Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At this price it's Madness (lunacy?)!!!!, 20 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lot (Audio CD)
This is completely fantastic! Not only is it all of the albums before "Wonderful Madness", but it has all of the videos on it! Being only 20, I don't remember seeing them before, and there's over an hour of them on there. 24 of 'em. COOOL! The music, it goes without saying, is excellent. It IS Madness, after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, complete, beautifully packaged., 23 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lot (Audio CD)
This package represents amazing value, especially if you have access to a CD-Rom drive. With all six albums, and every video, for less than any two albums on their own, you can't go wrong. Also, the six individual sleeves are a nice touch (the Japanese have been on to this owe for ages), and it even has a cover design which complements the singles box set, with DM's on display.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sounds Of The Eighties, 11 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lot (Audio CD)
Okay, "One Step Beyond" came out in '79, but you get the picture.
Madness was the sound of my youth, how well I remember walking between classes at school singing (out of tune) Madness songs: "Baggy Trousers", "It Must Be Love", and the rest. I also remember owning it on vinyl!
This boxset is heaven sent for those who haven't upgraded their vinyl to disc, containing six discs covering the band's albums from "One Step Beyond" to "Mad Not Mad". The albums are remastered, whatever, and the discs also include videos for a number of tracks, including videos for some tracks not on the original albums. Hence "It Must Be Love" is available as video only on the "Seven" disc.
If you liked Madness, you'll love this boxset, if you haven't heard of Madness because you're to young, buy it and discover some brilliantly crafted three-minute songs that simply invite you to join in and sing along and dance to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not quite "The Lot", 18 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lot (Audio CD)
Firstly, yes it's great and it's a classy package (although none of the original covers are shown anywhere) and it's great sound quality and it's cheap but, if you're an old fan like me.... and "7" is your favourite Madness album of all time then track 13 on disc 3 is going to surprise you. "Night on the town" is not the song I was expecting. My vinyl has one of my favourite songs of all times "Never Ask Twice".
Ah well - the artist's prerogative (of course) and you can't always get it your own way.... I've bought "The Business" to fill in the gaps... It also has most of the (non-album) singles from that era too....
For what it's worth - be advised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lot, Madness - A class act, 19 Mar 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lot (Audio CD)
This box set of all Madness' album output covering the period from the birth of the band (1979) until the end of their most popular period (1986) delivers exactly what you would expect - disc after disc of great music.

This is a great set, essential to the collection of any music lover with an interest in Ska and early `80's pop. Madness were never the novelty band they at times seemed to be. They made music with depth and feeling, and covered a wide variety of styles. True, at times they could be a little self indulgent, but in the main the put out well crafted and essential tunes. Especially in their later albums, where the band seemed to mature a little, and start recording more thoughtful music.

Each album is presented on a separate disc, collected into three card cases in one card outer. All in all, about the size of a 3 disc jewel case. There is an interesting booklet with some comments from band members about the various albums. Also included are 24 music videos, 4 on each disc, from contemporary singles. It's worth getting the set for these alone. They have to be played on a computer, and the picture quality is not brilliant (a necessary result of the compression required to fit them onto a CD along with the high quality audio tracks) but these really do add to the set, and bring back so many memories!

The audio quality is pretty good. The tracks have been remastered and restored, and it shows.

All in all this is a quality release. If you enjoy the more reflective music of their albums (as opposed to the more novelty style of the singles), I suggest you check out their latest offering, the 2009 masterpiece The Liberty of Norton Folgate: Deluxe Edition/+DVD, a truly magnificent album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars READ THE TEXT BELOW, IF YOU DARE, 11 July 2004
By 
Oymaprat (Nowhere In Particular) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lot (Audio CD)
This ones simple: if you like madness, get this. If you already have one of these, get it anyway as it's value for money. If you've heard a few madness tunes and are curious, get this. If you've never heard a madness song before, get a best of or what have you, and then buy this. Nice jolly albums, even to an extent the latter ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i love it, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lot (Audio CD)
This item is brilliant six albums and numerous music videos all in one package. The case was a little worn but this was in the description and being cardboard it was to be expected being second hand. My only quibble was that some of the songs released as singles were only available as videos not songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Madness is the Lot!, 9 Nov 2009
By 
J. Robinson "jamierobinz" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lot (Audio CD)
This is a really comprehensive collection of all of Madness' first 6 albums when they really were top of the game. I was never really into them by the time the sixth, Mad not mad, came out- but this too realy is worth a listen. The lyrics and catchy tunes make this a must for Madness fans new and old. I was not that bothered about the videos as they can be found more easily on one compilation as opposed to one ach of the six discs, but the album tracks really do this justice enough with a booklet explaining th history of some of the tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An important part of British music history, 30 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lot (Audio CD)
I would not class myself as a Madness fan. In fact, when they were around in the late 70s and early 80s it was not considered particularly fashionable to admit that you listened to (or purchased) any of their records. Even so, they had masses of hits which speaks volumes for the quality of the songs. The least hip band in the country kept hitting the top ten due to the quality of the music.
My brother, the un-hip embarrassment to the family, was a Madness fan, so I got to hear all their albums when I was much younger.
Being fair, I must admit that they did release some great material (as well as some very bad songs towards the end of their career).
The first album, represented on the first CD of this box set, must be a classic. Songs like "Night Boat", "My Girl" and "Land Of Hope and Glory" are brilliant. We also have other little-known gems such as "In The Middle Of the Night". The first album could have easily generated ten top-ten singles.
The next three albums represented an incremental decline in the quality of their music. "Absolutely" was good, but not as good as their first album. Their fourth album, "The Rise and Fall" was completely naff - even worse than their third album "Madness 7". But ... they had a clever trick. Release brilliant one-off singles between albums and ensure the fans don't lose interest. Such tracks include "It Must Be Love", "House Of Fun" and "Driving In My Car".
After "The Rise and Fall", Madness seemed to be improving again. The two brilliant singles "Wings of a Dove" and "The Sun and The Rain" were released as one-offs prior to the good "Keep Moving" album. "Keep Moving" was a relative flop - not because it was not good, but because of the choice of singles. There were some great tracks on the album, but for some reason (only known to Madness) they chose to release "Michael Caine" and "One Better Day" as the two singles from the album. "Keep Moving" became Madness' first album not to feature any top-ten singles.
Then things got worse - the terrible "Mad Not Mad" album indicated that Madness had lost their ability to create catchy songs. After three naff singles from "Mad Not Mad", the OK final single "Waiting for the ghost train" was released, and barely crept into the top-20.
The career outlined above is covered in this collection, with all album tracks from those six albums along with all the singles that were released between albums.
However, this collection does not include their 1999 album nor does it include new material from their "Our House" stage show. Therefore, this is not a complete collection, but it is a great starting place.
If you buy this, "The Business" (including all their B-sides) and the two newest albums (including the "Our House" compilation) then you will have the complete works of Madness.
They will never be classed as a great band, but they released so much good material that this album represents brilliant value for money. They were unique, and this collection should be in everyone's cd box. Buy it - you won't find better value for money in any other box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madness The Lot, 19 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lot (Audio CD)
WHAT A GREAT ALBUM. The lyrics and music combined together give a sound out of this world, that only Suggs could master. Anyone who likes the well known tunes of MADNESS will love this album and its mixture of known and unknown tunes!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lot
The Lot by Madness (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews