Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, if dated, Alan Coren-isms.
Selected examples of Alan Coren's Punch column read by John Bird in the same voice that he now uses to satirise Robert Mugabe. Politically incorrect and, hence, essential listening.
Published on 25 April 2002

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny, for those with a certain sense of humour
It isn't politically correct, even though it's a satire of one of the least politically correct characters. Well worth two or three quid for a few fantastic lines. The Ugandan Weather Forecast is so apt, particularly this year in Britain. You have to have a certain sense of humour for cleverly contructed lines and absurd scenarios as well as an appreciation for the...
Published on 7 Aug 2012 by John


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, if dated, Alan Coren-isms., 25 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Collected Broadcasts Of Idi Amin (Audio CD)
Selected examples of Alan Coren's Punch column read by John Bird in the same voice that he now uses to satirise Robert Mugabe. Politically incorrect and, hence, essential listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still funny, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collected Broadcasts Of Idi Amin (Audio CD)
I bought this back in the 70s on cassette tape and hadn't heard it for probably 30 years. You probably would not get away with it nowadays. Despite the atrocities Amin was responsible for, there is no getting away from it, this is great satire from its age and John Bird's performances as the voice of Idi Amin were brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very UN-PC, 15 Aug 2013
This review is from: Collected Broadcasts Of Idi Amin (Audio CD)
At last I can listen to this again.
My parents have this on vinyl and I have not been able to play it since the record player died and was not replaced.

Is it funny, yes.
Is it PC, hell no.

The best way to get the feel for this album is to listen to the clips.
Trying to describe them, does not do them justice.

Some of the collected bulletins originally from Punch
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collected Broadcasts Of Idi Amin (Audio CD)
Simply hilarious!! heard this first many years ago at college and havent been able to get a copy until now. genuine old school comedy. Pure class!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puttin' De Record Straight, 4 May 2006
By 
Mr. J. J. Percival "sedgemoor" (Hungerford(ish), UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collected Broadcasts Of Idi Amin (Audio CD)
If you don't find this funny you've either had your sense of humour surgically removed, or you're dead, or possibly very senior in the Foreign Office. To hell with political correctness and nanby pamby international dipperlomacy; if you're going to stride the world stage and make an idiot of yourself, we'll make fun of you - that's just the way it goes. Buy it, it'll make you feel better - Promise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dis am the best CD I ever bought, now buy it before I blow your brains out., 16 Mar 2014
By 
Richard L. Mcdonald "RichMc" (cornwall, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collected Broadcasts Of Idi Amin (Audio CD)
Very funny, John Birds Idi Armin impersonations, Did you know Armin died of multiple organ failure? thats what they call syphilis nowerdays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Political incorrectness at its best., 18 Aug 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collected Broadcasts Of Idi Amin (Audio CD)
I bought the ellpee in 1976 and instantly fell in love. The genius of Alan Coren and John Bird was quite obvious. I bought the CD as a gift for a friend. The liner notes were a bonus. The notes displayed the smart/stupid routine of Ali G or Sir Les Patterson or Norman Gunston. In summary, a great buy at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still Outrageous, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collected Broadcasts Of Idi Amin (Audio CD)
I suppose this was always a bit un PC but living in the era of Amin I can appreciate the humour still porported if perhaps a thing of its time and for the pleasure of the older person?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Forgotten Gem, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collected Broadcasts Of Idi Amin (Audio CD)
Many younger people will not remember Idi Amin, but, for those of us who do, John Bird attacked him violently with the weapons of satire and sarcasm. A classic, that i would recommend to anyone, but, particularly those of age 45+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars comedy, 7 Sep 2010
By 
K. P. Trott "book heaven" (chard) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collected Broadcasts Of Idi Amin (Audio CD)
This cd is very good and entertaining .John Bird is very good at imitating Ida Amin making this cd very funny at times .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collected Broadcasts Of Idi Amin
Collected Broadcasts Of Idi Amin by John Bird (Audio CD - 2008)
Click for more info
Sign up to be notified when this item becomes available.
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews