Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Class Modern Classical
I bought this album in retrospect after falling head over heels for Karl Jenkins wonderfully crafted music in Adiemus2 - Cantata Mundi. This album though, was where it all started and in its own right Songs of Sancuary is a tremendous effort with gloriously rich, and complicated harmonies, effortlessly sung in modern, European and ethnic styles by Miriam Stockley and Mary...
Published on 5 Nov. 2002 by flickroll

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars having read so many positive reviews i was expecting greatness ...
having read so many positive reviews i was expecting greatness - but having played it once it was all a bit forgettable. I regret not chosing something else in favour of this.
Published 6 months ago by Clare


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Class Modern Classical, 5 Nov. 2002
This review is from: Adiemus: Songs of Sanctuary (Audio CD)
I bought this album in retrospect after falling head over heels for Karl Jenkins wonderfully crafted music in Adiemus2 - Cantata Mundi. This album though, was where it all started and in its own right Songs of Sancuary is a tremendous effort with gloriously rich, and complicated harmonies, effortlessly sung in modern, European and ethnic styles by Miriam Stockley and Mary Carewe. The words are meaningless, being phonetic and merely serve to add another instrunment (the human voice) to the orchestra.
It is a truly awesome work, and deserves to be played in the order in which it was performed live at the Royal Albert Hall in 1996 - this was much more sensible an order than the running order on the CD. Smurf the Internet for the details - I did !! It was well worth it.
This music will make the hair on the back of your neck stand on end !!
Prediction - after playing Adiemus - Songs of Sanctuary, you will not be able to help adding Adiemus 2, 3 AND 4 to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adiemus: Songs of Sanctuary, 16 Mar. 2003
This review is from: Adiemus: Songs of Sanctuary (Audio CD)
I was given this album as a present, and it was my first introduction to the music of Karl Jenkins. The vocals are wonderfully rich, yet also very pure, with an absence of vibrato and decoration to the simple-sounding melodies. However, underneath this apparent simplicity lie complex harmonies and subtle, yet unexpected changes.
If you are a non-musician, this is perfect music to relax to. If you are a musician, feast your ears on the unusual modulations. If you are connected with a choir, you will find it hard to resist buying the music (no doubt also available from Amazon). It is a beautiful work for any choir to perform. It is a beautiful work for anybody to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant CD that is truly uplifting and deeply relaxing, 22 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Adiemus: Songs of Sanctuary (Audio CD)
A cd that starts superbly and continues to get better. The sound quality is superb and the music the cd purveys is some of the best that you are ever likely to hear outside of a live performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My oasis on my musical journey, 1 Jun. 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adiemus: Songs of Sanctuary (Audio CD)
Now I'm the type of person who has particular tastes, will like one track on an album but couldn't care less for the rest and need new things to keep my interest etc. Jumping from various music such as Enya to Kitaro, to Vangelis, Secret Garden, instrumental/soundtrack/'mysterious' music by varied composers and artists, I have once again found something that makes me feel like I am 'coming home'. I always knew of Adiemus from the past when I used to listen to Classical FM many years ago (though CFM only seemed to play Madre Natura? all the time), but recently I heard Zarabanda which blew me away, then several other tracks from across the albums. If you have ever hummed to yourself, not some simple ditty, but attempted to use your voice as an instrument going smoothly from one note to another, the sound of voices in Adiemus is similar varying from string-like to ethnic chanting. It sounds like you get a whole load of beautiful female voices, layered upon each other, with instruments such as lilting flutes, or ghostly strings to a rhythmic tambourine. And the most amazing thing about the music? I find it hits the right notes at the right times, the way it changes from one note to the next, it doesn't feel like they have chosen notes to fill in the blanks for the sake of it. As a testament to how much I regard I hold Adiemus in, I have ordered the first 4 cd's (only the first 4 have Miriam Stockley) and also Miriam's first album (all for the bargain price of under 40 pounds! Don't think you'll find that in HMV!). If you need other vague comparisons (that still only suggest what half the sound of Adiemus is like) to make up your mind try these: Enya - Afer Ventus, Final Fantasy Vocal Collections 1 - Prelude.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songs of Sanctuary, 6 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Songs Of Sanctuary (Audio CD)
I think this CD is the ultimate chill-out album. The melodies are haunting, the voices are beautiful; its a musical masterpiece.
I have loved it since I first heard it several years ago, and still haven't tired of it. Its especially good on a cold autumn or winter night with a mug of mulled apple juice! I would seriously recommend it to anyone, at any time of year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Voila! Everybody should hear this album., 27 Jun. 2003
By 
Elisabeth J. Gawthrop (Centreville, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adiemus: Songs of Sanctuary (Audio CD)
I first heard Track 1 as Track 8 on the Pure Moods Album. As a longtime vocal harmonizer (20+ years experience with various chorales), I felt right at home listening to this masterpiece of vocal quality. Talent and skill abound in this album which must be considered a classic piece of musical culture for anyone who wants to consider themselves musically educated.
I was heartily impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding, 14 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This CD will become a modern classic. Despite not being mainstream and remaining the secret of those lucky enough to own a copy, it has entered the public consciousness via various television advertisements - Delta airlines to name just one. The music is soaring and uplifting, with the harmonies so subtle and yet so clear. Undoubtedly the best track on the album is 'Tinntinnabulum' - meaning ringing of bells - which is not so recognisable as many others but the climactic string introduction that is so reminiscent of Barber's adagio places it beyond the reaches of many modern pieces. This makes perfect driving music, but it is equally at home anywhere. No respectable CD collection is complete without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CALMING INFLUENCES, 9 Jun. 2009
By 
Kelvin Dickinson (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Adiemus: Songs of Sanctuary (Audio CD)
Not sure how I first came across the ADIEMUS/KARL JENKINS project, though I suspect it was probably through hearing the title track on Radio 2. Part choral, part African-tribal, SONGS OF SANCTUARY is the definitive Adiemus album, an inspired fusion of musical styles and a strikingly original debut.

The rich, multi-layered vocals provided by MIRIAM STOCKLEY, virtually unaided, combine English cathedral with Serengeti plain to spectacular effect, and by devising lyrics (if you can call them that) in pseudo-latin style, composer Karl Jenkins has created a universality to the listening experience quite unlike anything else. He clearly knows about structuring chords in ways that exert calming influences whilst remaining faithful to the concept of 'sanctuary' as a place where one can feel safe and unafraid.

Yes, it is just possible to see why there may be accusations of pretention and self-indulgence. However, such quibbles are to ignore the fact that this is genuinely classy stuff, too focused and sophisticated to be labelled as lightweight or inconsequential. Sadly, a good but less sophisticated friend of mine once described SONGS OF SANCTUARY rather unkindly as "Whale Song". So, not only did he miss the point by a mile, but by a considerable number of fathoms as well. His loss, but not ours.

Standout tracks include ADIEMUS, TINTINNABULUM, CANTUS ITERATUS, AMATE ADEA and KAYAMA.

VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very, very, very, very, very, very relaxing........, 1 July 2001
By 
R. Frith "Game Fiend" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adiemus: Songs of Sanctuary (Audio CD)
The cd that i listened to was my sisters and the first time i heard it i was mesmirised by the powerful music that could induce any kind of reaction in the listener it wanted to, ranging from quiet soulful music to exuberant, happy music. I found it lovely and i often get in trouble for sneaking into my sisters room to steal it for a listen. I would definately recommend this cd to anyone who is having a stressful time with work or studies-or just plain good music to fall asleep to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The start of the Adiemus industry, 2 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Adiemus: Songs of Sanctuary (Audio CD)
Karl Jenkins who was in the last edition of the Soft Machine,had dabbled in classical music before when the psychedelic band from Canterbury cut an album with a symphony orchestra.
He ended up making more money from this one album-especially when a track was used for Delta Airlines-that it enabled him to make more of the same.And once that idea had run out came a series of neo classical albums with Latin titles.
Adiemus was soon surounded with a mass of collectables including a box set called Cantata Mundi which came with a booklet and has a nice silver color arrangement.
This latter day equivalent of Carl Orff's Carmina Burana topped the classical charts but the Adiemus single climbed no higher than No 48 for 2 weeks in 1995
This is about the time I lost interest in pop charts when mass TV plugs on a commercial was not enough to chart it higher.The same fate applied to Claire Hamill's single Someday we'll all be together again-which used Pachelbel's Canon for the music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adiemus: Songs of Sanctuary
Adiemus: Songs of Sanctuary by Karl Jenkins (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews