Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical pipes and drums
This recording is an exhilarating fusion of bagpipes and drums typifying the best of Scottish music. All the tracks are most satisfying and there is a great deal of variety ranging from the soulful Mull of Kintyre to the jaunty Drunken Piper. The pipes and drums blend magically - Edinburgh Castle is a fine example. Even those who aren"t bagpipe enthusiasts can"t...
Published on 12 Feb. 2001

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
This is not The Pipes and Drums - it's a regimental band - which happens to include pipes and drums - playing music. Previous commentaries says it's full of Scottish flavour, but as a Scot, I'd definitely say No it's not, it's just a rather commercial selection of music played by a Regimental Band . The most interesting thing are the notes about the Royal Scots Dragoon...
Published 12 months ago by Sherry Falconer Monson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical pipes and drums, 12 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Flower Of Scotland (Audio CD)
This recording is an exhilarating fusion of bagpipes and drums typifying the best of Scottish music. All the tracks are most satisfying and there is a great deal of variety ranging from the soulful Mull of Kintyre to the jaunty Drunken Piper. The pipes and drums blend magically - Edinburgh Castle is a fine example. Even those who aren"t bagpipe enthusiasts can"t fail to find this CD melodious and charming. Fans on the other hand will wnnt to play it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flower Of Scotland (Audio CD)
This is not The Pipes and Drums - it's a regimental band - which happens to include pipes and drums - playing music. Previous commentaries says it's full of Scottish flavour, but as a Scot, I'd definitely say No it's not, it's just a rather commercial selection of music played by a Regimental Band . The most interesting thing are the notes about the Royal Scots Dragoon Guards and their band. There are many better CD's; this title is a real misleader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music to thrill all Scots in particular, 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flower Of Scotland (Audio CD)
I could not resist sending for this recording as I am Scottish myself and served my National Service in the army at Leith Fort in Edinburgh before being transferred to the castle for my last 6 months service. We used to hear many bands rehearsing for things like the Tattoo etc and The Royal Scots Dragoon Guards have been very popular with music lovers all over the world and even managed to get their version of Amazing Grace in to the hit parade in the UK some years ago. I liked this Flower of Scotland cd recording so much that I bought a several of them to give as presents to all my musical friends. I may add that they were priced very reasonably and appreciated by all who received one. Flower of Scotland has almost become a Scottish anthem at Football matches etc. I like it a great deal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, 2 May 2010
By 
Some excellent songs from the Royal Scots Dragoon Guards. Very useful as background music to revision aswell!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Och Aye the noo!, 21 Jun. 2013
By 
S. Metcalfe "Steve M" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flower Of Scotland (Audio CD)
Was very cheap, and was bought to add a bit of atmos to a Burns night supper we were hosting, all in all worked a treat, haven't played it since mind you, but might wheel it out at New Year and do the Burns night thing again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Amazing, 10 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flower Of Scotland (Audio CD)
This is an old CD, just as enjoyable now as I'm sure it was when it first came out. Those who play on this CD do a great job of bringing the emotion out of each note of music. "Pure Dead Brilliant" !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flpwers Never Sounded So Good., 15 July 2014
This review is from: The Flower Of Scotland (Audio CD)
Thoroughly enjoyed this CD. It brought back memories when I was on escort duties in Scotland. Anyone buying this CD will not be disappointed. Put your feet up and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Flower of Scotland., 9 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flower Of Scotland (Audio CD)
Thank you the cd it is in good condition and arrived safely. Although I was late in ordering it will be played a our next clan get together which I look forward to .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Grand Introduction to Scotland, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flower Of Scotland (Audio CD)
I bought this disk to act as an introduction to an Address To The Haggis at a Burns Night Supper in Basingstoke, Hampshire. The audience of forty enjoyed it immensely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars homely music, 6 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flower Of Scotland (Audio CD)
for me the sound of the bagpipes are very welcoming and homely great through headphones sends shivers down you back lay back and think of the military tattoo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Flower Of Scotland
The Flower Of Scotland by The Band of Royal Scots Dragoon Guards (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews