Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tight minimal melodic and well arranged techno!
'Classic' &' highly influential' are all descriptions so overused, but in this case id have to agree.
There is a really clean classy minimal spacey/ trippy BUT- ABOVE ALL- TECHNO quality to this album. The bass is seriously sub sonic. Made without being obsessed with 'trying' to be 'hard' or 'fast', these understated tunes are so well crafted and built from...
Published on 16 Feb 2004 by Melissa House

versus
2 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Outdated. Drags on without any of the merits of good music.
This CD is a great deal - if you enjoy the early electronic music mishaps, however I won't go overboard recommending the albumn as it's also totally uninteresting, in fact, of the great range of music I've picked up over the years, this one will be one of the few CDs I actually bin.
Published on 12 Nov 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tight minimal melodic and well arranged techno!, 16 Feb 2004
By 
Melissa House "melski" (Perth Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frequencies (Audio CD)
'Classic' &' highly influential' are all descriptions so overused, but in this case id have to agree.
There is a really clean classy minimal spacey/ trippy BUT- ABOVE ALL- TECHNO quality to this album. The bass is seriously sub sonic. Made without being obsessed with 'trying' to be 'hard' or 'fast', these understated tunes are so well crafted and built from beginning to end- always packed with hooks that make it dancable & plant a cheeky grin on your face coz theyre so ruff without being cheesy. These are really 'head gear' tunes., Even now when i listen to Orbital 2 or Aphex amb. 85-92 - they all sound dated to me in comparison. Theyre just isnt the edge that there still is on this album. Granted it still sounds from a past era, but it has that "what the **** is that" quality to it that all good techno shoud have- you know, that dark strange discordant but at the same time beautiful and perfectly arranged quality.
Frequencies is loaded with bleeps & all sorts of quirky effects which do take you back to late 80s early 90s- but it has no naff 'take me higher' wannabe rave anthem tracks. Its slow (v.slow by todays standards), but so totally techno in spirit, so totally British infact, as although it would appeal to those who love that orig. detroit techno sound - or chicago acid house thing- this is still a different sound unique to Britain in early 90s, with a groove you dont even think about following- you just do. Some of these tracks are up there with Joey Beltrams NRG Flash, 808s Pacific, Fast Eddies Acid Thunder etc. but different / slower and more minimal.
There are a couple of tracks in the middle that to me sound a bit weak and dated- but considering the quality & inovativness of the rest- i mean they truly set a standard (how many others managed a whole album of near classics as opposed to the odd 12")- i stand by my rating!
"Pioneers of the hypnotic groove".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 2 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Frequencies (Audio CD)
At the time of this CD's release, it was truly an inovation. I am buying this album for the second time as my original vinyl copy is getting a bit worn.
This album really did show that electronic music could have emotion and fealing. I remember buying purely for the second track, "LFO". This had been a single that had the most phenominal bass sound at a time when rave culture and warehouse parties were growing at massive rate. On first listen I was a little dissapointed, where was the album full of hard pumping dance anthems that I had expected.
As I listened to the album again a few days later I began to find more. I began to apreciate, the softer, gentler, whispering side of electronic music (El Ef Oh, Tan Ta Ra).
This is an album to imerse yourself in, shut the curtains, lie down and listen with headphones. Some may say that it sounds dated, but only as much as the universally excepted inovators, Kraftwerk. It's a thought provoking classic, not like the up-to-the-minute batery farmed dance hits currently being churned out.
If you like beautiful, "different", electronic music, like Moby or Leftfield, try this out. While it's not the same,it may just provoke a new inspiration in you.
Edd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who said that electronic music can't be emotional?!, 3 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Frequencies (Audio CD)
Well... where can I start.
For me this is a VERY influential album indeed. When I first heard this album in 1991 I was completely blown away... I'd never heard anything sound so...so....so "shiny!", "pristine", "dark", "beautiful" add as many adjectives you like... it's all here.
The difference though between this and many other favourite electronic albums, is that NOW (nearly 9 years later & hundreds of other great electronic albums listened to) every time I listen to this album I am STILL completely blown away.
I would heartily recommend this album to:
a) People who like electronic music b) People who don't like electronic music, c) and anybody else.
This album starts with the question "House, what IS house? KLF, Technotronic, or something you just live in?" and then proceeds to show that "house" (in it's original sense) is much much more than all that, it's beautiful enough to make you cry, dirty enough to make you marvel at it's textures & intricate enough to astound ya with skills.
Every track is a classic, from the spine tingling beauty of the incredible "Simon From Sydney", the landmark "Bleep tune" - "LFO" to the lovely "Tan Ta Ra"
If you are new to the wonders of WARP (and let's face it - everything that gets a Warp release is worth checking out) buy this album, take it home, listen to it, love it, let it accompany you in whatever you do... hell you might even end up sleeping with it, it is THAT good. One thing that is for sure is that you will have had a taste of one of (well, I won't mince words) - THE BEST INDEPENDANT LABEL IN THE WORLD... I defy you not to want to check out some of their other releases.
If the clean, lush, bleeps & syths of LFO's album start you off - carry on to hear Advance (LFO), Incunabula (Autechre), Music Has The Right To Children (Boards of Canada)and enjoy - It might change your musical path for ever. (Certainly makes "Ibiza Trance" sound pretty, well, unintelligent!)
If you are into slightly less purist techno stuff... try Nightmares on Wax, Jimi Tenor, Plaid or many other inspiring artists... there's a whole world of Warp and this album, for me - is the start..
So, Roll-Up, Roll-Up - Listen Learn & be Amazed
Your musical world will never be the same... If you're like me you may even find yourself buying synths because of it... 8)
Indispensible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic and hugely influential techno, 21 Aug 2002
This review is from: Frequencies (Audio CD)
I first bought as a grubby student when it first came out in the early nineties. LFO the single, was a big student club hit, I loved it, danced manically to it, and thought it was a bit odd. I subsequently forgot about it and it sat in my CD collection collecting dust. A decade later - its obvious to me this is an absolute classic. I've listened to a lot of electronica and other techno since then (mostly WARP stuff) but it still sounds fresh and innovative now. Now I've "rediscovered" it, I keep going back to it again and again.
Anyone seriously interested in techno should have this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Datable rather than dated, 24 Nov 2000
This review is from: Frequencies (Audio CD)
There is good music in every period. Yes, it's obvious that this album was made around the turn of the nineties, but only in the same way that the Beatles sound like a sixties band. Frequencies represents the peak of electronic music at that time and, although different, less sophisticated perhaps, it stands up alongside the best of today's electronic music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC BRITISH TECHNO, 19 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Frequencies (Audio CD)
Back in the days before club culture had manifestied itself onto the mainstream.LFO or low frequency oscillation were carving a niche in this country(uk)for quality Techno.Reflecting the source of all things Techno at that time,ie DETROIT birthplace of Techno circa 1985.Lfo used machine driven sound patterns in much the same way as Kraftwerk had 15years previous.They proved a phenomenal force in the BRITISH DANCE scene and are an important factor as are their DETROIT counterparts in the dance sounds that have evolved in the past ten years.Whilst forms of techno have evolved into countless genres and sub genres,the ORIGINAL music that inspired them has remained still a rarity in this country.Check this album out if you like REAL non commercial Techno,as found on Labels like WARP...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refiners of the hypnotic groove, 6 Jan 2007
By 
N. Murray - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frequencies (Audio CD)
Utterly brilliant. I bought this album at the time of it's release in 1991. It had been recommended to me by someone at college who knew all about bleeps and reckoned this was a good place to go exploring.

After a few years of ignoring it (I misplaced the disc, but not the case) I decided it was time to revisit Frequencies. Testament to its complexities and underpinned by my old memories, I am now travelling an old LFO road again.

The clever use of distortion, the huge style variance between each track and those fabulous basslines, peppered with all sorts of quirky top end and other delights mean I feel lucky to have found this album all those years ago. Latterly, I bought their next album in 1996 and whilst having many of the virtues of Advance, was just ever so slightly, a lesser album for me. Not that it was bad in any way, just not as special as that cracker from 1991!

I suspect a significant number of people may miss so much of this albums beauty through its somewhat dated sound. For me though, it has returned to the top of my collection as a quintessential piece of electronica that stands alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best moments in techno..., 18 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Frequencies (Audio CD)
subtley uplifting melodies. heartfelt sonic textures. cochlea buzzing analogue filter distortion. warmth.
a completely classic piece of music. you probably wont listen to it that much but when you do you will fall in love with it all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old school electronic music is still great, 6 July 2010
By 
Kasper Skov - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frequencies (Audio CD)
I bought this album just to check it out. I hadn't heard any of LFO works before but I did know of the music coming out of WARP in the 90s. The album contains a lot of great tracks with much diversity. The tracks range from early house to techno to ambient. If you are into old and classic electronic music (or generally what came out of WARP), this CD is a for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent period music, 5 Jun 2009
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Frequencies (MP3 Download)
For some, the likes of LFO may seem just a tad dated for the modern super-computer, over-sophisticated bedroom producers were bombarded with on the net. For others, it's a quite rare and almost essential example of a hedonistic period in music history, catalyzed by new advancements in equipment and influence from overseas.

'Frequencies' quite innocently demonstrates how Techno could work, and why it was of it's time. Straight from the opening of 'LFO', the wash of the all too common Roland synths is abundant throughout; no doubt the whole album was probably made from nothing more than a handful of instruments at the most. Here in lies why the era worked; it was not about using as much technology as possible, but about using the technology available to create an atmospheric escapism, accompanied by the warehouse experience. This form of rebellion doesn't exist anymore, hence the music will only attract those that appreciate it's cultural background.

Grab your glowstick, stick on a white glove, because LFO is the life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frequencies
Frequencies by LFO (Dance & DJ) (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews