Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars16
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2001
The 'Tenement Symphony'by Marc Almond may not be regarded as his best work, but I think this under-rated concept album is very accesible and well produced. Thought to be hid more mainsteam records, it really does have a lot to offer. The album itself is in two halves - 'The grit and the glitter'. The first half of the album sees mark back in electro-pop territory with fantastic stories in true Marc Almond Fashion, it also sees Marc reunited with his former Soft Cell partner Dave Ball for 'Meet me in my Dreams' and 'I've never seen your face' both being very reminiscent of their Soft Cell Days. The other half has two of the finest cover versions Marc has ever done, 'The days of Pearly Spencer' and Jacques Brel's 'Jacky' which is a huge departure from his earlier work interprating brel on his album 'Jacques' because of the modern dance beats coupled with sublime orchestration.
It may not be regarded as Marc's finest album, but it's high points have rarely been matched.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2004
Marc and his band-mate Dave Ball covered a song that became one of the most recognized synth-pop songs in the world (you know the one). Marc has even been listed as a VH1 "one hit wonder" list. The thing that amazes me is that the albums they (and Marc, solo) created over the ensuing 20 years make that one song seem like a freshman effort. Tenament Sympony is full of color and life, and, like all of his/their music, paints a seedy and glamorous picture most of us don't even know about. The music (the originals and the excellent covers) is some of the best synth music you will encounter. The cover of Brel's "Jacky" alone is worth the price. Fortunately, every song lives up to that standard, and it all comes together as a vibrant, memorable album. It's a very rare record in stores, so if you can find it on Amazon or somewhere, do yourself a favor and check it out.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2004
This is a beautiful piece of work, I purchased it years ago, but recently "Lost" it. (I think someone else liked it too, and borrowed it on a permanent basis)I looked everywhere for it, but to no avail. I had to find another and Amazon came up with the goodies. It is well written, the tunes are very catchy, it's a classic, I defy anyone who listens to it, not to like it. It is far better than his later work.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2010
Easily competing with the best of his Soft Cell career this 1991 album delivered some classy singles, with the shimmering production of Trevor Horn really showing off Marc's talent. For my money it's his best solo album by a mile, the tempo and production are spot-on and the cover versions are inspired. A must have for Marc fans and a worthwhile departure for anyone who enjoys a bit of drama and electronica.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
Great recording. Released by SOME BIZARRE-WEA in Germany 1991. 11 Tracks, including Jacky ( Jacques Brel) and The days of Pearly Spencer (David Mac Williams)
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2006
This was one of the first CDs I bought and I still play it once a month at least. It's one of the masterpieces of the late 80's - early 90's era which produced albums like Nirvana's "Nevermind", Fine Young Cannibals "Raw & Cooked", Seal's "Seal" and Ice T's "O.G. Original Gangster" and wrongfully forgotten pop-gems like Transvision Vamp's "Velveteen", House of Love's "House Of Love", Swing Out Sister's "Get In Touch With Yourself" and Sophie B. Hawkins "Tongues & Tails".

There is not a single weak song and all are magnificiently produced by Trevor Horn and Anne Dudley, which repeated extraordinary orchestrations they did for ABC's "Lexicon Of Love" and Frankie Goes To Hollywood.

This is glamour-pop at its best.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
takes me back to my school days good singer brilliant album recommend this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
One of my favourite Marc Almond albums
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
Great product and seller
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2015
Very good album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)