Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The holy grail of alternative rock
This is one of the best albums ever made, one of those rare albums where every track is killer, one of those rare albums where you think how the hell can an artist record perfection like this. I cannot recommend this enough. This isn't just a 5 star album it is musical genius. Fact. If you want to buy a Pixies album, this is the one. If you want to buy an alternative rock...
Published on 31 Jan 2008 by Thomas A. Johnson

versus
3 of 53 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars pixies go soft rock
Stunningly over-rated.
Following the astonishingly twisted and furious C'mon Pilgrim and Surfer Rosa, they mellowed out badly with MOR tunes like "wave of multilation" and "monkey gone to heaven" - great titles but they'd gone soft by this point.
Published on 1 July 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic album, reborn., 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doolittle [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is a stereo remaster version of the classic 1989 Pixies album "Doolittle", on vinyl. I'd recommend this to anyone who used to, or does own this on vinyl (but perhaps it's a little old and clicky!), or to anyone that collects vinyl with a love for classic and great rock albums, this is a must have in your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite albums ever, 4 Aug 2012
This review is from: Doolittle (Audio CD)
It's easy to think that an album which is praised so often must be overrated, but in my opinion this is one of the best albums of all time (as well as having led the way for many other favourite albums of mine, e.g. Rid of Me, In Utero and OK Computer).
One of the main things that is noticeable about this album is the fact that it has a timeless quality and doesn't sound dated whatsoever. As well as the fantastic musicianship of all four of the band members, Black Francis' very unique voice is one of the best elements of this album.
Standout tracks: Hey, Tame & Gouge Away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dolittle, 2 Mar 2012
This review is from: Doolittle (Audio CD)
Some manage to overlook this magnificent Pixies album, forgetting that it is a cross between their crazy schizoid early albums and artsy tuneful later work. It's perfect in that regard. Kim Deal and Black Francis collaborated on most of these great tunes, and the result is best described in the first track, "Debaser". It's a great song, it's insanely catchy, *and* it convinced to watch `Un Chien Andalou'. I owe that song a lot.

The other tracks are just as great, like "Wave of Mutilation", "Here Comes Your Man" (with one of the most infectious basslines I have ever heard), "I Bleed", "Hey" and "Monkey Gone To Heaven". Man, they were on a roll back then. This album has come to epitomize everything good about the 90s, and it's an influence to countless other bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Pixies album, 13 Oct 2011
By 
Koala (Southampton, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doolittle (Audio CD)
This is an album which shows how to make great musicianship and interesting songwriting look trivially easy. This seems to be a band that great music just happens around - no great agonising or soul-searching required - just put these guys in a room together like a bunch of highly-reactive chemicals and wait for the chemistry to happen! It's albums like this that make an argument for why people who get on well together should not be allowed to form bands. The ever present tension and ego-clashing of this band is part of what makes it so great, and the sense that they're constantly trying to outdo each other and to grab their own niche. Francis and Kim never sound like they're cooperating, although they're clearly working towards the same ends, but each acting independently as if the presence of the other is quite incidental and of very little interest. This band has one of those classic line-ups that you think of when you think of bands and the turmoil and greatness that they can achieve. As I said in my review of Surfer Rosa, great as some of the songs are, I think they are secondary to the overall experience and phenomenon that is (the?) Pixies. It's not surprising that people don't attempt to cover these songs very often, because the personalities of the people who created them are written so strongly into their DNA. I find it hard to imagine a Pixies cover working whoever did it. I doubt even Johnny Cash could pull off a Pixies cover! Anyway, I realise I haven't gone into many specifics about the album (again!). I'm just trying to emphasise the things I feel are really important about this band, so that you'll listen to them and get it for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pixies, doolittle album, 22 Dec 2010
This review is from: Doolittle (Audio CD)
This album brings a rush of memories from my days as a young youth hanging out in are local pub,this album was always being played. Its a great trip back to one of so many great bands of that time and a album everyone should have just to put on a blow away the cobwebs.enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Slicing up eyeballs ho ,ho ,ho ho", 6 Dec 2008
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doolittle (Audio CD)
I keep banging on about what a good year 1989 was for albums(The Blue Niles Hats, The Stone Roses debut etc) .If anyone requires further proof April 1989 saw the release of the Pixies 3rd album ( though Wikipedia lists it as their second ) Doolittle.
Opting for a more commercial cleaner sounding album than their previous efforts-Surfer Rosa & Come on Pilgrim - the band , at the behest of 4AD label head Ivo-Watts Russell , had taken on Gil Norton as producer . The relationship was,nt exactly a meeting of like minded individuals with Norton's more considered analytical approach jarring with Black Francis,s more off the cuff spontaneous way of recording . Norton wanted to add verses and lengthen several of the songs and this culminated in Francis taking him to a record store and showing him a Buddy Holly album where all the songs are around two minutes long, the inference being if it,s good enough for Buddy Holly......
However fractious the recording process might have been( tensions also rose between Francis and Kim Deal although they did co-write "Silver") the end results speak for themselves. An incredibly dynamic mix of the trademark Pixies sound of temperamental guitars augmenting quiet/loud interludes on tracks like "Tame" and "Crackity Jones" with out and out pop moments like "La La Love You"( sung by drummer Dave Lovering ) or an incandescent melding of both like on "Debaser" Doolittle is,nt as paroxysmal or furious as Surfer Rosa or Come On Pilgrim but in terms of song writing craft it is a step forward.
For a start the band expanded their trademark sound of lacerating guitars adding cello,s and violins to the portentous "Monkey Gone To Heaven" ( the first single released off the album and still one of the songs containing the finest example of the Black Francis scream - "Then god is seven ") while the eerie "Silver" incorporates slide guitar. There is also the heavy breathy arrangement on "I Bleed" and the sheer infectious pop and surf guitar of "Here Comes Your Man". Where "Wave Of Mutilation" belies it,s title by being an addictive catchy pop song "Gouge Away" lives up to its title with it,s flailing guitars and juddering bass and percussive spine.
Thematically the album again veers all over the place . "Debaser" alludes to surrealism with references to Salvador Dali,s 1928 film "Un Chien Andalou / L'Age d'Or [1929] via "Slicing up eyeballs" . There are biblical allusions in "Monkey Gone To Heaven "( which is actually about environmental catastrophe and as Francis puts it" mans relationship with the divine"- along with "Mr Grieves") and "Dead" (David and Bathsheba) and "Gouge Away" (Samson and Delilah) while other songs are just about weird subjective experiences like "Crackity Jones" which is about a roommate of Black Francis on a student exchange trip.
In a year for great albums Doolittle did extremely well in those end of the year poll things coming second in both Sounds and Melody Makers and fourth in the N.M.E. And it deserved to . It,s a truly great rock album . It may eschew the spleen bursting momentum and razor edged bursts of their previous albums but it still has enough of their vitality -that scream and Joey Santiago,s wrist slashing or glass shattering peels of guitar - to still be implicitly The Pixies , yet it also has a melodic edge that makes it simply, thrillingly enjoyable . Slicing up eyeballs ho , ho , ho, ho indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor will see you now!!!, 27 Nov 2008
By 
N. Cannon (UK, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doolittle (Audio CD)
A stone cold classic, what? nearly 20 years ago now!!! still sounds fresh, edgy, thrilling and perfect, all these years later!
I was lucky enough to see them in 1990 When they were at the very peak of their powers, Doolittle was the pinnacle of their recorded work, not a duff track to speak of, the tone set by one of the top 10 album openers ever, "Debaser", the rest of the album skips along at a thrilling pace, catchy riffs, Frank Black's wail, Kim Deals propelling bass, Dave Loverings funky drumming, and Joey Santiago's unique guitar riffage! The album has abarbed wire exterior, but a pure pop heart, and it's this which will bring you back, time and time again.
Forget most of the dross masquerading as "indie" these days, this is the place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 5 Jan 2008
This review is from: Doolittle (Audio CD)
Without doubt this truly is a classic. I first heard doolittle when i was a teenager at a student party and it blew me away, i went out and bought it the very next day. The songs here are amazing, from the incredible screaming 'Debaser' to the hypnotic 'hey', you will not believe that songs like this were possible. A true work of genius, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The finest alternative album available, 3 Nov 2007
This review is from: Doolittle (Audio CD)
Every song is very different here, that's the best thing abou the Pixies, they never created two songs that sounded alike and were full of innovative ideas. yes, the production sounds dated and not all the songs are classics. But it's still a masterpiece crammed with quality songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 18 Dec 2003
This review is from: Doolittle (Audio CD)
I have to add my review to the others here out of sheer enthusiasm for this disc. The album represents a veritable explosion of creativity. It is an absolute must for anyone's alt-rock collection or, indeed, any kind of music collection. Its resonance can be felt through the grunge that followed on to bands like the Smashing Pumpkins etc. With surreal lyrics and thumping rock, the more you listen the more you love. Brilliant. Timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doolittle
Doolittle by Pixies (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews