Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars liquid rhythms,sonic beauty. its all there, 4 Aug 2001
By A Customer
Thoroughly recommended if you like fsol,basically outtakes from the lifeforms sessions,being in favour of using monikers,fsol released this as amorphous androgenous,not much hype with the release,but for those in the know,this is a gem of an album,easily on a par with their best work to date(still waiting for new sounds boys!).one track segues into another,not exactly ambience more beats orientated,i like to use the expression 'liquid sounds' when describing this album and much of fsol's later work,the sounds are so crisp,clear,clean and dirty,just close your eyes when listening,images build up in your mind almost as if its narrating a place or time to you,give it a try you wont be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great if you like FSOL..., 23 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Tales Of Ephidrina (Audio CD)
The title/artist of this CD belies the content; this is actually an album by The Future Sound of London, made up of the leftovers after "Lifeforms" was released. Not to disparage it by any means; this is quality stuff! It's just that the material didn't fit in with the rest of "Lifeforms" so rather than shelve it, FSOL released it under another name. Consequently, if you like FSOL, from their first to most recent album, you'll love this CD. Twisting between undefinable sounds and haunting melodies with phat beats and bass to die for, this album is all we have come to expect from FSOL. Can't wait for the new album out after Xmas 2000...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album is huge, 23 Jan 2008
This review is from: Tales Of Ephidrina (Audio CD)
Sadly this is the type of old stuff no one cares for anymore. Regardless, this little jewel is a masterpiece of ambient sounds and some beats which stands highest among "early" electronica stuff. Everyone who likes FSOL will like this even better. All of the tracks are very good and it is a very pleasurable album to listen to in the dark, letting your mind go, flowing freely. Great artwork too.

I got into FSOL and related releases when I was living in London, so these albums are very cherished to me. I guess I am a nostalgic, anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oft-forgotten ambient techno gem, 31 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. R. Baker (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tales Of Ephidrina (Audio CD)
Due to its 'side-project' nature, and suggestions of it being leftovers from 1994's FSOL album "Lifeforms", "Tales of Ephidrina" often gets left out of discussions and lists regarding FSOL and early '90s ambient techno. Which isn't to say that it's underrated - you'll be pushed to find a negative review of this little album, and quite fairly so.
Sitting comfortably between Dougans and Cobain's earlier techno-led, four-to-the-floor album "Accelerator", and the aforementioned sprawling ambient magnum opus "Lifeforms", "Tales of Ephidrina" combines pulsing kick drums and snappy hi-hats with field recordings, synth textures and other sonic debris that the FSOL name eventually became synonymous with. Opener Liquid Insects features one of the duo's trademark two minute 'environments' opening the album, before launching, full-throttle, into a pounding techno number that gives the dance music leaders of their day a run for their money. Similar energy is found in the album's near-title track, Ephidrena, and the bleep house of Auto Pimp. Elsewhere, things calm down, with slower breaks and shuffling beats driving Fat Cat and In Mind forward at a more thoughtful pace. Only on Mountain Goat, however, do we witness the band's full ambient potential, with its layers of acoustic guitar, strings and gurgling sounds (which sound suspiciously like something from Tangerine Dream's "Phaedra" album), suggesting the path the band would take in the future.
Like its intended follow-up (1994's scrapped Amorphous Androgynous album, "Environments", which turned up under the FSOL guise in 2007), "Tales of Ephidrina" is a bite-sized album, running little longer than 45 minutes, but one which deserves more recognition as an example of some of the best rhythmic music to come out of the '90s ambient boom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent CD for the FSOL completist, 31 Dec 2000
By 
P. Godfrey "mcbpete" (SW England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I actually found this (American) version of the CD in a shop hidden away in a corner, and only looking at the FSOL Lifeforms album that I found out that it was one of their aliases. Anyway the tracks on the album are more Dance orientated that that of the later FSOL moniker and reflects that of FSOL's earlier Accellerator era. The tracks flow together to form a whole album rather that just a string of single songs. Each of the tracks of sonically superb and creates a vivid soundscape that is chilling as it is intriguing. In conclusion a worthwhile purchase for anyone interested in FSOL's less ambient work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crazy bleeps to satisfy the mind, 9 Nov 2010
This review is from: Tales Of Ephidrina (Audio CD)
Didnt buy anything throughout my raving days and when i stopped raving and chose to reflect on the dancefloor craziness this was one of the first albums purchased. The haunting samples sublime basslines and phantasmagoric soundscapes make this one of the weirdest trips you'll experience ever. Rates alongside pink floyd as one of those era enhancing moods that enchant the imagination over and over again. like a cat curious of whats beyond the gap in the door i keep playing and searching for more. Only for the headstrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very deep ambient trip, 1 Mar 2011
By 
I. A. Preece "bugjam" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tales Of Ephidrina (Audio CD)
Back in 1993 I didn't quite know what to make of 'Tales of Ephidrina' on first listen. By the 4th or 5th listen the penny dropped and it became one of my favourite ambient/ experimental albums. It's very original stuff and very ground breaking for the time pushing the boundaries of electronic music. It can get pretty dark and hypnotic at times which makes for a very interesting album on a par with the spiritual depths of Lifeforms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales Of Ephidrina (Audio CD)
I just love this CD so much, bought it before xmas and its never been out of the car. One of the best purchases ive made. quite simply their best work that Ive heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars outlook Amorphous Androgynous, 30 May 2013
This review is from: Tales Of Ephidrina (Audio CD)
When I bought this album I was speechless, I knew nothing of its author, it's music, I liked the name, title and album cover, and when I heard I was ecstatic. A celestial electronic music, with guitars to touch the edges of the heart. Then I learned that some musicians were of Future Sound of London, which I have never liked them. For that I foll Amorphous Androgynous only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FSOL, 11 July 2003
This review is from: Tales Of Ephidrina (Audio CD)
if you like FSOL then you better buy this!
along the lines of acelerator but with more of an ambient twist, it will make you want to watch predator again !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tales Of Ephidrina
Tales Of Ephidrina by Amorphous Androgynous (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews