Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 20 track collection
Forget all of the sub-standard Lindisfarne compilations on the market which regularly contain live versions of their Charisma-era tracks. This is a collection of the Charisma material in it's original form including the hits 'Meet Me On The Corner', 'Lady Eleanor' & 'All Fall Down' along with the well-known 'Fog On The Tyne' + selected album tracks & B-sides. An added...
Published on 16 Nov. 2003 by Jimbo Starr

versus
217 of 225 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars EMI? - No Integrity Left It Seems
I absolutely LOVE Lindisfarne, and if you are new to their music then you're in for a major treat, assuming you have a folk-rock inclination. This is a wonderful selection of Lindisfarne tracks, and I should know, I grew up listening to these songs every day. This is fantastic music.
But let's discuss the actual merits of this release by EMI. My reviews focus on the...
Published on 25 Jan. 2005 by Remaster Bob


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

217 of 225 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars EMI? - No Integrity Left It Seems, 25 Jan. 2005
By 
Remaster Bob (Hong Kong, China SAR Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Of Lindisfarne (Audio CD)
I absolutely LOVE Lindisfarne, and if you are new to their music then you're in for a major treat, assuming you have a folk-rock inclination. This is a wonderful selection of Lindisfarne tracks, and I should know, I grew up listening to these songs every day. This is fantastic music.
But let's discuss the actual merits of this release by EMI. My reviews focus on the sound quality of discs and they are regularly veto-ed by Amazon.co.uk for the simple reason that they are generally unfavourable. For some reason the guidelines on customer reviews dictate that you should not talk about the sound quality! How perverse and potentially fatal is that?
Compact discs have now been remastered three even four times already, and unless customers can keep tracks on which version they are about to buy, they will get rapidly disillusioned, as I have. Online vendors like Amazon MUST get this information absolutely correct; they must TELL US!
This review of mine will probably be veto-ed as well. Because the simple truth is that after releasing this exact collection in 1989 (adding just a couple of worthless "Bonus" tracks) it has been re-issued in "2003", without ANY attempt at remastering. I have been mislead. I'm writing this so that YOU won't be mislead.
This is not a fabulous "2003" remastering of a brilliant collection of Lindisfarne's best tracks.....this is the same lousy 1989 engineering standard that (surely!) we are all beginning to recognise as the greatest failure in product standards ever known in the music industry. Maybe any industry!
Amazon! - allow this review because you have customers with decent Hi-Fi's and decent EARS!
EMI Gold - Shame On You! You couldn't even spend the money on a remastering job FOURTEEN years on! That's disgraceful. YOU ARE KILLING YOUR OWN INDUSTRY - don't you realise that?
This product also displays an interesting piece of information: "This label copy information is the subject of copyright protection" (verbatim) - which is a new and secret way of saying "This disc has been encoded with Copy Protection code so that in less than 10 (maybe 5....) years it will prove to unplayable on any new Hi-Fi equipment".
Go on amazon.....get with your customer interests and start publishing reviews like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 20 track collection, 16 Nov. 2003
This review is from: The Best Of Lindisfarne (Audio CD)
Forget all of the sub-standard Lindisfarne compilations on the market which regularly contain live versions of their Charisma-era tracks. This is a collection of the Charisma material in it's original form including the hits 'Meet Me On The Corner', 'Lady Eleanor' & 'All Fall Down' along with the well-known 'Fog On The Tyne' + selected album tracks & B-sides. An added bonus is the inclusion of two previously unreleased Alan Hull-penned tracks. 'Sleeping' has a laidback vibe & is driven along by a melodic bassline. It's got a bit of a Lovin' Spoonful 'Daydream' feel to it, with quite a John Lennon-esque lead vocal from Hull & some great harmonies during the chorus. Even better is the slow & bluesy stomper 'Love In A Cage' which clocks in at 4:43 & contains some terrific harmonica & excellent vocal harmonies. The CD is smartly packaged & drummer Ray Laidlaw tells the history of the band in the sleevenotes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The old ones are the best!, 15 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of, the (Audio CD)
Short and simple, any CD which has the best songs from the first three albums on it is a must for all of the long standing Lindisfarne fans with dog eared copies of Fog on The Tyne.
It is just nice to here all of the old stuff again with out the static from the much played LPs.
BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Geordie boys dun good !, 26 Aug. 2009
By 
B. M. Walker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Lindisfarne (Audio CD)
They brought a lot of fun to 70's/80's music

But there was some damn good songwriting and melodies.Alan Hull the main mover in the band is dead but his and the band's legacy lives on and on and on

If you were lucky enough to catch one of the band's immortal Christmas shows at Newcastle City hall you'd understand.............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The album reflects the best known songs from the group during their early years, 3 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best Of Lindisfarne (Audio CD)
The Folk-Rock Group were formed back in '1968' calling themselves originally 'Brethren'
The 'Newcastle upon Tyne' outfit who though with cast-changes continue to perform to
this day.
The Group first entered the U.K Charts back in 1972 with the number 'Meet Me On The
Corner' which peaked at Number '5' then came the release that first caught my personal
attention 'Lady Eleanor' which, also in 1972 reached Number '3' in the Charts.
The Group had success with a series of album releases also around that time, 'Fog on the
Tyne' actually topped the album charts in 71' however the title song of that album didn't
chart until 1990, when a re-hash of the song, sung with 'Paul Gascoigne' charted at '2'
Among the Chart entries early on 'All Fall Down' which reached number '34' again in '72'
They had to wait until '78' to re-emerge in the U.K charts with a couple of numbers that
are not actually included on-board 'Run For Home' (Chart 10) and 'Juke-Box Gypsy' ,,,,
The album reflects the best known songs from the group during their early years, holding
memories of those days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Decent recording if played on a decent player., 27 Mar. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Lindisfarne (Audio CD)
Glad i bought this so i can decide the tracks i like and buy the original albums, recording very thin and almost pirate like, come on EMI, either buck your ideas up, or scratch the EMI GOLD series, Update November 2013. I should have updated this review in 2009 when i bought a decent cd player. The sound quality is very good if played on a decent player, the cheap player gave a poor sound quality but then a lot of my cds sounded fine its just this one didn't, ah well all is fine now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oldies but Goodies, 24 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best of, the (Audio CD)
The music is a memory from my youth, its great to hear the sound before they split up,the lyrics the singing is for anyone who appreciates lindisfarne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No one came to criticise, no one to complain... BUT, 10 Jan. 2010
By 
Fred Basset (in the doghouse) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Of Lindisfarne (Audio CD)
There ARE people with decent hi fi and (in my case) half-decent ears, and having played this CD through my Copland/Audio Note set-up, as soon as my ears stopped bleeding I rushed off to get out the original LPs and give them a spin - they have rarely been off the turntable since - perhaps this ghastly recording serves some purpose after all, if you have a Little Pink Thing to fall back on (hi fi joke)... as for everyone else, the better your hi fi, the more you love Lindisfarne, the greater will be your suffering... sorry...

EMI? I'll have to send you all to jail for doing this terrible thing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We can swing together., 8 July 2013
This review is from: Best of, the (Audio CD)
This is probably the best of the Lindisfarne Best Of's simply because it contains the songs that most people will remember them for (the first three albums) without the usual live cuts which often seem to dog compilations. I like to think I have a eclectic taste in music and as far a 'folk' goes it is hard to find better than Lindisfarne, notwithstanding the fact that it is considered good value for money. The opening two songs (Meet Me On The Corner and Lady Eleanor) ease you nicely into an hour or so of great tunes. To this day I recall fondly singing along to 'Fog On The Tyne', 'We Can Swing Together' and 'All Fall Down' in a slightly inebriated state at the local folk club, and I'll wager I'm not alone? This is timeless music that is hard not to like and is perfect for a summer evening with a good pint in hand?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some great songs!, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Lindisfarne (Audio CD)
I like about 6 Lindisfarne songs and they are all on here. Especially Lady Eleanor. The others are not necessarily my cup of tea but a good album with all my favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best of, the
Best of, the by Lindisfarne (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews