an interview from 2011 with Brett & Bernard discussing/being interviewed about the album.

Buy this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2002
If I was stranded on a desert island for the rest of my life with only one disc to listen to, this would be it. Brett Anderson's voice is not everyone's cup of tea, and this ambitious, emotional, dramatic music is not for everyone. But for me, and without a doubt, Suede's debut album was the best album released in the 90s- British or otherwise. Almost ten years on, I still listen to it at least once a week. I am still waiting for the Suede album to match this one - Dog Man Star came close - let's hope "A New Morning" recaptures the brilliance!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)