Customer Reviews


9 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly, truly great record. No home should be without it., 11 Jan. 2000
By 
Chris Carry (Dublin 18, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bring the Family (Audio CD)
Vitually unknown outside a small but highly appreciative audience, John Hiatt has steadily become one of musics true greats. Take a sublime songwriter,add a twist of pathos, a funny umbrella, and a voice which can be at once plaintive and loud and you have the cocktail that is Hiatt (no ice needed, coolness guaranteed).
This record (in legion with Nick Lowe on bass, Ry Cooder on guitar and Jim Keltner on drums is the precursor to their other, but not as successful collaboration, Little Village) covers JH's trials and tribulations in relationships (with people and alcohol) and is a stunningly honest approach to the same.
"Alone In The Dark" (Jamie Lee Curtis' "dance" from "True Lies" anyone?) is as gritty as it needs to get, and the slide guitar on "Lipstick Sunset" is as achingly beautiful as it needs to be.
"Have A Little Faith In Me" is an all time classic (you'll probably have heard someone elses version of this..)and songs like "Learning How To Love You", "Your Dad Did" and "Tip Of My Tongue" are all stand outs.
Don't just sit there, go buy!! You won't regret it. I rate this guy on nearly the same lofty heights as I would regard Springsteen (my idol!. I bought this "cold" on the strength of a recommendation by Elvis Costello, who I guess,knows a thing or two about music.
Further celeb approval has been forthcoming from Bob Dylan, and it doesn't get much better than that,who even recorded a Hiatt song for the soundtrack to the film "Hearts of Fire" (which stank...the film I mean..!...). Then go buy, "Slow Turning", "Stolen Moments","Walk On","Little Head" you really won't be disapointed, honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sure I like country music, 7 May 2003
By 
This review is from: Bring the Family (Audio CD)
Mark Knopfler's guitar style and John Hiatt's songwriting opened up the way to country music for me. If you're not really into this kind of 'thang' (just kidding) yet, I would try some other stuff first.
Take Hiatt's rock records first, try "Perfectly good guitar" or the great "The Tiki bar is open". Sure, there's country in there (like in all of his albums), but from a rock 'n roll angle. Then listen to "Bring the..." and hear where he came from. You will love it even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars honest rock, 25 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Bring the Family (Audio CD)
I first became aware of John Hiatt through his regular appearances as second guitar on Ry Cooder's classic Warners albums . I then found him doing a couple of vocals on Los Lobos' The Neighbourhood . This album finds him with the band who later became Little Village ( Ry Cooder Nick Lowe and Jim Keltner ) and his singing on their Do You Want My Job is well worth checking out This album contains good ( but not brilliant )songs . The playing throughout is exemplary . Good honest blue collar rock - a bit like not being ripped off by the plumber .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good selection, 22 April 2010
By 
J. T. Bennett (London-UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring the Family (Audio CD)
A very good selection to aquaint yourself with John Hiatt,s work.Good song choices and good musicianship throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album, 30 Dec. 2011
By 
Geoff Batchelor (Baildon, W Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bring the Family (Audio CD)
John Hiatt finally realised his potential with this stunning album. It was well worth him giving up the booze for. A crack band (Cooder, Lowe, Keltner) coil nastily around Hiatt's best songs to-date. The album is spare and sparse, no wasted notes, no 10 minute solos, but grooves beautifully. Hiatt's lyrics are also sharp and frequently witty. At the current price on Amazon, this is the bargain of the year - grab it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Hiatt's best album?, 17 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Bring the Family (Audio CD)
Having gone for far too long not hearing this album, getting to play it again was a rare treat. Hiatt's gut-wrenching vocals perfectly match the heart-rending songs that make up most of this album. The consummate skills of Cooder, Lowe and the drummer whose name I can't remember(sic) merely confirm this as one of the best recordings of the eighties and of Hiatt's whole career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Record, 27 May 2010
By 
E. Swift - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring the Family (Audio CD)
Bought this based on Amazon recommendations and i'm not disappointed.

only giving it 4 start as a couple of the songs don't work to my ear, not sure John's voice suits them, but overall its a great listen and is getting played regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring the Family (Audio CD)
First class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring the Family (Audio CD)
superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bring the Family
Bring the Family by John Hiatt (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews