Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let's take the motorway..., 9 Jan 2007
This review is from: Trompe Le Monde (Audio CD)
The Pixies were an unusual band. They have been named as one of the most influential bands of all time yet, like the Beatles, no one actually honestly sounds like they did. A unique prospect, many would argue. And this album came at the end of their natural life, in 1991 - the same year as Kurt Cobain's Nevermind - and again showed the world what a few misfits and geeks from MIT in Boston, Mass. could do with some guitars, a penchant for Spanish and aliens, and the most frantic frontman of the era.

Songs as strong as 'Alec Eiffel' (a song about the designer of the Eiffel tower - 'He thought big and they called it a phallic little eiffel'), 'Bird Dream of the Olympus Mons' ( a song about the highest mountain/volcano in the Solar System, found on Mars) and 'Motorway to Roswell' ( a song about an alien) cannot help but make this album one of the most amazing slices of punk-fuzz-pop ever heard, and I would recommend it heartily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pixies-trompe le monde, 25 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Trompe Le Monde (Audio CD)
Over the past years it seems the pixies are always mentioned as "very influential" etc. Yet many critics simply wrote(and continue to write off) trompe le monde as the weakest album. It is my humble opinion that anyone who actually listens to this album will be impressed beyond recognition. Who gives a toss if Charles/Frank/Black(or whatever else he decides to call himself) sings about UFOs and Mexicans, the end result is pure genius resulting in an extremely gifted songwriter approaching the peak of his career. At the end of it all I defy anyone to knock someone who can pull off singing a line like "oh alexander i see you beneath the archway of aerodynamics".
Buy it, you wont hear better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All good, 19 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Trompe Le Monde (Audio CD)
It took 10 years for me to "get" Trompe Le Monde, but when I did, I realised that this work of celestial genius could well be the Pixies' best. Their previous albums are faultless, but TLM distills all the various elements that made up their sound, reinterprets them yet again, and blows your mind with its creativity and energy.
It's definitely an album that needs time to sink in, but it will reward the effort thanks to layer after layer of imaginative songwriting and incredible musicianship from all four members of the band. There is such subtlety and detail in the drumming and the bass lines that you can listen over and over and discover new sounds each time.
Apart from the Pixies, I cannot think of a band that invests so much energy into their songs. The first six songs just belt out a relentless stream of Pixie noise, but it's impossible not to scream along with these catchy songs, with a huge grin on your face.
Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brave and brilliant...TLM is a masterpiece., 5 Feb 2005
This review is from: Trompe Le Monde (Audio CD)
Trompe le Monde is an aquired taste. Everyone's first Guiness tastes...well...afull, but matures to be exquisite. TLM goes beyond this sensation; it dazzles. An early NME journo accurately described it as 'a wall of noise with pockets of genius'. There are moments of appaling musical grime but, emerging from the ruins, come melody to which even John & Paul would nod their approval. Persevere, and this album will make your vocal chords strain as you sing 'Palace of the Brine' on the way home from work. History will shine most brightly on Trompe le Monde.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their very best, 20 Mar 2000
This review is from: Trompe Le Monde (Audio CD)
The best album from one of the greatest guitar bands ever. Every single track is excellent, but it would be worth getting for 'Subbacultcha' alone. Everybody talks about their influence on Nirvana, but the Pixies blow Kurt and chums out of the water. An essential piece of plastic; buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loud, charming, comic, sad... a beautiful album., 7 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Trompe Le Monde (Audio CD)
All I can say is that anyone who hasn't got this album in their collection needs their head reading. Who could resist the ferocity of "Sad punk", the beauty of "Bird dream of the olympus mons", the poignancy of "Letter to Memphis" and the weird but wonderful "The Navajo know"? As a reviewer once commented "Sounds like he is screaming like a flying saucer had stole his kid sister". This is more than meer noise though, it is the foundation of the nineties rock scene. The freak big brother of Nirvana's "nevermind". buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 22 Oct 2007
By 
S. fraser "silverman" (boro uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trompe Le Monde (Audio CD)
fantastic album...the weird subject matter of the songs coupled with the almost poppy hooklines and awesome at times heavy guitar playing makes this one of my alltime favourite 'guitar albums' and certainly up there with the soft bulletin as one of the best albums of the nineties
check out 'planet of sound' it still blows my head off every time i hear it even after all these years - i nearly crashed my car when i 1st heard it on the radio....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I thouht this was supposed to be the least good Pixies album?, 10 April 2010
By 
Martin (Sunny Surrey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trompe Le Monde (Audio CD)
I remember this album coming out to less than good reviews although I always rather liked it,particularly after attending the fabledgig at the Brixton Academy(still got the ticket).I'd never heard so many songs before in one set.
Nice to see al the other reviews agree that this is as good as all the other Pixies albums.
Just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars years on, this is the Pixies album that really stands out, 11 July 2001
By 
This review is from: Trompe Le Monde (Audio CD)
Surfer Rosa will remain a classic, but Trompe Le Monde completes a logical progression through the Pixies material. It takes everything just one stage further (to '11', in Spinal Tap terms!). This is more rock. It's more sci-fi. It's more surf. It's just more PIXIES.
A split after this makes artistic sense, if not monetary. This is the Pixies formula pushed to the max. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great album great band, 18 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Trompe Le Monde (Vinyl)
"Trompe Le Monde" was actually the last Pixies album of original material prior to Frank Black leaving them to go solo. It seem as if almost every Pixies fan has a different favourite album by the band (I know many people who feel that this is their best work, but I feel that "Bossa Nova" is). Overall the album is still great though and is filled with the sort of rock that has made the band one of the highest regarded bands of all time. The highlights of their last album include "Letter To Memphis", "Palace Of The Brine", "Head On", "Sad Punk" and "Lovely Day". Overall it's a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trompe Le Monde
Trompe Le Monde by Pixies (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews