Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just What becomes of the broken hearted, 19 April 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Motown Hits (Audio CD)
Jimmy Ruffin’s brother David was a member of the Temptations, so talent was obviously in the blood. However, Jimmy was somewhat fortunate to hit big with What becomes of the broken hearted. Diana Ross and the Supremes had recorded it and their version was intended for release as a single. Jimmy heard their version soon after it was recorded and begged Motown to let him record it, and to hold the Supremes version until they heard his. The rest is history. The original Supremes version, which is excellent and would have been a huge hit for them, appeared on one of their albums, but Jimmy’s version, which is even better, was released as a single and became a huge hit in Britain, America and elsewhere.
The Supremes could afford to lose the competition for What becomes of the broken hearted, but it turned out to be the biggest hit Jimmy ever had. Jimmy had a few minor hits in America but was more successful in Britain where I’ll say forever my love and It’s wonderful proved that he was more than a one-hit wonder.
All those hits are to be found here, together with many other great songs that Jimmy recorded for Motown. These include covers of Stand by me, on which his brother David joins Jimmy, and This guy’s in love with you.
Jimmy Ruffin was not Motown’s most important singer, but he recorded some great music and this is the most comprehensive collection available. More recent collections have been re-mastered with better sound quality, but the sound here is plenty good enough and a lot of these tracks are not available on any other CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tamla Motown CD, 11 Feb 2009
By 
A. Hawke "ano123" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Motown Hits (Audio CD)
Very pleased with this CD and didn't pay a lot for it,which was a bonus as I already have it on vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab Bargain, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ahh the oldies are the best. This took me right back to the young free and single time of my life.
....... Happy days.......... and lovely memories abound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HAS ALL HIS HITS PLUS A LOT MORE, 8 Aug 2012
By 
Christopher W. Brierley - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Motown Hits (Audio CD)
If you want just one CD of Jimmy Ruffin that has all his hits, then this is for you. Good stereo sound and great singing from his soulful voice. He was much more than a one hit wonder. I own this CD and can thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Motown Hits (Audio CD)
Ah what great memories this brings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic album by one of Motowns finest, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Motown Hits (Audio CD)
This is one of the finest artists that Motown produced and this album contains most of his best work. Timeless songs which " bring back old memories". I`ll never tire of hearing his voice and the duet with his brother (Stand by me) I think is the best version I have ever heard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jimmy Ruffin, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Motown Hits (Audio CD)
I had this on LP and needed to replace it. Jimmy Ruffin is a great artist and is up there with the greats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great era of music, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great songs from an era when the music was absolutely brilliant . One of the many great singers from then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great cd to listen to in the car as you ..., 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Motown Hits (Audio CD)
great cd to listen to in the car as you drive or when relaxing on a lounger and a soft drink in your hand one of the old greats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars we all love it, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Motown Hits (Audio CD)
absolutely fabulous, we all love it x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Motown Hits
Greatest Motown Hits by Jimmy Ruffin (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews