Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars36
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2008
This album's a real mystery to me, but the quesion is more "Why?" than "Who?" Viz, why is this album reckoned to be the weakest DP Mk2 album? I've heard it described as a tired album, but that's belied by actually listening to the thing.

Woman from Tokyo is the real classic, as good as Smoke on the Water, and as memorable. A song to play again and again, and always find new points of interest. Piano solo that would impress Dave Brubeck. Blackmore keeps it nice and heavy, but doesn't dominate. The spine-tingling middle section would've sounded ham-fisted in other hands. Oh, and Gillan's vocal, into which he puts everything, and a bit more besides. Paice's drums are crisp and inventive, and even Glover gets busy when he needs to (even he under-rates himself).

Mary Long borrows a riff from Speed King, but is fairly relaxed by these guys' standards. Amusing swipe at 'moral crusaders'. Jazzy ending.

Super Trooper is an unknown Purple classic. A brilliant and clever riff from Glover, and a pleasingly heavy performance. Gillan manages to inject some wit into a fairly serious lyric. Does anyone else think this is Purple at their best?

Smooth Dancer again borrows a little from Speed King, but in a more Fireball style (perhaps). Raucous riffing and vocals, and great piano. Heavy rock'n'roll.

Rat Bat Blue - Or 'Rat Bat Blueprint for Still of the Night', perhaps. Play the Whitesnake gem after RBB, and hear the parallels. Exciting heavy rock as is all-too-seldom heard nowadays. And Lord's fastest solo?

Place in Line - A real fans' fave, as they say. Blues played as only Purple can. Menacingly heavy, with great vocals and lyrics. Then you get Blackmore Blues before the event. A fantastic solo, running from placid to near-hysterical. The end fade is interesting too.

And, of course, Our Lady - Purple getting adventurous again. Without the organ orgiastics, this is actually quite Hendrixy. Melody and power - a great mixture.

Must mention Painted Horse too, a lovely piece that also influenced a future classic hit - Rainbow's All Night Long.

An album that has grown, rightly, in stature over the years. Closer in feel to Fireball than In Rock or Machine Head. And what an interesting cover!
44 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2012
For some fans this one doesn't just have a hard enough edge to it. I think the band was trying a different approach , one which strong melodies and tons of good songs. It's more laid back in a way but still a masterful and powerful riff laded cd. And the extra tracks only make a true classic even better. This was the commercial peak of this version of the band and for good reason. 'my woman from tokyo' sounds like the soundtrack of a war movie. There isn't a bad song here , but the empathise is not on hard riffs but instead a more fluid style that bounces along and lays down the goods. If you want really heavy rock then you may want the two before this one but this one often transends the groups usual attack style. Which is awesome in it's own right. This one was about making some melodic songs more than anything. I can't believe one guy said this was his least played dp! I would think 'come taste the band' with it's funk fusion would have that honor.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2003
Deep Purple's 1973 "Who Do We Think We Are" is a fantastic album that's been shuffled into the background behind some of those other Purple classics "Machine Head" and "Made In Japan". The great production, the hard driving polished playing and the killer songs make for one really enjoyable album. It's a shame that this lineup (Blackmore, Gillan, Glover, Lord and Paice) didn't stay together after the '73 tour. I've read all the reviews on this album and it seems that the big favorites are "Woman From Tokyo", "Smooth Dancer" and "Rat Bat Blue". While other songs like "Mary Long", "Our Lady" "Super Trooper" and "Place In Line" get there share of votes too. Even the unreleased bonus track "Painted Horse" gets votes and I've always liked that rare track. All this great feedback proves something I've known all along, this is one great album.
Long Live DP!
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2000
At last after years (!) of waiting the re-issue has arrived. A review...well in my opinion its a little lacklustre. There are some fine moments on it, but overall seemed to lack some of the energy of the albums preceeding it. Odd really, as all the tracks on it are actually quite good. Especially worth a listen are "Rat Bat Blue" and "our Lady" showing many facets of the purps at their best. You will listen to it more than once thats for sure and even though it does sound a little dated, has masterstrokes in it. You can tell that the band were not too interested. If you take it on its own, its a damm fine album, but put into the context of a Deep Purple release then its a weak link, especially compared to the next release BURN from 1974. But if you listen to it and buy it, its not going to be an album you'll regret owning!
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2005
This is one of the underrated purple albums and has some of there best work on it. The opening track being 'my woman from tokyo' which is amazing and one of purple's best songs, 'mary long' is also on here which is great, 'super trouper' is the weaker record but still good,
'Smooth dancer' is a real cool song and is like a true purple record, 'rat bat blue' is also great, some of the music on this album is awesome, Lord'as keyboard playing is great, paice sounds great on the drums, it's one of there best albums. 'Our lady' would be my favorite on the album, 'a place in line' is also a good record.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
i don't see what all the fuss is about - this is a really good album [and actually one of my favourites]
it should be 4.5 stars
the album loses half a star as Ritchie Blackmores soloing [by his high standards set on in rock, fireball, machinehead and MIJ] is lacking - not the four other members and not Ritchies rhythm playing
if Blackmore could have dug deep and come up with stuff at the level of Burn this offering could now be considered by many as very nearly MkII's best!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2012
I actually really like this album I seen alot of bad reviews for it but I actually thinks it pretty good I like the keyboard work on it and the song woman from tokyo especially. and I think it is grossly under appreciated

although it is not quite as good as burn or machine head it is still very good i like the artwork and all the silly paper clippings in the album too, Its bouncy and a joy to listen too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
Very good and underrated album by DP, too bad it's too short and missing at least one track. 'Rat Bat Blue' and 'Place in Line' are great songs.
I love and admire Deep Purple and the band membersand i have all their studio albums releases.
This record should be at any hard rock and metal fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
Amazing album (as are any Deep Purple albums) Had to get the EMI Import Versions because of the Horrendous Job Rhino Did in the U.S. with their Box Set (poor sound quality, no bonus tracks, cardboard sleeves). I was happy to spend a few extra dollars for Quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2009
I think that this album always suffered because it followed three real "rocker" albums. The trouble with the fans of most bands is that they just want more of the same. In the case of Deep Purple, the die hards just want a Machine Head every year. Some Hawkwind fans still want a Doremifasolatido follow up. Deep Purple moved on and I think that this is a very good album.

Ian Gillans lyrics are very powerfull, the Blackmore riffs are powerfull: listen to Smooth Dancer (even though gillan's lyrics were about Blackmore). One can also hear the beginnings of the bluesy direction that he wanted to take the band in especially on Rat Pack Blue.

I prefer the original on vinyl though. Some music just sounds better in anologue!
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)