Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop All Amazon Fashion Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars17
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 April 2014
"Legalize It" was one of my gateway albums into the world of reggae back when it first came out in 1976. However, after further exploration, I headed for much deeper waters and never looked back. After discovering the likes of The Abyssinians, Culture, Burning Spear and The Wailers early Lee Perry-produced material, I eventually dismissed "Legalize It," as I viewed it as too slick and an obvious attempt to "crossover" to the international market. It wasn't the choice of tunes or Mr. Tosh's performance that bothered me but the (at times) lame overdubs that killed the record for me, especially the overuse of cheesy synthesizer sounds that completely ruined tracks like "What'cha Gonna Do" and "Ketchy Shuby" among others. But to re-visit the record after all these years and hear the original Jamaican mix was an extraordinary listening experience. Others will no doubt disagree but I find that the JA version blows the more commercial CBS version away. The album is altogether more rootsy and the original JA mix allows Mr. Tosh's vocals, full of dread and menace, to really shine. The beauty of this Legacy Edition is that you don't have to choose--fans who prefer the album as they've always known it will be very pleased with the fine remastering and upgraded packaging, while others will delight in hearing both mixes and all the bonus material. Either way, this purchase was a no-brainer for me and should fully satisfy old fans and newcomers alike. Crank it and enjoy, friends!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2001
After leaving the Wailers, it took Peter Tosh two years to find a record company willing to produce his music. The wait was well worth it.
There is something for everyone, and all side of Tosh are shown, the Rastaman, the millitant, the prophet, the philosopher. Where better to start than 'Legalize it, dont criticise it'?
Burial is classic Tosh and his fight against 'poli-tricks'. Igziabeher is a superb roots cut, and only Tosh could get away with singing about a Jamaican cricket game (Ketchy Shuby). His finest album. Miss it, miss out. As Tosh would say 'You never miss your water till your well runs dry'
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2015
Peter Tosh's debut solo album is a real classic of Jamaican music, the epic title track has become a slogan for Marijuana reform laws across the world and one of Tosh's most beloved songs. It also includes "What You Gonna Do?", "Why Must I Cry", "Igziabeher" and "Ketchy Shuby" alongside updated versions of "No Sympathy", "Burial", "Till Your Well Runs Dry" and "Brand New Second Hand" which he had originally recorded as a member of The Wailers.

The deluxe Legacy edition includes the original Jamaican recordings and demos, as well as dub mixes, alternate versions and outtakes, all of which are incredible to hear in remastered glory. The only track missing is "Ketchy Shuby Instrumental" which appeared on the single disc remastered release as a bonus track.

A must own album for all music listeners.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2006
I am not primarily a reggae fan, so I can't really talk about the development of the musical style, or where an album like this stands in reggae history.

However, I can say that it has a fantastic feel to it. The album, as the title suggests, raises issues to do with the legalisation of Gange. But despite its strong political overtones, it remains a fun and easy album to listen to.

The opening track has a wonderful synth part in the background, that only reggae records ever seem to possess. No hint of electronics, but a natural feel. I could go on and pick the best tracks, but I think I'd probably ending up saying them all, with the possible exception of the 3rd, as it has a cheesy synth part that seems out of place.

I suppose to any reggae fans better versed than I, all that can be said is that this is a valuable addition to a collection. For Marley fans looking for a little something extra, you could do a lot worse than this.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Legalise It
I have reviewed separately “Scrolls of the prophet” – a 1976 - 78 selection (Best of?) of Peter Tosh music
This is probably the first of the series of political records that he produced after leaving the Wailers , and whatever your views on the legal status of marijuana , .you cannot knock the classical Jamaican reggae and his tackling of so many political issues. Other reviews here on Amazon have listed the issues he tackled in his song writing. I am no classical Reggae fan and have come to the music late and yes it is 70’s music – and none the worse for that. Well worth exploring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
Always loved this CD. Bought it on vinyl years ago and as I am too lazy to look for a stylus for my record player was really pleased to see it out on CD. Brought back many happy memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
Peter Tosh is an underrated and often neglected reggae artist. His music is mellow, melodic and addictive. The eponymous track is great and I can't listen to the tracks without moving to the beat. This a CD to chill out to and one whose purchase i've not regretted.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
BUEN ALBUM / GOOD ALBUM
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
Great thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2015
Perfect Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)