Customer Reviews


33 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 20 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Wonderful Life (Audio CD)
I actually went out and bought a CD player when this album was first released (for the five bonus tracks). Although some of the instrumentation may sound a little dated, the songs are timeless. If you like the title track, buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to Black, 27 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Wonderful Life (Audio CD)
What an excellent album - I bought it on vinyl when it came out first time around (yes I'm that old and more!) and subsequently on CD. Not a duff track in sight. Wonderful life is great but the sweetest smile stands head and shoulders above the rest - if this does not melt your heart then I am afraid it must be made of wood. Watch out for it in a remake of a love film soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply Wonderful !, 8 July 2000
By 
This review is from: Wonderful Life (Audio CD)
The first album from Colin Vearnecomb et all is surprising. Surprising in the sense that it is not what you expected. The infamous WONDERFUL LIFE track will go down in history as a gem. What's unexpected about this is the fact that we haven't heard Blacks style in more upbeat tracks. Whilst the album is well worth a listen and is very enjoyable, I fear it may not be what you expected. Even the most ardent fans of Black would admit this album is both surprising and disappointing. But don't give up just yet - try Comedy.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still wonderful!, 31 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonderful Life (Audio CD)
Having heard Black on a golden year show on the radio and thinking wow that still sounds good. I ordered the album and it sounds great. How this man was not a big star I will never know. lovers of 80's music will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Northern Soul, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonderful Life (Audio CD)
This album is a real treat. Northern soul at it's best. It comes from a kind of dark place but is so inspiring and
rather beautiful. There are no gimmicks here, this is pure class. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 24 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonderful Life (Audio CD)
An excellent album from a great 80/90s group. The wife loved it as a present...cant say anymore about it really
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning vocal., 3 May 2015
This review is from: Wonderful Life (Audio CD)
Had this on vinyl as a teenager when it first came out and was never off of my turntable for months. Although all the other reviews praise the sound and songwriting they all neglect to mention what a beautiful and rich voice Vercomb has, back in the day before auto tune and computers fixing voices, this man is one of the most naturally smooth and soulful singers I've ever heard. Stunning from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonderful Life (Audio CD)
I had this on vinyl and am loving hearing it on my ipod now - I'd forgotten how good it is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely SUPERB album, but, whoever chose the bonus tracks is obviously NOT a fan..., 21 Jun. 2011
By 
Jangly Mark "Love is a weakness in the knees.... (I live on a blue planet that I saw in her eyes...) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wonderful Life (Audio CD)
I caannot begin to relate just how good this album is. (Why it got 4 stars rather than 5 from me later).

There are two Black albums woth owning...and this is the pearl. (The other is 'Comedy', after that Black went into AOR-mush territory).

This is the most poignant, emotional album that Black (Aka Colin Vearncombe) ever released - unsurprising when it was inspired by the breakup of his marriage.

And, of course, every angsty teenage kid (it was a BIG seller - most great albums don't make it into public consciousness, but, this is one exception), the words and the music fitted like a glove, along with The Cure's 'Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me' (only surpassed with 'Disintegration' a couple of years later), almost anything by The Smiths, and The Rose Of Avalanche 'Never Another Sunset' deserves a mention here as well...

This was truly the sound of heartbreak, from the tongue-in-cheek-almost-sarcastic-denial of the title track, through the neandethal-testosterone-laden-teen in 'Just Making Memories' to the sheer-heartbreak-caught-in-song that is 'Sweetest Smile' - if you can listen to 'Sweetest Smile' on headphones and not shed a tear, you are not human...it's certainly as close, honest and cutting as anything The Field Mice have written - and from me, that's a BIG compliment.

It truly is an excellent album...but, I will knock off a star for the lack of inclusion in the bonus tracks 'Birthday Night', one of the most bittersweet, but, also most upbeat, songs that Black ever released (it was the b-side to the first release of the 'Wonderful Life' single - and is one of Black's best songs).

Finally, fans of this album should check out the Magnetic Fields '69 Love Songs' album...a triple CD set, but, readily available for around 6 quid here on Amazon - money I GUARANTEE is well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Brief Light in the Sky, 8 Jan. 2011
By 
This review is from: Wonderful Life (Audio CD)
Black (aka Colin Vearncombe) may be filed under 'whatever happened to?' these days, but his debut album in 1987 was undeniably a cracker, and deservedly reached no. 3 in the UK charts. He wasn't able to maintain this level of quality afterwards, but he's certainly not alone in that. WL's overall mood, reflecting the cover, is pretty sombre, but it's got enough changes of pace and drive to keep things interesting. Stand outs include the title track, I'm Not Afraid and Just Making Memories. The cd version runs rapidly out of gas after Sweetest Smile - the following four songs would have been better left on the studio floor in my opinion - but the original 10 songs all well justify their inclusion., with a seamless quality about them. Try it - you'll be pleasantly surprised...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wonderful Life
Wonderful Life by Black (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews