Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - a definitive journey through the post disco era
When I saw the track listing for this CD I nearly hyper-ventilated with excitment. Never before has a single purchase contained so many absolute gems including tracks that I haven't heard for years and have spent time trying to track down. From the very onset (Mantronix - Got to Have Your Love - not an 80's track but who cares?) this album lays down it's intentions with...
Published on 14 Jun. 2001 by sean.culey@csplc.com

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let the music play
I'm a DJ and I was hoping to use this CD as the songs on it are excellent. Unfortuntely, the end of each track mixes into the intro of the following song. This is disappointing as many of the songs are quite hard to find and I really wanted a decent copy of them. This CD is great if you just want to play it at parties and want a non stop mix of classic 80's soul/funk...
Published on 7 Oct. 2004 by MR C R GREGG


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - a definitive journey through the post disco era, 14 Jun. 2001
When I saw the track listing for this CD I nearly hyper-ventilated with excitment. Never before has a single purchase contained so many absolute gems including tracks that I haven't heard for years and have spent time trying to track down. From the very onset (Mantronix - Got to Have Your Love - not an 80's track but who cares?) this album lays down it's intentions with quality groove after quality groove. As to a previous reviewer claiming that the second half of each disc being a filler - you're having a laugh aren't you! Example - second half of track one; 14. The Crown - Gary Byrd - What can I say about this track - been looking for this for years. A Stevie Wonder penned masterpiece unrivalled by all of the manufactured crap that passes as music nowadays. And it has a social message as well! 15. And The Beat Goes On - Whispers - a classic 16. I Found Lovin' - Fatback Band -another dancefloor classic 17. Don't Look Any Further - Dennis Edwards 18. Don't Stop The Music - Yarborough & Peoples 19. Juicy - Mtumbe - sliky smooth soul that slides into your ears. 20. Hanging On A String - Loose Ends - classic from a very underated, and sorely missed band.
Check the track listing of CD one and you'll see the same quality; Maze, Roy Ayers, Evelyn Champagne King, Keni Burke, Gwen McGrae - need I say more.
Brings back memories of when music was made with soul by musicians and not by businessmen and faceless teenagers.
The mutts nuts, as they say, with not a duff track on the album. They unfortunately don't make music like this anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let the music play, 7 Oct. 2004
I'm a DJ and I was hoping to use this CD as the songs on it are excellent. Unfortuntely, the end of each track mixes into the intro of the following song. This is disappointing as many of the songs are quite hard to find and I really wanted a decent copy of them. This CD is great if you just want to play it at parties and want a non stop mix of classic 80's soul/funk but for club or radio DJs it's not really suitable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The who's who of 80's groove mixed in with the rest, 1 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
40 classics packed in (76 + 79 mins). It's a crying shame that the songs have been 'sequenced' - at least I think that's the term for starting the next song before the preceding one has finished. If this is a real put-off then save your money. Worse still the second half of each disc is filler. Perhaps only a dozen tracks worth buying this for - but that's only about one pound each.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 3 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album brought back so many memories, had me dancing around the living room, well worth buying this album, you wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LET THE MUSIC PLAY - I SAY!, 28 Feb. 2004
This is one of those very few albums that contain some of the greatest songs ever made. Classic 1980s tracks including Sister Sledge, Shalamar and Shakatak! Even on the other disc there are great songs too with the likes of Luther Vandross, Evelyn King and Michael Wycoff to have a boogie too! If you like old school music you will love this album, so do yourself a favour and BUY THIS NOW ! ! !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 19 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let The Music Play (Audio CD)
No. B
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Its not in the condition as it claims to be. Do not buy from this seller., 24 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this album for my partner as she loves 80s music, One CD will play ok as there are no marks or scratches on one of the discs, however the other disc CLEARLY has some scratches which will not enabling it to play. Very dissappointed, If I sell ANY product it is definately as it says it is. This is CLEARLY NOT !!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Let the Music Play
Let the Music Play by Let The Music Play (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews