Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection
Whether or not this is the best introduction to Nick Cave I am not the best person to judge. But it’s a great collection of songs and one that has made me want to explore more of Cave’s work.
There is considerable variety to the tracks, not surprising given the album spans a long and ongoing career. Mix P. J. Harvey, Tindersticks, and Tom Waits, add a...
Published on 18 Jan 2004 by Saint Etienne

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars peaky blinders soundtrack
after hearing this soundtrack on the tv series peaky blinders i decided that i must have this c/d for this track alone.nick cave might not be to everyones taste but i think that his other tracks will grow on me the more that i listen to them.
Published 7 months ago by tiera


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection, 18 Jan 2004
This review is from: The Best of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds (Audio CD)
Whether or not this is the best introduction to Nick Cave I am not the best person to judge. But it’s a great collection of songs and one that has made me want to explore more of Cave’s work.
There is considerable variety to the tracks, not surprising given the album spans a long and ongoing career. Mix P. J. Harvey, Tindersticks, and Tom Waits, add a large element of biblical drama, and a touch of new wave, and you may end up with something close to Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds. The songs on this compilation range from lyrical and haunting ballads, to dark and menacing narratives, to tracks with new wave and avant-garde features. Love, death, loss, murder and wrathful deities are the recurring themes. Cave has famously taken inspiration from the Old Testament, and like that great work of literature his songs and musicianship evoke an atmosphere that is, by turns, beautiful and troubling.
There are some outstanding tracks: the stunning, frenzied chant of ‘The Weeping Song’; the gorgeous ‘Straight to You’, ‘Nobody’s Baby Now’ and ‘The Ship Song’; the haunting duets with P. J. Harvey and Kylie Minogue; songs of foreboding like ‘Red Right Hand’, ‘Tupelo’ and ‘The Carny’; and the murderous defiance of ‘The Mercy Seat’.
Overall, this is a tremendous collection, and if you’re new to Nick Cave this seems to me to be a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Genius, 21 Feb 2003
By 
Mr. Warren M. Fisher (East Grinstead, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds (Audio CD)
The perfect introduction to master of the macabre and his merry minstrels. By not programming the tracks chronologically we get a real sense of the scope of Cave's career and also a richer listening experience. From the black power of 'Deanna' and the wonderfully apocalyptic (& my all-time favourite) 'Red Right Hand', right through to the tender heartbreak of 'The Weeping Song'& 'The Ship Song'. Rarely has a songwriter and musician thrilled, chilled and moved with such mephistopholean aplomb.
A poet and troubador for our troubled times, and among the few artists to speak so truly from the heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a superb collection of songs, 22 Oct 2004
This review is from: The Best of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds (Audio CD)
This is an excellent introduction to Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds. Like the Amazon reviewer said, it doesn't have any B-sides or rare live tracks or similar crap that most companies place on other best of albums to make the hardcore fans buy it, even though they already own most of the tracks; this TRULY is the best of Nick Cave, without any BS. Most people know him as the guy who did a duet with Kylie Minogue in the 90s - and that was a great song indeed, but he has done so much more than just that: listen to the likes of The Mercy Seat, The Carny, The Weeping Song, Do You Love Me? ... and you will land on your knees!
There are a few tracks I regret not being on this album like "Papa Won't Leave You Henry" or "Sad Waters", but I guess you just had to make some cuts or else the album would need to be three hours long.
Check this album out, and if you dig it, don't walk, run to the shop and buy the other albums.
- a Nick Cave fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A terrific selection of songs from the great aussie!, 27 May 2006
By 
J. Macdonald "jmacd39" (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds (Audio CD)
1. Deanna 9/10 - Closest to a Birthday Party song, Nick sneers the bizarre lyrics on top of the fast rythms.

2. Red Right Hand 10/10 Classic, slow, ominous tale of deals with Satan.

3. Straight To You 10/10 Only the greatest love song written by Cave (possibly ever!)

4. Tupelo 9/10 Apocalyptic, rumbling hungry like the beast.

5. Nobody's Baby Now 7/10 Over-reliance on religious lyrics but good nonetheless.

6. Stranger Than Kindness 8/10 Ethereal thrasher later inverted for Murder Ballads.

7. Into My Arms 10/10 Slow, simple, but deeply emotional and beautiful.

8. Are You The One I've Been Waiting For 9/10 Haunting, melodic heartfelt love song

9. Carny 10/10 One of the creepiest songs ever, do not listen to in the dark.

10. Do You Love Me 8/10 Aggressive, brutal love song.

11. Mercy Seat 11/10 One of the greatest songs ever, undescribable.

12. Henry Lee 8/10 Dark and affecting tale of murder with PJ Harvey.

13. Weeping Song 8/10 Mellow, ethereal and operatic.

14. Ship Song 9/10 Also mellow etheral and operatic, but more.

15. Where The Wild Roses Grow 10/10 Very dark, but very beautiful fable of murderous desire with Kylie Minogue.

16. From Here To Eternity 8/10 Burning away the last remnants of the demonic power of the Birthday Party.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Superb, 6 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds (Audio CD)
Listening to this CD you become aware that Nick Cave is a very strange man indeed. For over 16 tracks (not in chronological order and structured to work brilliantly as an album rather than a 'hits' collection, Cave manages to include the crazed yet coherent ramblings of a serial killer (the brilliant and compelling "Mercy Seat"), the manic ramblings of a Southern Preacher ("Tupelo") and three of the most beautiful love songs ever created ("The Ship Song", "Are You The One I've Been Waiting For?" and "Straight To You"). If you are unfamiliar with Cave, it is worth pointing out that his love songs don't exactly retread old cliches. For example, "Straight To You" speaks of love in terms of an apocalypse.
This might sound odd but, while many acts evoke the sweet hearts & flowers of teen dream love, nobody is quite like Cave in reflecting the chaos, pain, despair and all-encompassing beauty that love can bring.
If you want an introduction into the work of someone I'd call a true cult genius (and I hate to use that word) then buy this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Intro to Nick Caves and the Bad seeds, 7 Jun 2009
By 
B. Ryan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds (Audio CD)
I had only heard the odd nick cave & bad seeds songs and had enjoyed them. Decided to go for the best of as it had the songs I knew on and I figured it would give me a better idea of what they are like.

Really enjoyed the album, would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the baddest (9/10), 8 Mar 2008
This review is from: The Best of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds (Audio CD)
I am no Nick Cave afficianado but it seems the man is making a real come-back into the critical consciousness with his most recent album, Dig!!! Lazurus Dig!!! Of course, critical trends mean almost nothing, and if this excellent compliation tells us anything, it's that Cave has been writing strange and powerful music for three decades. What is nice about this Best Of is that there is no contemporaneous filler - no bonus tracks or live outtakes - used to market the CD. The selection - though always debateable on artists who have had such a rich discography - seems representative (if not totally comprehensive) of their best work.

While Cave and the Bad Seeds have continued to release bold and challenging music in the new millennium, this compilation is a great introduction to their work before. It encompasses their raw, earlier punk-flavoured work ('Deanna'), through some of their expansive and experimental pieces ('The Carny') and generous helpings of Cave's doom-laden balladry ('Into My Arms', 'Nobody's Baby Now'). It shows both Cave's comic side, his romantic persona and the gothic-cinematic melodrama of tracks from the fantastic 'Let Love In' (although sadly that album's wonderful title track is not included). A latter day Leonard Cohen, Cave is a poet with an irreverent punk spirit - a unique artist when so much modern music lacks true identity and authenticity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent place to start., 14 Jan 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds (Audio CD)
To be honest, a "Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds" greatest hits album should contain at least 3 Cd's, for much of Cave's finest work is mising from this collection. Still, you can't please everyone all the time.
What this album does do, is provide us with a fine introduction to the man that can only be described as a genius. It probably helps that the songs are not in chronological order, so we get a clear picture of what the man and his music are all about.
So if you are unfamiliar with Nick Cave, this is an excellent place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars peaky blinders soundtrack, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds (Audio CD)
after hearing this soundtrack on the tv series peaky blinders i decided that i must have this c/d for this track alone.nick cave might not be to everyones taste but i think that his other tracks will grow on me the more that i listen to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Nick Cave, 3 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds (Audio CD)
Excellent CD so many really good tracks. Delivered very quickly and worth every penny I would recommend to any one who enjoys Nick Caves music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds
The Best of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds by Nick Cave (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews