Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two classics for the price of one!, 28 May 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto (Audio CD)
CELLO CONCERTO
As a student I was privilleged to see a perfomance of the Elgar given by Ms. Du Pre, and over the decades scince I have owned a copy of this wonderful account of the Cello Concerto. One could try and compare recordings, for instance I treasure performances by Pini, Casals and Tortelier, to name but three!! Ultimately I find I return again and again to this particular performance, masterfully accompanied by Sir John Barbirolli. This Concerto, written when it was, is the essence of Elgar.
SEA PICTURES
Wow! Janet Baker - I cannot think of any other performance of these pieces, that start to compare with these gems! A singers singer if ever there was one. In lesser hands these songs could and have on occasion sounded trite. But with Sir John at the helm and the gloriously full range of voice that Dame Janet so eloquently uses, we are again able to hear these pieces as they should be given. One last word.....DICTION!!!!What a truly great singer she was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dame Janet Baker at her very best; so is du Pre., 4 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto (Audio CD)
I love this CD. It is one of my all-time favourites. Sir John had the capability of coaxing superb performances from both of his soloists. Baker gives what is for me the definitive version of "Sea Pictures", while du Pre
communicates the depth, beauty, and passion of Elgar's greatest instrumental work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY THE BEST, 15 Dec 2006
By 
Mr. Se Greenough (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto (Audio CD)
This has to be one of my favorite concertos of all. I was fortunate enough to see Julian Lloyd Webber play this at the Royal Albert, but alas it was not nearly so good as Du Pre's performance recorded hear. If you are going to buy this concerto this is definately the recording you want, full of passion, melancoly and pure joy. As for the Sea Pictures, im not a fan but that doesnt make the CD not worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive recording of Elgar's Cello Concerto, 2 Mar 2007
By 
Chris Pearson - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto (Audio CD)
If you only buy one recording of Elgar's haunting Cello Concerto, du Pre's outstanding performance has to be it.

Words can't really do justice to her interpretation. Other perfomances are just simply inferior.

The Sea Pictures aren't my cup of tea. This disc is worth the price for du Pre's performance alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essential version of the Cello Concerto, 26 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto (Audio CD)
I have yet to hear a rendition of the Elgar Cello concerto which is more moving or more passionately executed than this. Anyone who appreciates the work of Elgar must have this recording as part of their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the definitive recording, 3 Jan 2001
By 
Steve (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto (Audio CD)
This remains the definitive recording of the Cello Concerto. Better focussed that Du Pre's other recordings and, in intensity, streets ahead of those who've recordind the work since. Aching and longing and soaring spirituality combine in a performance that will stand forever as one of the all-time greats. The coupling manages to live quite happily in this exalted company as Baker makes a comparatively ordinary composition into something that delights the ear and lodges in the memory. 35 years on the recorded sound needs no allowances made for its age. A recording to treasure and play for many, many years. It should be in every collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great performances, but best bought as part of an EMI box set, 16 Dec 2008
By 
Mart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto (Audio CD)
As its title states, this 1965 LSO/Barbirolli recording of du Pre's deeply emotional and passionate account of the Elgar cello concerto remains the definitive version, and has been continually available since its 1960's release, after more than four decades.

The recording is now found on many EMI collections and box sets, and for that reason I would recommend one of these alternative versions as they usually offer better value. For du Pre fans there is the `Jacqueline du Pre Complete EMI Recordings' 17 CD box set, and for the Elgar fan there is the 5CD set `Elgar Orchestral Works' (also including the Janet Baker Sea Pictures) on the EMI Classics label.

A truly historic performance, essential to everyone's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great performance, but best bought as part of an EMI box set, 14 Oct 2008
By 
Mart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto (Audio CD)
As its title states, this 1965 LSO/Barbirolli recording of du Pre's deeply emotional and passionate account of the Elgar cello concerto remains the definitive version, and has been continually available since its 1960's release, after more than four decades.

The recording is now found on many EMI collections and box sets, and for that reason I would recommend one of these alternative versions as they usually offer better value. For du Pre fans there is the `Jacqueline du Pre Complete EMI Recordings' 17 CD box set, and for the Elgar fan there is the 5CD set `Elgar Orchestral Works' (also including the Janet Baker Sea Pictures) on the EMI Classics label.

A truly historic performance, essential to everyone's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original soul music, 16 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Elgar: Cello Concerto (Audio CD)
Not much can be said of this recording that hasn't already been said in existing reviews. All I would say , from a listener who simply enjoys being moved by what I hear, is that this recording is the meeting of a stunning composition, played by one of the great classical musicians of the 20th century. From start to finish this will speak to your soul in ways that only genius can do. Set yourself some time aside and take an hour out simply to be soothed and moved. A great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elgar: Cello Concerto
Elgar: Cello Concerto by London Symphony Orchestra (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews