Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best
This is the best studio album Stevie never recorded and possibly the best studio album of his altogether. An album I think put together by his brother Jimmy after his death. A selection without a single weakness.
The CD covers every aspect of Stevies style from the rawness of the excellent opener Boot Hill to the jazz/blues of Chitlins Con Carne.
The version...
Published on 21 Sep 2002 by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Feelins'
Some feelins' are beyond reason. xxxx xxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx.
Published 16 months ago by nevis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, 21 Sep 2002
This review is from: The Sky Is Crying (Audio CD)
This is the best studio album Stevie never recorded and possibly the best studio album of his altogether. An album I think put together by his brother Jimmy after his death. A selection without a single weakness.
The CD covers every aspect of Stevies style from the rawness of the excellent opener Boot Hill to the jazz/blues of Chitlins Con Carne.
The version of Little Wing is worth the price alone. Sublime and exquisite, Stevie at his best.
The closing song Life by the Drop is, I suppose an obvious choice to put on, bearing in mind his recent recovery from addiction and then cruel death shortly afterwards. But listen to its subtlety, simplicity and aching vocals. Even after listening to it dozens and dozens of time it never fails to send shivers down my back and the closing lines a lump to my throat...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 stars. As good as a "real" album, 29 July 2003
By 
Docendo Discimus (Vita scholae) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Sky Is Crying (Audio CD)
This collection of outtakes from Stevie Ray Vaughan's previous album sessions, released the year after his tragic death, is actually as solid and enjoyable as most of his "real" albums.

It is bluesier than "In Step", recalling his first album, "Texas Flood", and it features an alternative take on the delightful, swinging "Empty Arms" (from "Soul To Soul") and nine previously unreleased songs, including fine renditions of Howlin' Wolf's menacing "May I Have A Talk With You" and Elmore James' immortal "The Sky Is Crying".

Stevie Ray Vaughan's too rarely heard slide playing smoulders on the morbid "Boot Hill" (an alternative version of Elmore James' "Look On Yonder Wall"), which is also highlighted by Reese Wynans' wonderful piano playing.
And Vaughan's guitar playing on this album includes some of the best performances of his career - just listen to that purely instrumental version of "Little Wing", and Lonnie Mack's "Wham" as well.

"The Sky Is Crying" also features Willie Dixon's "Close To You", a supremely jazzy "Chitlins Con Carne", the SRV orginal "So Excited" (also an instrumental), and finally one of Vaughan's best-ever performances, an acoustic solo rendition of Doyle Bramhall's wonderful survivor story "Life By The Drop". Sublime "live" vocal on that one, one of the best things Stevie Ray Vaughan ever committed to tape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fitting swansong, 26 April 2004
By 
S. J. Ryder "ryder_simon" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sky Is Crying (Audio CD)
Put together after Stevie's death, this album is quite frankly superb. Asit was put together from a few years of sessions, you get a few differentvibes from him, instead of a specific vibe per album. It's got somerocking blues to his more tender side, which is what i want from an album.
I also want to add that 'Life by the Drop' is the perfect and mostbeautiful close for Stevie as a musician (although his legacy lives oninside eveyone who loves him). Not many songs can move me as much as 'Lifeby the Drop'. I cannot state enough, it's absolute perfection for hislast 'semi-proper' album - before the greatest hits albums came out.
It brings a tear to my eye everytime i hear it.
Anyway, my general point is that this album proves to be a fittingswansong to one of the few musicans who was truely touched by god. I'm notreligious but Stevie had what Hendrix had. I have no idea where it camefrom but i adore it.
My advice to everyone is to buy all his albums and listen to them inorder, while reading a SRV book of some sort.
You don't hear that many albums as good as this nowadays
RIP Stevie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars he's too good!, 10 Nov 2006
By 
C. Gorman "chrisgpix" (NZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sky Is Crying (Audio CD)
Where to start on the album...well it has to be Little Wing...the sleeve notes by Jimmie Vaughan state that with headphones on you can hear his amp buzzing and almost smell the pipes burning...and indeed you can, very rarely is anything this good!...add to this stevie's own redition of the title track, though the best version of this is to found on Martin Scorsese's Stevie collection. (a blistering live version).

This album was released just after Vaughan's death and is very possibly his best (studio) album.

What would he have been like if he had lived!?!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I never did like helicopters!, 17 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sky Is Crying (Audio CD)
Released in 1991 a year after his death, The Sky is Crying is material which Vaughan did not consider good enough to go on any of his previous albums. All I can say is the guy must have had very high standards, and in fact most of the music here is far better than any of his earlier cuts! Firstly Vaughans version of Hendrix`s Little Wing is surely as good as blue/rock guitar gets! Even at over seven minutes long I`m still left wanting more when the track fades out! Fortunately tracks such as Wham by Lonnie Mack (the first record Vaughan himself ever bought)Close to You and a re-recorded and far better version of Empty Arms easily compare....Other more bluesy tracks include The title track and a rare recording pre MTV unplugged, of vaughan playing twelve string on Life By The Drop. This album is pure Stevie Ray with all the SRV trademarks for all to hear. Eric Clapton himself once said of Vaughan, "he was exactly how I wanted to sound when I was 16". This album proves that scapping the bottom of the barrel may not be a bad thing after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wowwww!!!!!!!, 15 Jun 2005
This review is from: The Sky Is Crying (Audio CD)
This is the album that started my apprehiation of SRV and Double trouble. I guarantee that this will open up your blues collection and you will be buying artist you would never of thought of buying. Hendrix's 'Little Wing' displays that SRV plays from his heart and after listening to it you realise the talent lost. From his battered stratocaster comes a pure genius, which from a man who used to sneek into his brothers room and play his guitar when he went out then not be taken seriously by his family, shows skill and passion with his instrument. The CD starts with 'Boot Hill' and kicks things off in the finest style, though pure blues and texas shuffle and it ends with 'life by the drop' which is a 12 string guitar and stevie and some amazing emotional lyrics. This album was complied by Jimmie Vaughan after his brothers death so you get the finest of SRV studio takes. Inlay of the disc is an interview with Jimmie Vaughan and the members of Double Trouble and gives a background to the songs and Stevie's arrangment of them. The Songs, Talent and personality of this man shines though is playing will leave you in awe. He has left behind music that inspires, influences and encourages all us guitar players. Buy it, enjoy it, then watch your SRV collection grow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much Missed, 11 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: The Sky Is Crying (Audio CD)
A great album from a master - a brilliant mix of rock blues.
Well worth adding to your collection if you don't already have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stevie Shows How It's Done!, 25 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sky Is Crying (Audio CD)
Having just recently discovered this man through my brother's recommendations (being a guitarist he always likes to share the music he comes across), I started off being a little bit doubtful that Stevie Ray Vaughan could move me as much as he has other people.
But that state of mind went out of the window as soon as I bought this album and turned my CD player up as high as it'd go.

Stevie Ray Vaughan has this amazing tenderness and passion to his voice that just makes you feel as though he's singing the lyrics directly to you, and his guitar playing has this unique ability to make you feel every note that he strums.
The album is worth the price for 'Life By The Drop' alone; a beautiful song that just seems to sum up what a lot of musicians must feel with their addictions.
'The Sky Is Crying' showcases a seriously talented man who deserves to be immortalized in blues history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WE MISS YOU STEVIE, 15 Jun 2010
By 
P. Macleod "highlander" (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sky Is Crying (Audio CD)
STEVIE RAY VAUGHAN,WAS ONE OF THE GREATEST SHOWMEN OF OUR TIME AND I AM HONOURED TO HAVE NEARLY ALL OF HIS MUSIC IN MY COLLECTION,HE LIVES ON AND INSPIRES ME TO PLAY EVERY DAY,HE WILL BE HAVING A GREAT GIG IN THE SKY,RIP STEVIE I HOPE TO MEET YOU ONE DAY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Posthumous Release., 28 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Clifton Jones (Matlock, Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sky Is Crying (Audio CD)
Posthumous releases can be thrown together, cash in jobs. This is not the case here, it has been lovingly put together by those close to him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sky Is Crying
The Sky Is Crying by Stevie Ray Vaughan (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews