Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beast Triumphant
Why has nobody ever said anything here about "The Beast Inside"? It's arguably the Inspirals' finest work - a dark and brooding second studio effort. Even after thirteen years (and counting), the title track still makes me feel all melancholy, whereas "Niagara" is simply beautiful. It may not contain the 'hits' of "Life", or indeed the perfected 'rock' of "Revenge of the...
Published on 14 Aug. 2004 by Damon T. Nash

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Of their time. If you don't know them it's ...
Of their time. If you don't know them it's not for you.
Published 7 months ago by Raymond O'Donnell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beast Triumphant, 14 Aug. 2004
By 
Damon T. Nash "damontorsten" (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beast Inside (Audio CD)
Why has nobody ever said anything here about "The Beast Inside"? It's arguably the Inspirals' finest work - a dark and brooding second studio effort. Even after thirteen years (and counting), the title track still makes me feel all melancholy, whereas "Niagara" is simply beautiful. It may not contain the 'hits' of "Life", or indeed the perfected 'rock' of "Revenge of the Goldfish", but it's nothing short of a masterpiece. An overlooked classic indeed. I thoroughly love it, and who knows - maybe you might too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a weak track on it - Excellent, 14 May 2009
By 
N. Thompson "Beaker" (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beast Inside (Audio CD)
Inspiral Carpets albums were always a mixed bag, but this haunting album is easily the best of the bunch. With swirling keyboards great guitar's and intelligent lyrics this is a cut above the rest.

Id like to call this album a "forgotten classic" but truth be told it was a fairly ignored album at the time but music critics have always under rated this fine Manchester band so there is no suprise there.

This is head and shoulders above anything the Inspiral Carpets did before or afterwards. A great album without one single weak track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The beast Inside, 21 Jun. 2011
This review is from: The Beast Inside (Audio CD)
I was a big fan of these back in the day, and bought this as I'd lost my original copy and not heard it since 1992!

Obviously a little dated in parts, but some tracks still sound great - 'Caravan' takes me back to summer 1992 when everything was sunny and care-free (or so it seemed!).

Very different to other Inspiral albums, darker and more experimental with less humour than the later stuff, but still cool as f**k!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the best inside, 8 May 2011
This review is from: The Beast Inside (Audio CD)
this served as my intro to the band and i was captivated by the sound, unable to compare it to anything else. very catchy tunes with accessible lyrics and wide range. still listening and enjoying in 2011. further away..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The beautiful beast, 13 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beast Inside (Audio CD)
Dark, brooding album that starts with the fast-paced 'Caravan' then drifts into darkness all the way to the haunting 'Dreams are all we have'. A much overlooked album back in 1991 despite never having a dull moment, whether in the title track or the 13 minute epic that is 'Further Away'. The Inspirals were always a bit different, and this is probably the most different of the albums they produced twenty-odd years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Beast Inside, 9 Mar. 2012
By 
S. NAKONECZNYJ (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beast Inside (Audio CD)
Great album... I missed out on the whole 90's Madchester thing, due to looking after kids, and am now making up for lost time. I already bought Life by the Inspirals, and this was a great addition to my ever expanding collection...great music, written on my doorstep (I live in Oldham)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not their best album but still worthy of a four star rating., 16 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beast Inside (Audio CD)
A much darker follow up to their debut album Life. Perhaps they lost their way a little bit trying to develop their sound, but still a great listen with some real gems on here. With their albums The Inspirals prove they are so much more than a band who knocked out decent singles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Of their time. If you don't know them it's ..., 30 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beast Inside (Audio CD)
Of their time. If you don't know them it's not for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good band, 30 Sept. 2014
This review is from: The Beast Inside (Audio CD)
Inspirals we're always great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beast Inside (Audio CD)
Superb album full of sound .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beast Inside
The Beast Inside by Inspiral Carpets (Audio CD - 1991)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 11 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews