Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Belting songs you can't stop singing
Listen to this album the first time and have a cry over your ex boyfriend/girlfriend, then just listen to it over and over again. A real heartbreak album but the songs are fantastic and so is Elkie's voice. Just try and not sing along with her.
Published on 13 Sep 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Quiet music
I had to play this cd on a much louder setting than usual, not a huge problem but definatelly a quality issue
Published 22 months ago by Linda Ludwell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Belting songs you can't stop singing, 13 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pearls (Audio CD)
Listen to this album the first time and have a cry over your ex boyfriend/girlfriend, then just listen to it over and over again. A real heartbreak album but the songs are fantastic and so is Elkie's voice. Just try and not sing along with her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pearls, 13 May 2010
By 
Thomas Deacon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pearls (Audio CD)
I had'nt heard this cd for over 20 years but it did not sound dated and it reminded me how good a singer Elkie Brooks is a classic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elkie Brooks, 1 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pearls II (Reissue) (MP3 Download)
I have enjoyed Elkie's music since a teenager however I found this was not one of her best albums I still think Pearls is her best of all time, hard to top!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Album, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pearls (Audio CD)
A classic from years gone but still one for the collection. I would recommend for the Elkie fan. Such brilliant song from the past, brings back a lot of memories!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pearls, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pearls (Audio CD)
One of my favourite albums. Liked Elke Broods from the first time I heard her and her music still pleases me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Severely under-rated - do yourself a favour and listen to her, 17 May 2008
By 
Ralph Bacon "Aresby" (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pearls (Audio CD)
You would think that songs from the 1970s would sound a little dated by now; but then you wouldn't be talking about Elkie Brooks' Pearls, the CD that gave me a heads up 30 years ago and which recently made me rediscover her on CD (now that I had nothing on which to play my original vinyl copy).

Her gravelly voice goes so well with the words, which will get you sobbing into your glass of Beaujolais if you are in the least bit emotional.

If you don't know of Elkie Brooks' music then this is the CD to buy first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pearls, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pearls (MP3 Download)
have loved Elkie Brooks for years, great album with good numbers also got Peals 2 would recommend getting both . Mal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elkie's best-selling album., 9 April 2009
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
'Pearls' will be Elkie's best remembered album. Twelve fabulous tracks, including all her hits to date at the time. This became a massive seller for her and just missed the Number One stop Peaking at Number Two in the Albums Chart back in 1981. This also includes some covers that Elkie Brookes makes sound all her own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elkie's best-selling album., 9 April 2009
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Pearls (Audio CD)
'Pearls' will be Elkie's best remembered album. Twelve fabulous tracks, including all her hits to date at the time. This became a massive seller for her and just missed the Number One stop Peaking at Number Two in the Albums Chart back in 1981. This also includes some covers that Elkie Brookes makes sound all her own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pearls 2. C.d., 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pearls II (Audio CD)
Elkie Brooks. Pearls C.d. was everything I expected it to be very very good, she's a Great Singer, and talented artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pearls
Pearls by Elkie Brooks (Audio CD - 1984)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews