Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 20/20
This 1998 compilation still appears to be the most comprehensive single CD greatest hits by George Benson, including all his charting UK and USA hits. There are plenty of others available but the single disc versions miss out tracks, and the double versions add many non-charting songs. This one has the lot, and for an older CD the audio quality is very good...
Published on 6 Jun. 2012 by Rob

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not many of the ones I had originally on cassette.
Published 13 days ago by Amazon addict


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 20/20, 6 Jun. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of George Benson (Audio CD)
This 1998 compilation still appears to be the most comprehensive single CD greatest hits by George Benson, including all his charting UK and USA hits. There are plenty of others available but the single disc versions miss out tracks, and the double versions add many non-charting songs. This one has the lot, and for an older CD the audio quality is very good.

Once I had a vinyl hits album which was ok but the audio quality was lacklustre, which made me think I liked George's music less than I had expected from the radio. I thought his music disappointingly bland. No fear of that with this CD, the beautiful music and his voice shine through in all its full-length glory.

Outstanding for me are the songs "The Greatest Love of All" (more soulful than Whitney Houston's good cover version), Nature Boy, Give Me The Night, Lady Love Me (One More Time), 20/20, Turn Your Love Around, and Love X Love; but everything on here is pretty fantastic as one delicious song follows another, beautifully sung and produced.

If you want just one album by this soul supremo, I think this is a good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My CD is different from that listed on Amazon.co.uk, 19 April 2004
By 
Terraine (Chelmsford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best of George Benson (Audio CD)
My copy of the CD has the same catalogue number and artwork, but there are more tracks than the one listed on Amazon.co.uk:
1. Love x Love; 2. In Your Eyes; 3. Give Me The Night; 4. Never Give Up On A Good Thing; 5. Love Ballad; 6. Shiver; 7. Lady Love Me (One More Time); 8. This Masquerade; 9. Feel Like Making Love; 10. Nature Boy; 11. Turn Your Love Around; 12. 20/20; 13. You Are The Love Of My Life (Duet With Roberta Flack); 14. Inside Love (So Personal); 15. Being With You; 16. On Broadway (Live); 17. Breezin'; 18. The Greatest Love Of All.
There is no 'I Just Wanna Hang Around You'; 'Everything Must Change'; 'Kisses In The Moonlight'; or 'Lady Blue'.
My copy of the CD is published by Warner Music UK/Jive Records (1998).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A complete Lurve album, 29 Nov. 1999
This review is from: The Very Best of George Benson (Audio CD)
This CD is a testament showing what a great vocalist and guitarist George is. My favourites are 'In your eyes' and 'The Greatest Love of All'. His songs have the complete mix of blues, jazz and pop. Not only is his voice soulful, his guitar work sucks you into the songs!! A bit of disappointment that the CD does not contain some of his more modern work. 'Footprints in the Sand' would have been great. Can anyone tell me what George did fraom the late 80's to the early 90's. Did he disappear from the musical scene during that period??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary!!, 5 Mar. 2014
By 
Mrs. J. O'Brien "jackieo2668" (surrey,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of George Benson (Audio CD)
Fantastic CD. I love George Benson having seen him in concert so many times. I have all his albums on vinyl and have finally upgraded to CD!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Compliation Ever, 7 Dec. 2013
This review is from: The Very Best of George Benson (Audio CD)
This is my 2nd copy of this album as my original was well used and scratched. Item as described arrived quickly and installed in the car!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars but some tracks were absolutely brilliant and I will seek out more works by this ..., 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of George Benson (Audio CD)
All of it was not to my taste, but some tracks were absolutely brilliant and I will seek out more works by this artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 16 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of George Benson (Audio CD)
Not many of the ones I had originally on cassette.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of George Benson (Audio CD)
classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best of George Benson
The Very Best of George Benson by George Benson (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews