Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bryan Adams at his best
This is Bryan Adams' finest album and one that is just as enjoyable to hear now as when it came out. The production, arrangements, songwriting, singing, playing are all faultless (with the exception of the silly "Kids wanna rock"). From up-front rockers ("One night love affair", "Summer of '69", "Somebody", "It's only...
Published on 6 Sep 2000

versus
2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely the best Bryan Adams album ever!
There is no doubt that this is the best Bryan Adams album of all, as much as anything because the rest of his stuff is rather average.
Having said that, Reckless is quite an enjoyable album which spawned a few timeless hits (Run to you, Heaven and Summer of '69). But lifting it to "classic" status is perhaps a step too far.
Published on 19 May 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bryan Adams at his best, 6 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Reckless (Audio CD)
This is Bryan Adams' finest album and one that is just as enjoyable to hear now as when it came out. The production, arrangements, songwriting, singing, playing are all faultless (with the exception of the silly "Kids wanna rock"). From up-front rockers ("One night love affair", "Summer of '69", "Somebody", "It's only love") to the incredible power-ballad "Heaven" and the mid-tempo "Run to you", I can find no reason to criticise this album.
BA may be passing ungracefully into middle age, but this album is his legacy and will stand the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute classic., 1 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Reckless (Audio CD)
Most of the material released by Bryan Adams during his long career has been mediocre at best. BUT... in the mid 80s he made this album and I will always be grateful to him that he did! After 16 years of regular listening, I still love it just as much. Raw energy, unpolished production and good songs all contribute to its magic. Quite simply, this is one of the best albums ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite album of all time, 16 Mar 2006
This review is from: Reckless (Audio CD)
This is an all time classic and a CD that everyone should have in their collection. If all artists have one 'seminal' work, this is Bryan's. It has 10 tracks, 8 of which still feature regularly in his live set lists, and these include the Bryan Adams songs that everybody knows and loves - like 'Run to You', 'Heaven', 'Summer of 69' and 'Kids Wanna Rock'.
Despite being released in 1984 I think it is timeless and doesn't sound that dated even today, unlike some of his later stuff like Waking up the Neighbours (still a good CD but not a classic like Reckless).
For me the highlights of this album are the first two tracks, 'One night love affair' and 'She's only happy when she's dancing'. These are lesser-known to non-Bryan Adams fans but to me they are the two of the most catchy, unforgettable and brilliantly-written songs not only on this album but of his whole 25-year career.
There's nothing 'clever' about this album - it is just ten very simple, very melodic, feel-good pop/rock songs which I've never tired of listening to over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bryan Adams' best, 13 Jun 2013
By 
A. Sweeney "I don't care what you call me" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reckless (Audio CD)
Is there any doubt that "Reckless", Canadian rocker Bryan Adams' fourth album, is the pinnacle of his career? OK, there was the massive success of that "Everything I Do" single, but do you know anybody who still likes that song after it was UK number one for around sixteen years? Yes, yes, I know it was sixteen weeks, but at the time it felt like years. I don't know what it is about "Reckless", but everything just seems to be right about it. The songs are fantastic (co-writer Jim Vallance brought the best out of Adams), the production perfect, the performances full of energy and the whole album has a confidence and joy that he'd never managed to capture before and struggled to regain afterwards.

The singles (there were seven of them from the ten tracks, which gives it the feel of a greatest hits collection rather than a studio album) are amongst his best songs ever - the morally-dubious cheater's anthem "Run To You" is far better than the subject matter deserves (it's probably one of the greatest songs of the decade), "Summer Of '69" is a fist-poundingly joyous slice of nostalgia, "Heaven" is beautifully tender and, despite the power ballad bombast, is wonderfully romantic, passionate slice of soft rock, "One Night Love Affair" is a melodic rocker that kicks off the album with a sense of purpose, the duet with Tina Turner, "It's Only Love" has a fantastic opening riff and more balls than a sports equipment store and "Somebody" is a immensely catchy piece of pop-rock. The only single on the album I'm not overly keen on is "Kids Wanna Rock" as it seems to be the only cynically-written track to 'get the crowds going'. It's not bad, it's just not anywhere near as good as the rest of the material on the release.

The other album tracks are also pretty good, "Long Gone", especially; if it had been on one of Bryan's weaker albums, it probably would have been a single. "She's Only Happy When She's Dancing" is a little throwaway and ordinary, but not too distracting from the overall quality of "Reckless". Altogether, it's not an over-exaggeration to call this a classic album, probably the only one that Adams has to his name, despite the longevity of his career and many hit singles. There are always going to be people who will sneer at a mainstream rock album like this, but for anyone who enjoys rock music, one listen to "Reckless" would probably be enough to convince those, apart from the biggest cynics, that this is a truly great piece of work. As George Michael would later title one of his albums, you really do need to listen without prejudice. Definitely one of the best albums of the 1980s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bryan Adams still sounding great, 28 May 2014
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reckless (Audio CD)
I loved this album when it first came out in 1985 and still like it now. Adams has a voice like scraping burnt toast - or even better - you feel a gentle soul behind the growl. He seems wild but somehow full of tenderness, like a lynx that would come over to you and purr: it's a surprising combination. All the tracks are good, Summer of '69 being a stand-out moment. It really is modern rock at its best - Tina Turner certainly knew a good thing when she hooked up with him to sing It's Only Love, featured on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Classic, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reckless (Audio CD)
Although, I have had this on vinyl since its release 30 odd years ago, it is only recently that I have bought the CD version. This is Bryan Adams best work. All the classic are here. Somebody, Run to You, Summer of 69 etc.. These songs are probably the most played Bryan Adams songs on the radio today. It's a great feel good rock n roll album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Album!, 3 Feb 2013
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Reckless (Audio CD)
Like a lot of people, 'Reckless' was my first Bryan Adams' album and my hand downs favourite. Everything about it is perfect, from the quality production and arrangements to the impressive songwriting and the actual material. The rocking 'Summer Of 69' and the power-ballad 'Heaven' are both classics that everyone seems to know and love. But there is so much more to love on this CD, 'Run To You', 'One Night Love Affair' and 'She's Only Happy When She's Dancing' are excellent feel-good songs, catchy, hard rocking and set the tone for the rest of the album.

'Reckless' easily sits perfectly in my top 20 albums of all time, people loved it in 1984 and it still sounds just as new and exciting today. If you want to start a collection of Bryan Adams' albums or just want to have one in your collection - make it 'Reckless', his fourth solo effort and the one that made his name. It's great fun to listen to with no filler material present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reckless, 15 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reckless (Audio CD)
This was the first CD I bought back in the 80's and because I was into all things Bryan Adams I played it to death.

Bryan Adams' material from the 80's is some of his best work IMO. This album certainly has some classic 80's tunes on it, Run To You, Somebody, It's Only Love, Kids Wanna Rock and the power ballad Heaven.

This was Kerrang's album of the year in 1984 and I think they were right!!

If you like Bryan Adams get this CD, If you like 80's soft rock then get this. It will bring back some good memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definite Contender For Album of The 80's, 20 Oct 2011
By 
David Cook (Hurlford, Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reckless (Audio CD)
Originally released in 1984, Reckless (Adams fourth studio album) was his first to be a huge success worldwide, and deservedly so. From the opening bars of One Night Love Affair to the final track a consistently high standard is kept throughout of rockers and the excellent ballad Heaven (a No.1 hit for him in the U.S.).

A timeless classic rock album sung and played with gusto and passion by Bryan and his band (with a little help from Tina Turner along the way) this record hasn't dated in the slightest imo and remains Adams best studio date.

Highly recommended.

David Cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The album has still has to beat, 3 July 2000
This review is from: Reckless (Audio CD)
OK so Bryan Adams may not be the coolest musician around but he sure can right good tunes. This album is a prime example of what he can do. Classics like Summer of 69, Run to you, heaven and kids wanna rock. If you want to hear Bryan ROck out, buy this now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reckless
Reckless by Bryan Adams (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews