Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bryan At His Best
This is truely the most under-rated Bryan Adams album of all-time. Even though Bryan didn't have his biggest hits from Into The Fire, the first track "Heat Of The Night" is the most known, with Bryan playing the lead guitar, which is also rare to find. The other tracks on the album are just outstanding, and have a class none of his other albums have. The touchy...
Published on 20 Feb 2002

versus
2 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bryan stumbles
After the outstanding "Cuts like a knife" and "Reckless", more of the same was probably in order, but BA waited three years to release an album which, although still well produced, is woefully lacking in the songwriting department. There's little here to be commended - perhaps the best moments are the rather derivative "Heat of the...
Published on 6 Sep 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bryan At His Best, 20 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Into The Fire (Audio CD)
This is truely the most under-rated Bryan Adams album of all-time. Even though Bryan didn't have his biggest hits from Into The Fire, the first track "Heat Of The Night" is the most known, with Bryan playing the lead guitar, which is also rare to find. The other tracks on the album are just outstanding, and have a class none of his other albums have. The touchy "Into The Fire" is definitely one of my favorite songs but good-oldstyle rockers like "Only The Strong Survive", "Another Day" and "Rebel" are songs not to be missed. The most outstanding tracks are "Into The Fire", "Native Son", "Remembrance Day" and "Hearts On Fire". My conclusion is that Bryan has completed this album with a lot of style, and what the critics say about that lyrics were never his best thing: Think again, because Bryan's lyrics are the most touching you can imagine, and very well written too. The fans love him for his music and the strong lyrics, which on every album are very well written. A 5 star is even underrated for this album, it deserves a 10 star as far as I'm concerned :)
Tom Verbroekken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't get any better, 25 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Into The Fire (Audio CD)
I like this album and play it regularly. Having rocked with the Reckless/Cuts like a knife albums, this was departure into a more thoughtful style of music. Why isn't a rock star allowed a conscience ? 'Into the fire' is the last great album from Bryan Adams, and probably his most personal. 'Native Son' deals with the issues of mis-treated native indians, Remebrance Day and Rebel deal with subjects surrounding Canada and the early 1900's. There are still some rock tracks such as 'Hearts on Fire' and 'Only the strong survive' but it is essentially 'his' album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably Bryan's best work to date, 27 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Into The Fire (Audio CD)
Although this was released before Bryan was a major star in Britain, some of the songs on this CD have never been bettered. The music is wide-ranging, from the classy rock tune 'Only the strong survive', to the slower, more soulful 'Native son', which is definitely the best song here. 'Remembrance day' has since become an anthem for peace, and none of the songs dissapoint. It is a tradgedy that none of these songs were included on the 'Best of me' album. A true, if unrecognised, classic of its time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Overlooked Gem, 2 Jan 2009
By 
nm1270 (Tonypandy,Mid Glamorgan, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Into The Fire (Audio CD)
When I bought my first CD player as a 17 year old in 1987 there were two CD's that were always in the disc-drive,one was 'The Lonesome Jubilee' by John Mellencamp and the other was 'Into The Fire' - Bryan Adams' most mature offering.
'Into The Fire' never set the world alight (excuse the pun!) and why should it?After all there were no obvious singles here and it only contained two songs concerning love/relationships in the form of the ballad 'Victim Of Love' and the rocking single 'Hearts On Fire'.Unlike Bryan's previous albums there were no fist-in-the-air anthems ALA 'Kids Wanna Rock' or radio friendly songs such as 'Run To You' and 'Summer Of '69'.Many of his fans at the time probably felt let-down which is understandable but with a little patience and scratching at the surface the listener should begin to appreciate the album for what it is -a conscientious and topical adult rock album,a definite 'grower'.
'Into The Fire' is the sound of a 27 year old singer/songwriter and his band maturing and reaching their peak both musically and lyrically.Every song is strong,kicking off with the drug-running themed 'In The Heat Of The Night' leading into the brooding,downbeat title track.'Another Day' is about making ends meet-"They say the best in life is free but if you don't pay then you don't eat".
The best track on the album has to be 'Native Son' a tale of the injustice inflicted on Native Americans as described by it's powerful lyrics:-
"I've seen many moons through these wrinkled eyes,
The years have made me old but they've made me wise,
Now the white man lives where our rivers run,
Like dogs we were driven from this place,
Such injustice time will not erase,"
'Native Son' tails off with a simply sublime guitar solo by Keith Scott.
The blistering 'Only The Strong Survive' then divides the album in half before returning to the sombre War ballad 'Remembrance Day' and the piano based 'Rebel',stark and somewhat sentimental reminders of yesteryear.Mickey Curry,Keith Scott and Dave Taylor are underrated,exceptional musicians and the songwriting of Bryan Adams and Jim Vallance was never better than this.
If you're tempted to buy 'Into The Fire' don't expect another 'Reckless' or 'Cuts Like A Knife',this one takes time and a few plays but when it's hooks get imbedded in your pants they won't let go.
An overlooked and underrated gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If ONLY he had continued down this path..., 15 July 2011
By 
Mark Porter "morris" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Into The Fire (Audio CD)
It seems like an age ago now but Bryan Adams was under huge pressure at the time to follow his worldwide breakthrough album `Reckless.' `Into The Fire,' for me at least, is by FAR the best album Bryan Adams has ever recorded. The songs here are mature, reflective and brilliantly written, arranged and played. I remember reading that the bands were holed up for a number of weeks in a large house and the drum parts for some of the tracks were recorded in a large cupboard to get the huge sound. Every track on here is head and shoulders above much of the guff that came later (`18 Til I Die' for example). The late Bob Clearmountain was still at the helm here; this was before Adams turned to Def Leppard producer Mutt Lange and allowed him to (over) produce the soul right out of his performances.
This album burns and broods but it rocks too. It just does so in a far more imaginative way than seems to have been the case since. The opening track `Heat of the Night' comes over like a modern film noir soundtrack; it builds a sense of menace and sets the atmosphere. The title track is classic, as are `Native Son' in which a Native American elder sits atop a mountain and explains the history of his people and their land to a young boy.
`Rebel' is about a man back from the war, perhaps a private one, struggling to fit in with the sleepy town he left behind `there's a new coat of paint on the front garden gate but there's more here than first meets the eye.' These songs tell stories. They ignore the banal strut of the later material. I wouldn't be so critical of what came next had this album not been so brilliant.
Writing this, I can hear in my head the haunting refrain from `Remembrance Day' - (the guns will be silent, there'll be no more fighting, we'll lay down our weapons... on Remembrance Day).
It is such a huge shame that Bryan Adams didn't continue down the path this album seemed to take him, if he had I feel that he would be taken far more seriously as an artist these days. Just listen to each of the samples that Amazon has made available, no further explanation should be needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bryan Adams .. really Into The Fire, 15 July 2003
This review is from: Into The Fire (Audio CD)
This is perhaps the best album of Bryan Adams that provokes lots of thoughts in critical issues. The Music well suits the songs and my fav is NATIVE SON. no doubt the song is addressed to the Whites who invaded America and threw away the Native Sons !
i hope eveyone enjoys and understands this album.
If you are a BA fan and if you don't have this album then U r missing a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bryan Adams finest to date, 19 Dec 2008
By 
Comical Engineer "comicaleng" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Into The Fire (Audio CD)
This album is, in my opinion, the height of Bryan Adams' achievements to date. It's a little harder edged than Summer of 69 and much less pop than "everything.." It's also well prduced - but then Bob Clearmountain co-produced with Adams so that's to be expected.

This is a rock album not a pop album, with good lyrics, great melodies and powerful delivery. Key tracks for me are Native Son (one of my all time favouite rock tracks), Into the Fire, Rebel and Hearts on Fire. That said, there's not a duff track on the album. This is one of those very few albums that stands the test of time. I have this on my MP3 player twenty years after buying it on CD. That says it all really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars underestamated adams album, 9 Feb 2007
By 
M. gaylard "MG" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Into The Fire (Audio CD)
BA at his best,and the last he did.Tottaly under preveiwed many years ago,but 1 of my fave albums of all times.So many songs with meaningful values and a truley well written album,with class songs such as native son,home again[total rock balled]and the total rock n roll another day.This album gives u rock,blues and total satisfaction music.Buy this album,u won't b dissapointed,and its 4 any TRUE music lover.L've had this album 4 20 yrs,and it still sounds great.BUY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bryan Adams - Into The Fire (5 Star Review), 24 May 2005
By 
Clodagh Quinn (Co.Down, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Into The Fire (Audio CD)
Contrary to some reviews this is an amazing album, a definate outsider but some fantastic songs from the beautiful "Native Son", the unforgetttable "Hearts on Fire" and of course the title track "Into the Fire".
Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than Reckless!, 11 May 2007
By 
Adamski (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Into The Fire (Audio CD)
Reckless is a brilliant LP but in my opinion Bryan bettered it with this offering. The songs are darker and it's more of a masculine record than Reckless - that's not meant in a girl/boy way, men have their feminine sides too! The songs are soooo strong, I can't think what a previous reviewer was talking about saying they are weak. Maybe he doesn't know what a good song is. Real melodic, emotive stuff with stunning guitar from Keith Scott again. 5+/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Into The Fire
Into The Fire by Bryan Adams (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews