Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite Album Ever
If you never thought heavy rock music could be melodic then you should buy this album and be amazed. From the out and out rock of The Act We Act to the sheer delight of Man In The Moon this album will enthrall and delight. The heavy numbers such as The Slim grow but the instant access numbers such as If I Can't Change Your Mind, Changes, Helpless and Hoover Dam never...
Published on 10 Nov. 2000

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
2 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Err..NOT the best album released by Creation, actually
I wanted to listen to this album for years, since it was rated "Best Album 1992" by the NME on the year of its release - only now (a bit late)have I had the chance - but the NME couldn't have got it more wrong. Obviously, it surfed to Grunge zeitgeist to get its kudos at the time, but the bottom line is that its really not as good as previous reviews have raved about. I'm...
Published on 4 Jan. 2007 by J. Pearce

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great albums og the early 90s, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Copper Blue [VINYL] (Audio CD)
One of the great albums og the early 90s.Great songs written by one of the most underated songwriters of out time.Bob Mould is a great guitarplayer and the production is really tight.Buy with confidence:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best guitar albums ever, 2 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Copper Blue (Audio CD)
This album is one of the most played in my collection. Pure power pop packed full of some of the most imaginative music you will here for a long time too come. Bob Mould is one of the best musicians of our time and this album will go down as most likely his greatest work too date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this CD now and moan to someone who gives a toss if you don't like it!, 24 April 2015
By 
oz (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Copper Blue (Audio CD)
Essential post punk listening. Husker Du inspired Nirvana, when Husker Du folded Bob Mould formed Sugar. This is a tuneful alternative rock album which any self respecting music fan should own. Buy this CD now and moan to someone who gives a toss if you don't like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars well done Mr Mould, 14 Jan. 2015
By 
Peter Giles (Bournemouth,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Copper Blue (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the strength of 'If I could change your mind' - a brilliant track - but there are plenty of other high spots, most noticeably ' Hoover dam'.
Great stuff, especially the guitar work. love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing classic recording., 10 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Copper Blue (Audio CD)
If you're into melancolic, melodic, yet powerful guitar driven pop, this one will blow your head clean off. If Bob Mould (the frontman) would've teamed up with the Pixies, no one else would bother making music anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You haven't heard of 'Copper Blue'?, 24 Mar. 2012
By 
Mr. S. C. Burge "deleted_dvds" (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Copper Blue (Audio CD)
OK, Short and sweet this one. If you've never herad 'Copper Blue' go out and buy it. It's that simple. You'll be kicking yourself for ages wondering how your life was incomplete without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A feast of guitars, 24 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Copper Blue (Audio CD)
I have to admit that I'm largely unfamiliar with Bob Mould's former band Husker Du, so discovering this 1992 album was an unexpected delight. It's mostly heavy rock with crunchy guitars and great tunes.

The Act We Act roars out of the speakers with a great riff and a stomping beat, featuring a soaring guitar solo in the middle. A Good Idea cannot really be discussed without mentioning the Pixies (the beginning of the song imitates Debaser) though it turns into a pretty vital song with a nagging, insistent chorus. Changes follows in a similar vein, as do most of the songs on the album.

Helpless is a standout, with a terrific instant classic sounding guitar riff which you can't believe you haven't heard before. On The Slim, Mould gets ever more desperate in his vocals, bellowing them out towards the end of the song. It's intense and hard to know where to go after this one, but the album changes gears completely after this with the acoustic guitar strum-along If I Can't Change Your Mind, which is probably the poppiest thing on the album.

The album is a feast of guitars, and belongs in anyone's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Play Loud, 15 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Copper Blue (Audio CD)
I know of no other record that should so definately have 'Play Loud' stamped on it in large letters. Played quietly this is, for want of a better term, stadium punk, emotional, pop hook laden guitar songs with a bright, shiny, productution. Played loud and the compressed skree of feedback and harmonics that make up the guitar parts is revealed, a manic shriek of interwoven noise that reveals the inner turmoil contained in lyrics which are by contrast delivered with much less emotion.
Destined to be a lost classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faultless, 5 Aug. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Copper Blue (Audio CD)
Reading the other reviews should have given you a feel for the type of music to expect: lively, emotional, guitar-led pop-punk. Any number of recordings might merit thesame description and some of the praise. So why buy this album? This is the work of someone hitting their peak. If you want to know what it sounds like when a talented musician finds the form of his life - this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock and roll, the way God intended it to be., 24 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Copper Blue (Audio CD)
Buy it. Borrow it. Steal it if you have to. An emotional tour-de-force from a heartbroken, post-divorce grunge genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Copper Blue
Copper Blue by Sugar (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Copper Blue [Deluxe Version]
Copper Blue [Deluxe Version] by Sugar (Audio CD - 2012)
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9)   

Candy Apple Grey
Candy Apple Grey by Hüsker Dü (Audio CD - 1992)
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14)   

Complete Recordings 1992-1995
Complete Recordings 1992-1995 by Sugar (Audio CD - 2014)