Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mariah Never Fails To Deliver Anything Less Than The Best.
Arguably one of the best vocal albums of all time, the super up-beat title track `Emotions', could the vocals BE anymore stunning?, i mean she uses every technical vocal trick in the book, vibrato octave scales etc. `Can't Let Go', I've heard it a million times but it still makes me cry, it's such a beautiful yet at the same time powerful ballad, i also really enjoyed the...
Published on 17 May 2008 by R. Birkett

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Two AMAZING songs
If you are a Mariah Carey fan then it is worth Buying this album sheerly due to the low price and to complete your collection.It is full of ballads- which are OK for easy listening.However track 1 ('Emotions') is an uptempo, early 90's classic. Additionally 'cant let go' (track 3) is one of Mariah's exceptionally beautiful ballads.Although If you are not one of Mariah...
Published on 15 Feb 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mariah Never Fails To Deliver Anything Less Than The Best., 17 May 2008
This review is from: Emotions (Audio CD)
Arguably one of the best vocal albums of all time, the super up-beat title track `Emotions', could the vocals BE anymore stunning?, i mean she uses every technical vocal trick in the book, vibrato octave scales etc. `Can't Let Go', I've heard it a million times but it still makes me cry, it's such a beautiful yet at the same time powerful ballad, i also really enjoyed the dreamy `Till The End Of Time', again absolutely superb balladry from Carey, should of been a single,`If It's Over' this song was song co-written by Carol King, Mariah did an excellent job on this song vocally,`And You Don't Remember' yet more balladry, but still a brilliant song inclusive of Mariah's trademark octave vocals,`To Be Around You' a catchy up-beat song from the album, that you could play at a party, the vocals are great on this,`The Wind', a lot of people like this song, and can connect to it, as it deals with the fragile nature of death, i personally love this song because it just takes you to a different world, `Make It Happen' another up-beat song about realising your dreams, and the possibility that you could make them happen one day,`You're So Cold' really funky up-beat song, again incorporating those trademark high octave notes, and finally `So Blessed', a terrific ballad, unfortunately they don't write songs like this anymore, a real shame because i loved all the songs from this album so much, and I'll probably keep playing this album for the rest of my life, because i truly love all the work Carey has done over the years, it's simply timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Title Track is a Classic!, 10 Aug 2008
By 
Alex (Bromsgrove, Worcs, U.K) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Emotions (Audio CD)
1. Emotions. 10/10
2. And You Don't Remeber. 9/10
3. Can't Let Go. 10/10
4. Make It Happen. 10/10
5. If It's Over. 10/10
6. You're So Cold. 10/10
7. So Blessed. 8/10
8. To Be Around You. 10/10
9. Till the End of Time. 10/10
10. The Wind. 9/10

OVERALL GRADE: 10/10
Features more uptempo songs than her debut, thus making it better for my ears. Mariah is a phenomenal artist who has gone from strength to strength!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mariah Carey Emotions (C.D), 19 Jun 2010
By 
Jennifer Panting "Ploddie feet" (Burnley, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emotions (Audio CD)
This album includes the popular single 'Emotions' and 'Can't let go'. Mariah Carey can reach the high notes. Nice to see a singer write her own songs. But with company. Most of the songs are slow songs. With a bit of pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHE'S GOT ME FEELIN EMOTIONS!!!!, 12 May 2008
This review is from: Emotions (Audio CD)
WOW!!
THIS IS MY FAVOURITE ALBUM OF ALL TIME!!
EVER!!!!!!!!!!
AAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!
I LOVE IT TOOOOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH!!!
The wind is such a beautiful carefree track about somebody going to heaven/dying. Emotions is one of the greatest songs of all time!! Can't let go is such an amzing ballad!!
To Be around you sounds similar to emotions and is such a happy song that you can dance to!! Same goes for make it happen! And "Till The End Of time" is one of those rare beautiful songs that really does make you shed a tear. The greatest album ever. I'm proud to have it in my collection. Mariah is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great vocals, 2 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Emotions (Audio CD)
this is one of the best albums carey has brought out. filled with powerful vocals and amazing tunes that will leave you intrigued by her amazing voice. i advise anyone who likes mariah carey to get this. you will be impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of her best albums, 5 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Emotions (Audio CD)
I gave her self titled debut 4 stars, because it had some brilliant songs but there were a couple of tracks I thought were a bit cheesy and didn't really like. I was expecting to have a similar opinion of her second album 'Emotions'. I was pleasantly suprised because I liked every track.

1. Emotions - Title track and lead single. Very catchy and uplifting track, vocals impressive as always. 9/10
2. And You Don't Remember - Slow ballad, reminds me of 'I Don't Wanna Cry' from the first album. Not as good as that, but still a great track. 8/10
3. Can't Let Go - Love this one, very well written and produced ballad. That whistle note sent shivers through my spine! 10/10
4. Make It Happen - A bit more uptempo and an uplifting message. I really like it, although it does go on a bit! 9/10
5. If It's Over - Absolutely brilliant. Probably the best song on the album. 10/10
6. You're So Cold - I actually like the intro more than the song itself, but still a good song. Can't help but feel its about Tommy Mottola, although they hadn't even got married yet! 8/10
7. So Blessed - Not really a stand out track, but a nice ballad. 7/10
8. To Be Around You - I didn't think much of this at first, but after a few listens I really like it. Could've been a single. 9/10
9. Til The End Of Time - This track is a darker and somewhat haunting song, but I love it! 9/10
10. The Wind - Wasn't expecting this, not the usual style for Mariah, but what a way to end the album. Its very soothing and relaxing. 10/10

Overall I was very impressed with this album. Its hard to decide on a favourite Mariah Carey album, because they all have different sounds, but this is up there with 'Music Box' and 'Daydream', which I havn't reviewed yet, but will get round to sooner or later. I guess you could argue that it sounds quite similar to the first album, but I think they did a better job this time round. Adding to the mix the songs 'If It's Over' and 'The Wind', make it a bit more varied because they sound very different to anything off the first album. The album has aged quite well, as I often forget i'm listening to something from 1991. Its just timeless and I feel this album is overlooked too often and deserves more recognition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Impressive Female vocalist of the 90s, 8 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Emotions [MINIDISC] (Mini-Disc)
However Emotions is a step down from her amazing debut album, as they all are. Carey and Walter Team up well to co-write/produce ballad like Cant Let go, the best ballad on the album and one of the her best, and you dont remember, and so blessed, though she did team up better with Narada Micheal Walden who bought out her soul and passion better. However, still a good album, Emotions is very upbeat and one of the best pop vocal songs ever performed, Make it Happen an inspirational pop gospel track and finally the one where Carey opens up as an artist, The Wind, nothing pop about it, Carey attempts to sings the blue's and passes with flying colours, if you want to be inspired by one of the greatest voices of all time, then take a listen...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Two AMAZING songs, 15 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Emotions (Audio CD)
If you are a Mariah Carey fan then it is worth Buying this album sheerly due to the low price and to complete your collection.It is full of ballads- which are OK for easy listening.However track 1 ('Emotions') is an uptempo, early 90's classic. Additionally 'cant let go' (track 3) is one of Mariah's exceptionally beautiful ballads.Although If you are not one of Mariah Careys' fans then I wouldn't buy this album as a true indication of her quality as it is her earliest work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 17 May 2014
By 
Ms. N. Khan "nk" (chorley ;uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great songs on the cd love it
Emotions and There's got to be a way both have great mixes love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars emotional, 5 Feb 2014
By 
Andrew Ward "Andy Ward" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emotions (Audio CD)
a very nice album to set this young lady off into the stratosphere. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Emotions
Emotions by Mariah Carey (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews