Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A soundtrack - but so good
Having come to this album through the film, I never cease to be amazed at how Bob Dylan got this so right. Usually, soundtracks are bitty and without the film action to guide them, seem spare. This is not the case of PAT GARRETT..., which is so convincing an album in its own right. I guess the style fitted in well with his own country blues leanings of BLONDE ON BLONDE...
Published on 15 Dec 2004 by J. R. Pack

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pat Garrett and Billy The Kid: Bob Dylan - Works better as a soundtrack than as an album.
This 1973 release, the twelfth studio album from Bob Dylan, is somewhat of a mixed bag. As a soundtrack it was perfectly suited to the film it was written for, Sam Peckinpah's film of the same name as the album. The music suits the action, and the anthemic `Knocking on Heaven's Door' has just the right amount of doom laden fatalism to really give the end of the film a...
Published on 7 Aug 2012 by Victor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A soundtrack - but so good, 15 Dec 2004
By 
J. R. Pack "julianpack" (Equatorial Guinea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pat Garrett & Billy The Kid (Audio CD)
Having come to this album through the film, I never cease to be amazed at how Bob Dylan got this so right. Usually, soundtracks are bitty and without the film action to guide them, seem spare. This is not the case of PAT GARRETT..., which is so convincing an album in its own right. I guess the style fitted in well with his own country blues leanings of BLONDE ON BLONDE and the later BLOOD ON THE TRACKS, (which must have been his reward from the Byrds and their having used so many of his songs in the past).
Dylan threads his themes very well, and there is a touch of repetition that might have been borrowed from classical sources (to the great benefit of the album). While most songs are country folk, I like "Turkey Chase" which is heading into Bluegrass, with I guess Roger McGuinn on banjo. "Knockin' on Heaven's Door" is also well-positioned on the album, and pops up almost as a surprise due to the size of its popularity.
I have only one slight, slight quibble (oh, here it comes...); the two versions of "Billy" at the end do have the feeling that Dylan pre-empted the modern practice of bonus tracks without ever having gone through the re-issue phase. These two versions do seem a little bit tagged on at the end, but memory fails me, and I cannot say for sure if they are used in the film or not (last seen in 1995 by myself). That said, it is interesting to see Dylan playing with the lyrics, his voice, and choice of instrumental styles - all three versions of "Billy" are both different and sit well enough to make it difficult to say which is best (which is probably why all were included). Also Dylan's playful humour comes out more in these versions.
To be honest, it may be sacrilegious to say, but I would have to say that this is my favourite Dylan album, which is almost embarrassing to admit BECAUSE it is a soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 24 Mar 2012
By 
street-legal (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pat Garrett & Billy The Kid (Audio CD)
I am a huge Dylan fan, but not a completely uncritical one. And despite a 5 star review this wouldn't come way up in my list of recommendations of his work,for the simple fact that it is not a 'Bob Dylan album' per se. Its one to get when you have heard his classics (if you want my opinion on those, send me message). Still, I understand its relative obscurity; it is compiled mainly around several themes of the same song, and the film itself didn't exactly do great business, although as a bonus it did have Dylan himself in a minor role. But it is nevertheless a beautiful album. The second track, for instance, could go on for twenty minutes longer and I would still love it. It has quality musicians all over it, Roger Mcguinn is there for instance, as is the ace drummer Jim Keltner, who has since admitted it was the one and only time he has cried whilst playing. It is quite stunning music, and if you appreciate the western genre, more so. It is also very interesting to hear Knocking On Heaven's Door in its original humble origins; it was never meant to be a generationally inspiring anthem, and I always do prefer to hear it here amongst similar sounding music.
So, as I have said, get it after the true classics have been listened to. This is a soundtrack album, but it is a gorgeous one at that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pat Garrett and Billy The Kid: Bob Dylan - Works better as a soundtrack than as an album., 7 Aug 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pat Garrett & Billy The Kid (Audio CD)
This 1973 release, the twelfth studio album from Bob Dylan, is somewhat of a mixed bag. As a soundtrack it was perfectly suited to the film it was written for, Sam Peckinpah's film of the same name as the album. The music suits the action, and the anthemic `Knocking on Heaven's Door' has just the right amount of doom laden fatalism to really give the end of the film a knockout punch. But listened to in isolation from the film it just doesn't work for me. `Knocking on Heaven's Door' is a classic song, and `Billy' has a nice mournful air and a particularly moving performance from Dylan. The rest of the album is, however, filler and does not work in isolation from the film.

Three stars only. It's not bad, and has some real high points, but it is not as consistently interesting or breathtaking as other albums in Dylan's canon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guilty Secret, 30 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pat Garrett & Billy The Kid (Audio CD)
I'm with "julianpack" (above). I'm quite well acquainted with all his stuff. This one really does shine and stand repeated playing. Almost a guilty secret!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, 15 Jan 2012
This review is from: Pat Garrett & Billy The Kid (Audio CD)
A long time liked CD. I recommend it to any Bob Dylan fan.
Lots of instruments which work really well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for the Cowboys (& Country rockers) - A Bob Dylan Soundtrack, 25 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pat Garrett & Billy The Kid (Audio CD)
Unfortunately a lot of (Country/Cowboy) music lovers may miss out on this one because Bob Dylan's name is on the cover, and they just can't begin to imagine how wonderful he sounds when he's in a laid back country mode.

Some Bob Dylan lovers may pass it by because there are only a few Dylan songs on this soundtrack recording.

I held back from purchasing this gem on CD, guessing sooner or later Columbia / Sony would eventually issue a remaster - but no need to worry on that score as this version of the CD sounds as brilliant as I remember the original LP/vinyl issue.

Musically it's loaded with Cowboy Movie atmosphere, a little bit of Country rock, a little bit of very tasty acoustic guitar playing, a few appropriate songs from Bob Dylan about Billy The Kid & Pat Garrett, including the astonishing "Knockin' On Heaven's Door".

Sounding as fresh now as it did back in the early 70s, this entire recording is short and sweet, just like Bob's "Nashville Skyline".

Listening pleasure guaranteed!

Musicians include Booker T., Roger McGuinn, Bruce Langhorn, Russ Kunkel, Byron Berline, Jim Keltner & Carl Fortina.

Always on sale at Amazon, and at a very nice price, there really is no excuse for not getting hold of a copy of this.

"Pat Garrett got your number....."

Classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great easy listening album, 5 Nov 2000
This review is from: Pat Garrett & Billy The Kid (Audio CD)
When Rudy Wurlitzer, the writer of the screenplay for the Sam Peckinpah movie 'Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid', approached his friend Bob Dylan, he originally intended for him to write the soundtrack. He wrote 'Billy', a fine example of Dylans ability to master the ballad. Dylan had been lying low since his motorcycle accident, so this was his first work for some time, and there is a beautifully easy nature to the music. It is light and soothing with many a raw journey into a mexican dusty night on a tequilla stained veranda. The listener is lulled into the scene as the story is told until we are brought back to home with the masterpiece of Dylans simple yet masterful 'Knocking on Heavans Door'. I originally bought this album a couple of years ago on Vinyl for a fiver, at that time for this track alone, which I never saw on another album. 'Heavans door' is short, with only two verses, and my only fault with this album is that Dylan did not provide more verses. The listener is left eager for more.
I highly reccomend this album to anybody who enjoys a cosy candlelit evening by a fire, stare into the flames and imagine your there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different bob dylan, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you saw the film you will really love this but even if you missed it
you will appreciate the feeling in this music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A certain moment ..., 7 Jun 2013
By 
Pierre Brewee - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pat Garrett & Billy The Kid (Audio CD)
A certain moment ... he saw the light and he made some awfull things. He came back on the right track, but it was never the same any more. This old stuff still is the best he ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dyulan at his best, 14 May 2013
By 
John Buchanan "John Buchanan" (Kent England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pat Garrett & Billy The Kid (Audio CD)
This product just shows how talented Bob Dylan is. To write and produce material as good of this stretches the imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pat Garrett & Billy The Kid
Pat Garrett & Billy The Kid by Bob Dylan (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews