Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars18
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2000
The music made for the film "The Piano" is absolutely thrilling. Its harmonious melody, especially of the main part, makes it one of the best soundtracks possibly ever written. It is just a wonderful and inspired piece of work. Magnificent music!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
Inspirational tracks and a guide to compositional music. Nyman's music is perfectly balanced and appropriate in all of his film scores.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2001
It is difficult to describe what makes this CD so perfect. There are no lyrics to quote, there doesn't seem to be anything quite tangible about what makes it one of my favourite CDs. But I can tell you that if you've heard some of the music and liked, you'll like the whole CD - for it keeps up an amazing standard throughout. There is not a single track that lets it down, and although it may sometimes be difficult to define the difference between the tracks, this doesn't make it repetative in any way, it just makes it easy to listen to in one big swoop. I have never seen the film The Piano,and I don't intend to, for I feel that the film could never live up to my expectations of the music. Also, if you can play the piano, then do get the sheet music for it, because the only thing more wonderful than listening to these perfect sounds is hearing them come from your own finger-tips. Buy the CD, buy the music book, and you will be truly happy!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
Loved the film. CD is wonderful. Music is rich and is true to the film. Very good value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 1999
I am not a huge fan of classical type of music or instrumental music, but this cd really grew on me. There are a couple of extremely powerful and moving songs on this soundtrack that I could listen to over and over again. If you do buy this cd, you have likely heard most of the songs from the movie and know what to expect. Even so, I was still surprisingly taken by this recording. The piano playing is absolutely extraordinary in the emotions it evokes from the audience and/or the listener. There are a few numbers that are accompanied by other instruments, but the most forceful are those that feature Nyman playing solo. If you haven't seen this move, it is entirely worth it. You will fully understand why this cd is so wonderful.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
Not much to say - just a haunting and wonderful piece of music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 1999
The soundtrack of 'The Piano' cannot really be descibed in words orally, or written. To the audience which appreciates music's sublime working capacities this soundtrack may prove a gem. I first heard one of its soundtracks with a collection of other spiritually effective soundtracks. That one principal soundtrack of this movie draws one's attention like a magnet pulling at some piece of iron. It is best described as awakening of a kind in ones soul when the soundtrack is listened to. Every piece has its charm and the more strongly melancholic ones had more then the others for me. Leading a person to nostalagia and re-living memories of ones own past under the influence of its piano themes was my main cause to like this soundtrack. Thus it possesses a charming feel of romance of the gone days not only of the deaf British woman and her prised piano that her husband abonadones by the sea but perhaps also in very personal terms for any of the audience; this is what the movie is really about. All said and done the soundrack of 'The Piano' can prove an anthem for souls looking to listen to some thing deeper then the most unfathomable oceans. It is like drowning, struggling, and hurtfully suffering in the sea of miseries of the deaf heroine and her daughter in this movie. It provokes your soul into a partial turmoil that seems to have no cause but can enormously help in relieving tension and stress. Nyman gifts the movie with this line of superb themes. Yet best of all he plays the invaluable role of giving the plot life and a large potential to be heartfelt by the movie's audience as they view the events and listen to the background themes, practically living the lives of the protagonists. At several certain points in the soundtrack a thrill is palpable from the mere toes of feet, tips of one's finger and the hair-roots of one's head
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
Genuine cd turned up quickly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2014
Good quality. Timely arrival
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
Also includes the instrumental music. Film with a good story, but by far the best part is the music that it features.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)