Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Inspirational tracks and a guide to compositional music. Nyman's music is perfectly balanced and appropriate in all of his film scores.
Published 12 months ago by DenMan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dull
Thought I might like Michael Nyman's music. Turns out I don't... probably okay if you've got a film to watch it with.
Published 1 month ago by B. A. Voce


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 Mar 2013
By 
DenMan (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Inspirational tracks and a guide to compositional music. Nyman's music is perfectly balanced and appropriate in all of his film scores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just an amazing piece of work, 7 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Piano (Audio CD)
The music made for the film "The Piano" is absolutely thrilling. Its harmonious melody, especially of the main part, makes it one of the best soundtracks possibly ever written. It is just a wonderful and inspired piece of work. Magnificent music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dull, 25 Feb 2014
By 
B. A. Voce - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Piano (Audio CD)
Thought I might like Michael Nyman's music. Turns out I don't... probably okay if you've got a film to watch it with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Piano CD, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Piano (Audio CD)
Loved the film. CD is wonderful. Music is rich and is true to the film. Very good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing - beyond words, 16 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Piano (Audio CD)
It is difficult to describe what makes this CD so perfect. There are no lyrics to quote, there doesn't seem to be anything quite tangible about what makes it one of my favourite CDs. But I can tell you that if you've heard some of the music and liked, you'll like the whole CD - for it keeps up an amazing standard throughout. There is not a single track that lets it down, and although it may sometimes be difficult to define the difference between the tracks, this doesn't make it repetative in any way, it just makes it easy to listen to in one big swoop. I have never seen the film The Piano,and I don't intend to, for I feel that the film could never live up to my expectations of the music. Also, if you can play the piano, then do get the sheet music for it, because the only thing more wonderful than listening to these perfect sounds is hearing them come from your own finger-tips. Buy the CD, buy the music book, and you will be truly happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good piano soundtrack, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Also includes the instrumental music. Film with a good story, but by far the best part is the music that it features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow - a very passionate piece of work., 16 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Piano (Audio CD)
I am not a huge fan of classical type of music or instrumental music, but this cd really grew on me. There are a couple of extremely powerful and moving songs on this soundtrack that I could listen to over and over again. If you do buy this cd, you have likely heard most of the songs from the movie and know what to expect. Even so, I was still surprisingly taken by this recording. The piano playing is absolutely extraordinary in the emotions it evokes from the audience and/or the listener. There are a few numbers that are accompanied by other instruments, but the most forceful are those that feature Nyman playing solo. If you haven't seen this move, it is entirely worth it. You will fully understand why this cd is so wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling, cathartic, and spiritually evokative., 3 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Piano (Audio CD)
The soundtrack of 'The Piano' cannot really be descibed in words orally, or written. To the audience which appreciates music's sublime working capacities this soundtrack may prove a gem. I first heard one of its soundtracks with a collection of other spiritually effective soundtracks. That one principal soundtrack of this movie draws one's attention like a magnet pulling at some piece of iron. It is best described as awakening of a kind in ones soul when the soundtrack is listened to. Every piece has its charm and the more strongly melancholic ones had more then the others for me. Leading a person to nostalagia and re-living memories of ones own past under the influence of its piano themes was my main cause to like this soundtrack. Thus it possesses a charming feel of romance of the gone days not only of the deaf British woman and her prised piano that her husband abonadones by the sea but perhaps also in very personal terms for any of the audience; this is what the movie is really about. All said and done the soundrack of 'The Piano' can prove an anthem for souls looking to listen to some thing deeper then the most unfathomable oceans. It is like drowning, struggling, and hurtfully suffering in the sea of miseries of the deaf heroine and her daughter in this movie. It provokes your soul into a partial turmoil that seems to have no cause but can enormously help in relieving tension and stress. Nyman gifts the movie with this line of superb themes. Yet best of all he plays the invaluable role of giving the plot life and a large potential to be heartfelt by the movie's audience as they view the events and listen to the background themes, practically living the lives of the protagonists. At several certain points in the soundtrack a thrill is palpable from the mere toes of feet, tips of one's finger and the hair-roots of one's head
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAUNTING, 20 Sep 2006
This review is from: The Piano (Audio CD)
I've had this CD for a few years now. Still haunting. Still captivating. Surreal... beautiful, beautiful music. Each individual piece able to conjur up feelings of passion, longing, sadness or happiness. The first thing I did after I watched the movie is to buy the sountrack. Simple as that. Enjoy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars one amazing piece of music but thats about it, 12 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Piano (Audio CD)
This CD contains just one real amazing piece of music. It has been re-worked, re-harmonised and each time it sounds brilliant but half of this CD is still the same amazing piece of music. Yet it is still worth buying for this one piece of music - especially if you like piano music. The other pieces of music are pleasant to listen too but are nothing out-standing and could belong to any movie soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa61361a4)

This product

The Piano
The Piano by Original Soundtrack (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews