Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute belter !!!!
I bought it the week it was released back in '94 in my student days. I loved it right from the start and with each play it just sounded better. My favourite track is No Good (Start the Dance). How many nights did I spend on the dance floor in the Union sweating like a pig to that track?. I do like modern dance music but there's nothing like the power and agression of the...
Published on 13 Feb 2002

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the prodigy:music for the jilted generation
i bought this in the hope that it would fulfill my desire to include it in my top 100 albums to have. I think i need to listen to it several times before i make a judgement since it wasn't quite what i expected it to be. At first hearing it sounded a bit dated and harsh sounding....but i reserve judgement.
Published 20 months ago by Nala Scoorb


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute belter !!!!, 13 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Music For The Jilted Generation (Audio CD)
I bought it the week it was released back in '94 in my student days. I loved it right from the start and with each play it just sounded better. My favourite track is No Good (Start the Dance). How many nights did I spend on the dance floor in the Union sweating like a pig to that track?. I do like modern dance music but there's nothing like the power and agression of the Prodigy to give my speakers a good work-out and take me down memory lane to the days when I was so skint I had to make a pint last at least 2 hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pioneering foray into the underground, 29 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Music For The Jilted Generation (Audio CD)
Music For The Jilted Generation was the near perfect follow up to 1991's The Prodigy Experience. Released in 1994, it was unfortunately lumbered as being 'The Anti - Criminal Justice Bill' album. With tracks that hinted at anti autoritarianism, and criminal activities in general (Bugalry, Joyriding/Speeding, Drugs and the rocking 'Their Law', an anti police anthem, the likes of which have not been seen since NWA's heyday with F**k Tha' Police) the album bounds along at breakneck speed. Described by many as a concept album for the 90's, it will forever live in the memories of those who remember how pioneering it was upon its release. The multi faceted beats interconnect with the fascinatingly well manipulated samples perfectly and in total harmony. Layer upon layer of sound bombards your ear drums as you are taken on the ride of your life. You should have bought this album yesterday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive edition, 18 Aug 2008
By 
G. Easton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When I first listened to Music for the Jilted Generation in 1994 it was unlike any album I had ever heard. 14 years later there is still nothing which comes close to the intensity, aggression and dark cinematic vision which is contained in every second of this record.

This edition has been remastered and and comes with a second CD of exclusive remixes and live tracks. For me the second CD is a bonus the real excitement came from realising the remastering was far from a gimmick. The album has a new polish which takes it to an even higher intensity of listening. Minor details now leap out with incredible clarity and sparkle with the overall sounds capes feeling even richer and more vibrant than before.

Additionally in the 1994 version of the album the intro to the song "The Heat the Energy" was tagged onto the back of the preceding song "speedway". This was an interesting idea but thankfully the track start point has been edited for this edition and the intro is now part of the main song.

This version of the album only compounds my love for it and seals it as the most original and compelling record I have ever heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prodigy becoming grown up., 18 July 2000
This review is from: Music For The Jilted Generation (Audio CD)
Music For the Jilted Generation shows a transition from the quirky all out dance sounds of their first album Experience (ie "Charly", "Wind It Up") to the deep angst big beats of Fat Of the Land. The last four tracks, starting with "One Love" seem to go back to the influences of their previous album. While "Voodoo People", "No Good" and especially "Poison" show where they were headed. So where are the weaknesses that usually occur when artists change their technique/style? There are none, this is a perfect and thoroughly enjoyable album made better all the better by the variation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the best...album in the world ever., 13 Sep 2000
By 
Nick F Johnson (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Music For The Jilted Generation (Audio CD)
More brilliant than ever after four years. I came late to this album, unaware of its commercial success. It's now more than six years old, and easily outshines any dance album of today in its variety and depth. Unlike Experience and The Fat of the Land, every piece is a soundtrack to a distinct and moving theme. Aggressive and heavy, chill and spaced-out, and funky all at the same time and with catchy yet subtle samples to entertain further. I am frequently hooked on a particular track for the umpteenth time as a rhythm or melody leaps out to present a new angle to listening.
After so much exposure to 'Jilted', I now find virtually all club music dull, simplistic and repetitive. If it was all put together with such style and finesse, the world would be a more inspired and intelligent place.
If you only ever buy one 'dance' album , buy this one. It's probably all you'll ever need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning: a modern classic, 4 Dec 1999
This review is from: Music For The Jilted Generation (Audio CD)
OK, OK, describing the music of Prodigy as 'a modern classic' may not be the kind of image that most people expect. However, the tracks on this album are stunning. The music evolves and flows, you can tell there has been some real though behind the creation and development of each piece.
Fat of the land was a great album but nothing compared to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music for the Jilted Generation, 6 July 2008
This review is from: Music For The Jilted Generation (Audio CD)
absolutely superb.... grabs you by the ********, and never lets you go..... an awesome achievement.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to get a speeding ticket........., 4 Sep 2007
By 
N. E. Fountain "bluecrow" (Hertfordshire, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Music For The Jilted Generation (Audio CD)
My first recommendation is to NOT drive to this album as you will become so high on the beats, you get done for speeding. I got this album after seeing 'stop the dance' video on MTV (ah back in the day)

case study 1: I remember cycling with this on my walkman (no mp3 or cd walkmans - tape). I remember getting to the destination alot quicker than normal.

case study 2: My friend was instucting an aqua aerobics class and used this album. Slow gentle movements replaced by fast ones, pumping the air.. next day could barely move. Now that's a work out!

What do you need to know. This album, this group is the sound of the 90's. The sound of the underground rave scene, the sound of the protest movement, the sound of those disaffected people fighting society to be able to live their lives, their way.. and f*k them and their law sums this up a treat. The inside album cover tells this story..

Not listened to Jilted for about 8 years (I have it on now) and bugger me, it's still as good today as it was then. Buy it if you like the Prodigy - you will love it. Much better than Fat. Prepared to be bouncing around like a nutter...

Stop the dance, voodoo people, poison, one love.. 3 kilos! It's the sound of my generation...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finest Hour, 19 Feb 2004
By 
D. Moss "systemj" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Music For The Jilted Generation (Audio CD)
The second Prodigy album, following on from the original Experience, showed that Liam Howlett had outgrown the crowd-pleasing rave that people previously associated with The Prodigy. Moving away from the toy-town simplicity of Charly was a brave move, but one that paid off. With such a varied collection of tracks on display here, it doesn't seem fair to generalise, so I won't.
1. Intro- As you'd expect, there is little point to it, but the Intro to Jilted contains a clear message- the Prodigy were going back underground.
2. Break & Enter- The last link to Experience, B&A sounds the closest to any of the early Prodigy records, but it's a much more sophisticated beast, slower and more refined, and without the cheesiness.
3. Their Law- Clearly forshadowing the direction the Prodigy were to go, Their Law is an anarchist anthem that puts a middle finger up to definition. Hard rock riffs, a cracking bassline and some excellent vocals: "F**k em, and their law". I'm not sure what genre of music this goes under, but I do know it's one hell of a tune.
4. Full Throttle- Filler, pure and simple. Howlett probably knocked this one out in five minutes, and it seems like an unhealthy throwback compared to the next track.
5. Voodoo People- The highlight of the entire album, and possibly of the entire Prodigy career. Imagine a hardcore record, but with heavy metal guitar riffs, strong acid sounds and the most killer beat you could imagine and you're almost there. The hardest Prodigy single, filled with aggression and rhythmn.
6. Speedway (Theme From Fastlane)- Prog house? Hardcore? Trance? Once again, its impossible to classify this one, but it sticks largely to 4/4 beats. One of my favourite Prodigy tracks, and I feel one of the most under-rated.
7. The Heat (The Energy)- Quite similar to Break & Enter, with another massive break-beat. Not the most stand-out track on the album.
8. Poison- One thing the Prodigy always do well is intros, and I'll not spoil this one for you, but take my advice and play it loud. This was the forerunner to the big-beat sound they started to adopt, and sounds the most like it could be on The Fat of The Land. Another great track with some warped vocals.
9. No Good (Start the Dance)- Easily the most straightforward record on the whole album, No Good is straight up hardcore, but hardcore that is fifty times better than your average hardcore track. A dance anthem that probably kept the Prodigy tied to the club scene more strongly than they otherwise would be.
10. One Love (Edit)- This one didn't make the American issue of the album, and Howlett was very unhappy with it, as he felt it didn't fit in with the album he was writing. While it's certainly true that it doesn't seem to fit in with the evolution of the Prodigy, its still a damn fine instrumental hardcore record.
11. 3 Kilos- The Narcotic Suite opening track certainly sounds like the soundtrack to a drug trip, with its slow, rolling piano melody, swirly synths and infectious flute. Very good chill-out music, but may dissapoint many Prodigy fans.
12. Skylined- A bit of a throw away track, but again, effective chill-out music.
13. Claustrophobic Sting- Scary acid-house that makes full use of that dance miracle- the 303. I love this one, as it is a damn hard record.
What does all this mean? I'd say the best Prodigy album to date, as it is more experimental and more dancey than FOTL, and nowhere near as dated as Experience. Newcomers to The Prodigy are recommended to start here, as it leaves the gateway open both to their new, more pop sound, and also their old-skool stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Music!, 28 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music For The Jilted Generation (Audio CD)
Almost 20 years old and still brilliant! Generaly the entire album is great and the track order is good, although there are some tracks that realy shine including 'Voodoo People', 'Poison' and 'No Good'. 'Full Throttle' and 'The Heat' I found were not realy that interesting but they aren't bad enough to stop me listening to this album and it shouldn't be for you either. If you are into dancing to electronic music then I strongly reccomend this CD as some of the tracks are truly incredible to move to and will have you on the dance floor in no time. The 'Narcotic Suite' section at the end of the album is actualy a great distraction from The Prodigy's normal music and like its name suggests is truly mesmerising with 'Skylined' that sounds a bit like some of Jean Michele Jarre's Oxygene. Altogether a great album that still sounds fresh and new even after 20 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Music For The Jilted Generation
Music For The Jilted Generation by The Prodigy (Audio CD - 2036)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews