Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best sound around!, 20 Aug 2005
By 
Mr. Christophe P. Williams "dat_podsol" (somewhere over the rainbow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live 93 (Audio CD)
This album IS the best of the orb. Every single lengthy track has been performed live to a standard that far betters its album counterpart. The orb have always been consistently good on their releases, but this album condenses every ounce of blissfull, bassy, ambient, drugged up, chilled out tune-age and slaps it into a two disk compilation that will entertain anyone who wants to relax to music at any time of day, anywhere.
More like a 'sound and bass' experience than real tunes, it also steers clear of full on ambient themes (and the consequent boredom people with 'normal music' tastes would suffer). Yet each magical sounding, voice sample laden track spans around 10 mins!
If you're strapped for cash and cant buy all this bands stuff or just bored of the popular chill-out bands of the moment, go retro and fork out for a band who sound like no-one else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Orb, Live 1993., 15 Feb 2011
This review is from: Live 93 (Audio CD)
"What were the skies like when you were young?" A question that still reverberates around the heads of a lot of people my age, ie, in their (whisper it!) Late twenties/early thirties.

There's a reason for that and the reason, invariably is the track Little Fluffy Clouds off this album. The live version is even more powerful than the studio version and that's really saying something.

There are however many other tracks which will grab the imagination. If you can imagine an ambient, electronic Pink Floyd, this is pretty much the closest you'll get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best live album ever?!?!?!?, 2 Mar 2003
This review is from: Live 93 (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic 2cd set - nearly 2 1/2 hours worth of incredible ambient/dub. I can listen to this over and over again and i still find it quite breath-taking. Also features a great sleeve!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re: Best of T'Orb, 18 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live 93 (Audio CD)
Love this album dearly, if you need an overview of what the Orb are about, this is it!

Very twiddly, not exactly tuneful but lets you drift away blissfully into your own subconcious (the shortest track is just under 9 minutes). Phones ring, planes fly, pot flies into haybales, it's a mad journey through soundscapes. If you like your music experimental and long-winded, take your phone off the hook and chill...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic chill-out music, 16 Mar 2003
By 
This review is from: Live 93 (Audio CD)
Wow! Ten years, I bought this album when it came out and I was in the middle of secondary school, now here I am in my mid-twenties and I'm still popping it in the CD player. I've followed The Orb right from the start and this (in my opinion) remains their best release.

The tracks are well divided between the two CDs although Disc One wins the "Most Accessible" award. All the classic early Orb tunes are here and the live aspect adds a subtle ambiance to the music that (on reflection) is lost when performed in the studio.
In some cases a live album means reduced sound quality however this isn't true with plenty of samples and bass lines for good audio systems to pick out.

The reworking of tracks is well done with at least ten minutes to build up each one and with some notable differences from their original form, existing Orb fans will enjoy this while newcomers who go onto buy the original versions will wonder why they bothered.

Standouts are the ever-popular Little Fluffy Clouds with an excellent morphine sample and deeply satisfying bass line. Star 6 & 7 8 9 proceeds at slow dreamy pace that is more rounded than the album version and finally everyone's favourite aHEGPBtRftCotU (LU) which stands at a worthy nineteen minutes. Building up with plenty of samples and teasers it finally launches into the core riff and powers its way to the end with another Patterson bass line. Although it's not the best version (see Peel Sessions 1) it is an excellent end to a magnificent double album.

On their Auntie Aubrey's remix project it is written that The Orb is better listened to straight and I would agree with this. Getting blitzed and listening to The Orb defeats the point as there are so many little nuances that are missed when you're wasted on the living room floor. A better plan is to take a quiet summer night, a good stereo, maybe some company then just relax and appreciate some superbly crafted tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Majestic, timeless classic, 22 Sep 2014
By 
Phatcamp "Phatcamp" (Wiltshire, England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live 93 (Audio CD)
Just bought this on CD, having owned the album on tape since its release in 1993. I saw the Orb live for the first time, at Brixton Academy, about a week or so after this album was released and it was probably the best night of my life.

I own probably every single album that they've ever released (even fairly obscure stuff like the 'FFWD' project, 'C Battersea C' and the 'Battersea Shield' stuff that they did with Meat Beat Manifesto), however this is one of my favourites.

They were at the height of their powers during this time and the live tracks on offer here are simply majestic (weak pun intended). One of the greatest examples of ambient / ambient house / ambient dub / ambient techno that you'll ever find, there is just so much depth and interest in here, you could listen a hundred times and still find new layers and hidden gems in the soundscape. Worth every penny. Many have come close but no one has ever topped The Orb in the ambient game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome psychedelic ambient music, 29 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Live 93 (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant example of ambient music at it's best. Most of the songs are fabulous mixes of old seventies musical influences and pure ambient sounds. On top of everything the sound is great and really gives your hifi a serious challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A huge ever pulsating album that rules ..., 28 Jun 2001
By 
lgxgrr@nottingham.ac.uk (On an excursion beyond the Ultraworld, Midlands.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live 93 (Audio CD)
Floating sheep ... evil brothers? What are we to believe? An ambient album that's surprisingly unambient inviting you to concentrate on intensely mad samples; marijuana bombs...morphine drips... 'ripped to the tits on drink and drugs'. The Orb presents you with two options: play this album as sonic wallpaper, and let it redecorate your mind, or put in a little effort and take a trip through their crazy sampledelic soundscape and imagine you really were at the gigs. You decide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars orbular bliss experience, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live 93 (Audio CD)
i 'm a bit of an old f***er as I was 25ish when I first heard the ORB in 89.I had met Alex at my mate Morticia's house which was full of assorted Heads and I didn't even Know He was who he was,I just knew He was mates with Killing Joke which a lot of the household were,and he was from Lundun not 'ull.at that time there was a lot of traffic between Hull and London which was Fun if you know what i mean!Good Times! THE LIVE 93 gives you the ORB live experience which is Wondrfull,even though threre are recordings from differant venues (Glastonbury,Copenhagen,Tokyo)they have been mixed,and blended perfectly to give you that orbular blissfull experience that makes all the s***e fall away,and your in there world,which is personal to every Listener.Personally i wish there were more live recordings released.The Orb are currently releasing early material,but Live is limited so Grab 93 and spin it ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, 8 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Live 93 (Audio CD)
When i first heard this in 90's i was blown away by it and to this day this remains a masterpiece,highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live 93
Live 93 by The Orb (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews