Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mainstream Marc
The 'Tenement Symphony'by Marc Almond may not be regarded as his best work, but I think this under-rated concept album is very accesible and well produced. Thought to be hid more mainsteam records, it really does have a lot to offer. The album itself is in two halves - 'The grit and the glitter'. The first half of the album sees mark back in electro-pop territory with...
Published on 30 Jan. 2001 by mrtintin

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some great songs, but....
Some great songs here, notably 'The Days of Pearly Spencer' and 'Jacky', but I can't get it to play on my computer, which is seriously annoying, especially as there's no indication in the packaging or on the website, so :-) for content and :-( for the medium here.
Published on 16 Oct. 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mainstream Marc, 30 Jan. 2001
This review is from: Tenement Symphony (Audio CD)
The 'Tenement Symphony'by Marc Almond may not be regarded as his best work, but I think this under-rated concept album is very accesible and well produced. Thought to be hid more mainsteam records, it really does have a lot to offer. The album itself is in two halves - 'The grit and the glitter'. The first half of the album sees mark back in electro-pop territory with fantastic stories in true Marc Almond Fashion, it also sees Marc reunited with his former Soft Cell partner Dave Ball for 'Meet me in my Dreams' and 'I've never seen your face' both being very reminiscent of their Soft Cell Days. The other half has two of the finest cover versions Marc has ever done, 'The days of Pearly Spencer' and Jacques Brel's 'Jacky' which is a huge departure from his earlier work interprating brel on his album 'Jacques' because of the modern dance beats coupled with sublime orchestration.
It may not be regarded as Marc's finest album, but it's high points have rarely been matched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rarely Matched, 29 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Tenement Symphony (Audio CD)
Marc and his band-mate Dave Ball covered a song that became one of the most recognized synth-pop songs in the world (you know the one). Marc has even been listed as a VH1 "one hit wonder" list. The thing that amazes me is that the albums they (and Marc, solo) created over the ensuing 20 years make that one song seem like a freshman effort. Tenament Sympony is full of color and life, and, like all of his/their music, paints a seedy and glamorous picture most of us don't even know about. The music (the originals and the excellent covers) is some of the best synth music you will encounter. The cover of Brel's "Jacky" alone is worth the price. Fortunately, every song lives up to that standard, and it all comes together as a vibrant, memorable album. It's a very rare record in stores, so if you can find it on Amazon or somewhere, do yourself a favor and check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marc Almond, Tenement Symphony, 8 Sept. 2004
By 
Mrs. CJ Stone (Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tenement Symphony (Audio CD)
This is a beautiful piece of work, I purchased it years ago, but recently "Lost" it. (I think someone else liked it too, and borrowed it on a permanent basis)I looked everywhere for it, but to no avail. I had to find another and Amazon came up with the goodies. It is well written, the tunes are very catchy, it's a classic, I defy anyone who listens to it, not to like it. It is far better than his later work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An unexpected masterpiece, 10 Sept. 2010
By 
I. P. Terry (Derby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tenement Symphony (Audio CD)
Easily competing with the best of his Soft Cell career this 1991 album delivered some classy singles, with the shimmering production of Trevor Horn really showing off Marc's talent. For my money it's his best solo album by a mile, the tempo and production are spot-on and the cover versions are inspired. A must have for Marc fans and a worthwhile departure for anyone who enjoys a bit of drama and electronica.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marc Almond in a superb mood, 15 April 2013
Great recording. Released by SOME BIZARRE-WEA in Germany 1991. 11 Tracks, including Jacky ( Jacques Brel) and The days of Pearly Spencer (David Mac Williams)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums ever..., 7 May 2006
By 
Borjan Komarica (Zagreb, Croatia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tenement Symphony (Audio CD)
This was one of the first CDs I bought and I still play it once a month at least. It's one of the masterpieces of the late 80's - early 90's era which produced albums like Nirvana's "Nevermind", Fine Young Cannibals "Raw & Cooked", Seal's "Seal" and Ice T's "O.G. Original Gangster" and wrongfully forgotten pop-gems like Transvision Vamp's "Velveteen", House of Love's "House Of Love", Swing Out Sister's "Get In Touch With Yourself" and Sophie B. Hawkins "Tongues & Tails".

There is not a single weak song and all are magnificiently produced by Trevor Horn and Anne Dudley, which repeated extraordinary orchestrations they did for ABC's "Lexicon Of Love" and Frankie Goes To Hollywood.

This is glamour-pop at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tenement Symphony (Audio CD)
takes me back to my school days good singer brilliant album recommend this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Music to my ears, 20 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tenement Symphony (Audio CD)
One of my favourite Marc Almond albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tenement Symphony (Audio CD)
great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tenement Symphony (Audio CD)
excelent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tenement Symphony
Tenement Symphony by Marc Almond (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews