Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's a good singer (And they're a good band)
Am I the only one who loved this album??? I found this album to be a grand follow up to 'The It Girl'. It's obviously more mature but the style is there and so is the quality of songs.
Personally, 'Smart' didn't do a lot for me. 'The it Girl' is better than that album because they get more creative with melodies and their songs become more interesting. If you...
Published on 10 May 2001 by Adam

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Such an inbetweener!
Its was easy to see why this album did not live up to the success of the first 2.

Mainly it was rushed, and the lyrics and songs suffer.

Funnily enough though, its by far my favourite Sleeper album believe it or not. It has a much darker sound to it than the others - but it doesn't matter because its a good change really. However album sales did not...
Published 1 month ago by Jonathan M


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's a good singer (And they're a good band), 10 May 2001
This review is from: Pleased To Meet You (Audio CD)
Am I the only one who loved this album??? I found this album to be a grand follow up to 'The It Girl'. It's obviously more mature but the style is there and so is the quality of songs.
Personally, 'Smart' didn't do a lot for me. 'The it Girl' is better than that album because they get more creative with melodies and their songs become more interesting. If you agree with me, then I am sure you will love 'Pleased To Meet You'. It's seriously worth the Pounds for 'Please Please Please, You Got Me, Breathe, and to mention the two wonderful singles, SAGG and RM.
It's a damn shame that these guys aren't around anymore, but this album is a marvelous ending to a wonderful band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Such a pity there were only three albums., 16 Oct. 2010
By 
This review is from: Pleased To Meet You (Audio CD)
To this day I am still at a loss as to why Sleeper only produced three studio albums. Along with Elastica (another band who went away too soon) Sleeper led the charge for female fronting bands to emerge from the UK in the 90's.

I first heard Smart in 1996 and within a year or so after falling in love with the sound The It Girl appeared and despite it's catchy gleen it was probly too pop friendly for my ears.

With Pleased To Meet You, Sleeper went back to their roots and this is perhaps why they were not offered a chance to make record number four. There is a dense indie sound to this record that resonates with every listen. The album doesn't fade in quality with repeated listens and this is a rare gift for bands.

For those wanting more of the same from The It Girl you may want to think twice. However those who like Smart and are avid Sleeper fans then this is a record you will love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Such an inbetweener!, 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pleased To Meet You (Audio CD)
Its was easy to see why this album did not live up to the success of the first 2.

Mainly it was rushed, and the lyrics and songs suffer.

Funnily enough though, its by far my favourite Sleeper album believe it or not. It has a much darker sound to it than the others - but it doesn't matter because its a good change really. However album sales did not take kindly to it, sad really, its not as a bad as you might think.

It falls into the same thing other bands around this time releasing albums did, Echobelly - Lustra, Blur the self titled album, Oasis Be Here Now, Supergrass In it for the money - still good songs and albums but not quite up to the dizzy expectation you might expect to a follow up of such high expectations.

Who knows they might make another album soon....I bet you they will. Looking forward to it really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Last and least!, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pleased To Meet You (Audio CD)
As a teen i loved, loved Sleeper! Their previous albums-Smart & The It Girl were great sub Blur observations on 90's Brit life, with sharp tunes and sharper/ snarkier lyrics. Whilst this third output sounds way more accomplished, the catchiness has been sacrificied for a more mature sound. Allegedly, singer, Louise Wener went to a voice coach, after many criticisms of her rather papery thin voice. Sadly, her newfound vocal confidence reduces some great tunes to leaden, mid paced anthems, that may have previously been belted out at double quick time as spiky, punk pop hits. Other than that, if you give into the "mature" sound- enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They were slowing down, 28 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pleased To Meet You (Audio CD)
This album, compared to the magnificence of "The it Girl" and "Smart", is lacking something. Maybe that's why Sleeper are no more. But it still contains some wonderful tunes, and deserves a listen: the track "Romeo Me" alone makes up for the two or three rather mediocre tracks. If you loved the other albums (like I did), you'll appreciate this one. Just not as much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars She Was A Very Good Girl, 5 May 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pleased To Meet You (Audio CD)
I was a huge Sleeper fan and a Louise Wener fanatic ! However after the fantastic Smart and the reasonable follow up The It Girl, album number three sadly failed to deliver. It lacks the sparkly indie pop tunes of the debut and the lyrics are not a patch on the previous two albums. "Please Please Please" is a drab tune which drones on without ever getting going. Thankfully "She's a good girl" comes to the rescue and we are back to classic Sleeper and a sing along chorus. It is a real shame that the other tracks fail to match the strength of this tune. "Rollercoaster" and "Miss You" have nothing to grab the listener's attention and it is only a much needed change of tempo that makes "Romeo Me" seem half decent. The Beatle-esque "Breathe" has a slight touch of Beetlebum and is one of the most interesting pieces of music on the album. For me it is the best track here. "You got Me" and "Superclean" are solid tunes while "Firecracker" demands to be skipped. "Because of You" is a great tune which highlights the beauty of Louise's voice. Then comes "Nothing is Changing" which is a real shock sounding so unlike any other Sleeper track. Compare this to anything on the debut and you realise how far the band have come. It's a dark acoustic number backed up with strings and is another of the album's few highlights. Finally there is the insipid "Motorway Man" and the album closer "Traffic Accident" which is another Sleeper by numbers track. All in all PTMY isn't a terrible album but it has little of real merit and does not demonstrate the qualities for which Sleeper should be remembered. If you're new to the band purchase the albums in chronological order and to be honest the greatest hits compilation hasn't missed much. Sleeper were a great band but maybe it's a good job they called it a day when they did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wow :), 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pleased To Meet You (Audio CD)
Easily one of my favourite albums of all time. A big claim but Louise Wener is on fine form right from the first track. A real mix of stuff too from firecracker and traffic accident to 'miss you' the latter can't help but make the listener thik back to old loves from time past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i rather like this it is something different, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pleased To Meet You (Audio CD)
nice cover photo, some good tunes , rollercoaster is my favourite , why ever did they split up the lyrics are well written too. should have been huge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre fare, 13 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pleased To Meet You (Audio CD)
This is a come-down from the modest but oddly alluring climbs of "The It-Girl". Partly, it has to be said, it seemed as if Wener's time (1996 britpop fervour) had come and gone, by this album's release. While the musical palette is more wide than before, much of Sleeper's (albeit shallow) charm is missing. The typical British revelry at mundanity is discarded for lyrics that often seem ill-thought-out, lazy and decidedly lacking in wit. Often, average choruses are over-milked. Many of the lyrics merely represent empty posturing. The musical sound is more varied, but often the boringly AOR gets the upper-hand. There is a pervading lack of energy and verve to proceedings. Perhaps the main problem is the lack of those irrestible tunes that made "The It-Girl" palatable. While there are impressive moments, chiefly Nothing Is Changing, the passable pop of Romeo Me, the jaunty Firecracker and comfortably the highlight, Breathe. This is a dreamy, giddy torch song which is in a different league to the rest. Louise Wener's accentuated breathy singing is a definite aid to this track; in contrast to most, where it is grating. Her vocals always were an acquired taste; they are often as ordinary as possible, but with good, suitable material in "Breathe" they are almost sensuous. Whether or not it would have been a good move if Sleeper had stuck to their limited but spirited original style is besides the point; it would have taken far better songwriting, whatever the style, for the album to succeed, and for Sleeper to have persisted. Wener seems to have vanished; perhaps a shame, as she was preferable to most of the one-dimensional britpop bands like Ocean Colour Scene and Kula Shaker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pleased To Meet You
Pleased To Meet You by Sleepers (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews